We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Yastrebets Wellness & Spa
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Borovets
Certificate of Excellence
Plovdiv, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A combination of good hotel and fine restaurant is very rare lately. Add the surrounding forest park, ski pistes, biking facilities and spa and you have it complete. Everything I tasted in the restaurant was delicious, especially the tagliatelle with meet balls. Mind you I am in these business, too. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hebr0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yastrebets, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Yastrebets Wellness & Spa, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback! We highly appreciate all your comments and are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel! Hope to welcome you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    46
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
95
39
1
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at Yastrebets for 3 nights as a mini-honeymoon and we couldn't have picked a nicer place. This is a place frequented by skiers in the winter but makes for an equally relaxing (and inexpensive) citybreak in September/October. Being the low season, we saw fewer than 10 other guests at the hotel. First the positives:

- Great facilities - the pool, jacuzzi and spa with multiple steam/sauna rooms were all terrific
- The room (we stayed in a Finnish cabin) was very cute. Yes it smells of wood and is a bit rustic, but we thought that added to the charm of the place. Especially at night, with the clouds rolling in and all the houses being lit up, made it very romantic
- The restaurant was quite good - a bit lacking in Bulgarian dishes for my liking but nevertheless they delivered quite well on whatever we ordered. As it was low season, they were missing items from the menu (especially from the wine list)
- Borovets is a cute little town - lots of nice hikes nearby although the town is quite dead in September.
- Don't expect nightlife (we weren't!)

Negatives:
- the entire wine list is in Bulgarian....a bit ridiculous when they have an English menu
- service was mixed - while some wait staff were outstanding, others were indifferent/clueless
- food and wine is quite pricey, but this is to be expected in a 5-star hotel

Overall, we would return again as it makes for an excellent 2-3 night getaway from Sofia!

Room Tip: Definitely stay in the Finnish cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London_Wanderlust81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yastrebets, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Yastrebets Wellness & Spa, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and hope to welcome you again in the near future. We highly appreciate all comments as we always strive to take a note and improve so that our guests get a customised and high quality service.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Spent a summer weekend at this "purportedly" SLH property, only to find out its is a basic 3 star property that only has a good location and clean air.

hotel service and food were mediocre, particularly at these price levels. Rooms were made to look good, yet cheap construction materials have turned this mountain hotel into a pretentilus low quality hotel.

Would not recommend it to people visiting Borovetz - choose something else!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Feschiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Yastrebets Wellness & Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

We are sorry that your stay at the hotel did not meet your expectations.

We would like to assure you we take note of every single comment, suggestion or complaint our customers send us and constantly work hard towards improving our services.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel is located a couple of miles outside of the center of Borovets. Walking to the town is a downhill walk from the hotel which is fine, but walking back uphill is a good excersize.

We stayed in one of the cabins in the "Finnish Village". It has two double beds and a matras for 2 more, but realistically you can't sleep two adults on the bed on the above floor because the roof is too close for comfort. Also the stairway (ladder) to the above floor is not for the faint at heart.

Also, if you are over 6ft... watch your head... Other than that, cabins are located beautifully in the forest. For peace and quiet this is perfect.

The amenities in the hotel are complete, spa, sports, pool, carpark everything you can wish for.

The piano bar in the cellar of the hotel has a piano, but when we were there there was a DJ set-up all over the bar to play rather outdated music. Also, we had to wait for 10 min. before anyone showed up that would serve us.

The hotel has a restaurant which which has a good variety of dishes and a good wine list. They have an English menu but strangely enough the wine list only has an English title but further is in cyrillic... which may stretch the average foreign tourist.

Also, the glasses were all showing remains of soap of the dish washer, which should not be in any restaurant. The dishes we ordered varied largely in quality. The risoto was simply undercooked and not just a bit... the ravioli with proscutto on the other hand was perfect.

All in all.. will try another hotel next time in Borovets... for us to far from the city center, cabins too small and restaurant disappointing... but the surroundings make up for a lot.. in the end: average.

Room Tip: Choose a cabin bit further down for absolute quiteness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHO_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Yastrebets Wellness & Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

We’d like to thank you for spending your time to provide us with feedback on your stay at the hotel. We are pleased you have enjoyed the surroundings and hotel amenities.

However, we regret to hear that some things were not of your liking. We certainly appreciate your constructive comments as it is through such feedback that we are able to monitor and improve the consistency of our services.

We hope to win back your confidence if we could be given another opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel. Thank you!

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in January for ski vacation. I must say it is on the expensive side compared to other hotels in the area, but I think is is worth it. We stayed in the chalet with 2 children, and we liked the chalet experience very much. But it is not for everyone. First, it is outside the hotel, so you have to walk outside to use the spa, eat etc. Also, it is very hard to use the upper floor due to steep ladder. But our children didn't mind that. Also the variation in temperature between upper and lower floor is a lot. We also got to use the sauna in the bathroom which was nice and spacious.
The restaurant at the hotel was pretty good. I particularly liked the duck and steak selections. Breakfast was average. I would expect more variety.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgezgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yastrebets, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Yastrebets Wellness & Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Deat Guest,

Thak you for taking your time to give us a review. The recommendations of our guests always help us get better and improve our job. We are looking forward to seeing you again at Yastrebets Hotel.

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buehler
Level Contributor
104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Our Bulgarian office chose this hotel for a two-day seminar, and it was a great location for the event. Not a very large hotel, but generous rooms, attentive service, good pool and exercise room, and luxurious spa. The meeting facilities worked well, bar and restaurant were pleasant (though the food could have been more exciting). Internet was excruciatingly slow one evening, but worked fine again next day.
The hotel is situated on a ski run, and the hotel rents out decent equipment at a very reasonable cost. I was not able to stay for the skiing, but it was reportedly fabulous (if cold).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P_Stibbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yastrebets, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Yastrebets Wellness & Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you positive feedback. Whether for business or for pleasure, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

The Yastrebets is part of the Small Luxury Hotels chain for good reason. I chose it because of those credentials. After all this chain has never let me down. It sure did not this time either. First of all the hotel looks like brand new. It is very well maintained and that means a lot even in present day Eastern Europe. I stayed in one of the Finnish Log cabins. The experience could not have been a better one. This cabin could have housed easily up to six people, but never seemed too big for just one person because of the two floors.
The food at the restaurant is excellent - a mix of typical Bulgarian as well as international fare. I had the best trout ever!
The only problem i ran into was with the relatively far away distance of the hotel from the center of Borovets when you are without your own vehicle. in that case you depend on the Borovets cabs, In my case I was told by the hotel staff that if I wanted to go down into Borovets, the last cab up the hill would leave at 6 p.m.. This was clearly insane, but i later found out it is because the cab driver lives in Samokov and goes back there every day around that time of the evening. I feel that a hotel of the class of the Yasrebets should have its own free shuttle service for their guests. The absence of such service prompted me to not give this hotel the classification of "excellent".

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BHSCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yastrebets, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Yastrebets Wellness & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We always take into consideration our guests' opinions and recommendations in order to improve our services.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with Yastrebets Hotel Wellness & Spa and liked the food at our A-la-Carte Gourmet Restaurant.

Regarding your recommendation in respect of shuttle service for hotel guests, please be informed that currently such service is available upon guests' prior request.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you again as our guest, should you visit Bulgaria again.

Yours faithfully,
Yastrebets Hotel Wellness & Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Borovets hotels
2.1 mi away
Euphoria Club Hotel & Spa
Euphoria Club Hotel & Spa
#3 of 29 in Borovets
308 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Rila Borovets
Hotel Rila Borovets
#6 of 29 in Borovets
757 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Lion
Hotel Lion
#2 of 29 in Borovets
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Festa Winter Palace Hotel
Festa Winter Palace Hotel
#10 of 29 in Borovets
175 reviews
1.1 mi away
Club Hotel Yanakiev
Club Hotel Yanakiev
#5 of 29 in Borovets
159 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alpin Hotel
Alpin Hotel
#4 of 29 in Borovets
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Yastrebets Wellness & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Yastrebets Wellness & Spa

Property: Hotel Yastrebets Wellness & Spa
Address: Borovets Ski Resort, Borovets 2010, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Borovets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Borovets
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Borovets
#1 Spa Hotel in Borovets
#1 Romantic Hotel in Borovets
#1 Family Hotel in Borovets
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Yastrebets Wellness & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the great Rila Mountain, at 1500m above sea level, Yastrebets Wellness and Spa is a luxory ski-in and ski-out hotel, assuring its guests unforgettable experiences anytime of the year.Located in Borovets - the oldest winter resort in Bulgaria, temptingly close yet remote enough, the hotel brings you closer to nature and choicely embraces you with lux and attention.If quality and comfort are a crucial component for your vacation, Yastrebets Wellness and Spa will offer you great variety of options for relaxation and entertainment, considering your individual preferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Yastrebets Wellness & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Yastrebets Wellness Borovets
Hotel Yastrebets Wellness And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing