We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Flora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Flora Hotel
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Borovets
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

The hotel and staff were brilliant! The location was perfect, so close to the lifts and bars and restaurants. The cleaning staff were great, my friend and I are big drinkers so we didn't leave the room in a great state most mornings as we just rolled out of bed but they tidied all of our things, left clean towels and made our beds, they went above and beyond in my opinion! The pool was nice and we paid to go in the Jacuzzi a few times, although the pool staff were quite rude so we did make a complaint about them but it didn't put us off! We both paid for a full body massage in the hotel which was amazing, just what you need after a hard day on the slopes, and at 55lev a time you can afford to have more than 1 during the stay! The room was warm and the beds were comfortable enough so cant complain about that, we had a TV and free WIFI and a small balcony. We went half board and the food wasn't great but we usually had breakfast in the hotel as the choice was quite good, and a big lunch on the mountain then skipped dinner as the selection wasn't so great in the evening. All round a very positive stay at the Flora Hotel, we would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Apparently the WIFI only worked in half the hotel so ask for a room on the wifi side if you need to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    52
    25
    16
    14
See reviews for
43
34
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel is in a great postion for skiers with easy access to the gondola and the main Rila runs and great access to bars restaurants. Hunters is also on site for ski/snowboard hire. The hotel is clean and well mainitained. For Bulgarian standards a good selection of food available although not hot and no microwave available.(Although a microwave was available in Irish bar but could only eat here for 1 night as closed this room down, maybe due to small numbers in hotel?) We stayed half board but ate out a few times as many bars and restaurants are good value for money.
Our room was very hot even though we did not have radiators on so even with cold temperatures out side we slept with door open. The room was cleaned daily with fresh towels provided. Although swimming pool was included in price I cant comment as we did not use. If you wanted to use jacuzzi , steam room, sauna they were all an extra 6 lev each so an extra 18 lev a day, again due to this did not use.
Reception staff were very friendly and the waitress also good.
We would rebook this hotel as location was excellent and all round good value but would probably go for the apartments there next time as I feel would of suited us better. The hotel is 4 star but if you have never been to Bulgaria before please do not expect it to be the same as england. After speaking with other skiers who have also stayed at Rila, Samokov they all prefereed Flora.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lollypop11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Flora was a decent hotel with good proximity to the slopes and lifts. Rooms were decent and food was okay. Only real problem was the bed which seemed to give me more back ache than the weeks boarding.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daveybobbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Flora for our first family ski trip. We chose Bulgaria and this hotel as it was good value and we have been delighted with the choice. As there were 6 of us, we had two studio rooms which had a sofa bed and two single beds. The beds were comfy but the sofa was very squeaky, so the kids got that! We were on the 7th floor which was lovely and quiet and got great views of the slopes, especially at night when they are lit up for night skiiing. Fridge and cooking facilities were in the room but we didn't use them, although we used the coffee machine to boil water for our own tea and coffee. The cleaners came every day to do the beds and change towels and we found the rooms and hotel in general very clean. All the staff were friendly and we found the buffet breakfast and dinner was more than adequate to accommodate various likes and dislikes. Every night there was a choice of two soups, salads, hot and cold meat, vegetables, fish, chips and bread rolls. Also choices of fruit, cake and pink and brown puddings! Breakfast had cereals, cheese, cold meats, eggs (fried, boiled,scrambled), salads, cooked ham and european sausages, baked beans, rolls, doughnuts, biscuits and fruit. Other friends had nothing like that selection at their hotels, so I would say this was good.
The rooms and hotel was always warm, so don't bother with jumpers indoors. We used the pool with the kids a couple of times, and it was cool but if you kept moving you were fine.
The hotel was very convenient for getting to the slopes with just a short walk. Our ski kit was at the depot so we didn't have to carry it to and fro, which might be a bit more effort.
We booked with Crystal and the rep was helpful and supportive especially on that first chaotic day getting boots, skis and ski school sorted for six of us! We saw him in the week and always asked us how we were getting on. We booked the tour of Sofia for the last day, which gives a fascinating insight into Bulgarian history and a chance to see the capital city, flea market and other historical sites.
The kids have loved their first ski holiday and want to go back again and again and again.......

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JxMx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Hotel flora is welcoming and warm which is what is needed in a ski resort.food is tasty albeit a little repetitive. Central to main pistes this is a friendly hotel. Only criticism is no bath in room which is what is needed after a long day on piste

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Subsequent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Recent reviews suggested they had a new chef, and we were certainly delighted with the food. Hot dishes, wonderful salads, and lots of choice. Friends staying at the much bigger Rila Hotel were very envious of our dining experience!
Flora is very convenient for the ski depots and ski lifts and all the facilities, but also enjoys a quiet location. It is very close to the gondola too.
Rooms were cleaned every day and fresh towels provided. Effective central heating too. Friends at other hotels complained of being cold in the night.
Wifi a bit patchy, but by the end of our stay we had a good signal and could even Skype from our bedroom.
Excellent coffee, hot chocolate and beer in the lounge, and at attractive prices.
Local wine at the Aldo supermarket for less than £2 a bottle. Corkscrew essential!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlesven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Asaph, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just returned from a week of skiing - stayed in Hotel Flora, Borovets (apartment option with Thomson) The hotel is in a perfect location just a quick walk to the main gondola and two ticks away from the smaller slopes. Good value for money - the food is a little hit and miss but you certainly won't starve. Borovets is an hour and 15 mins away from Sofia airport - but it's a fairly good transfer. Good snow there from 2-9th Feb. Plenty to do in the resort - a bit of a pain with the bars trying to pull you in for a free shot... Try the Salamander Restaurant - great traditional food, cheap beer and lovely people; rawing log fire to welcome you in. Also the Black Cat bar and restaurant - live music on Friday (make sure you book a table as Friday is the night all the instructors go out with their ski classes). We went on the Ski-doos which was great fun and also went horse riding into the forest only 40lev each and well worth in. We are already planning our next trip to Borovets and the Hotel Flora would be our choice again - one note if you book the apartments there are no safes and you have to use the hotel receptions at 5lev per day. Also take a travel kettle; the apartments are a little more spacious and have everything but a kettle! The spa has a nice pool but water very cold, they also have a great hot-tub to rest those tired bones but you do have to pay 6lev per person. It's a little disorganised but nice for a change. Would recommend a visit to the Flora.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LES2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Borovets hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rila Borovets
Hotel Rila Borovets
#6 of 29 in Borovets
3.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
1.1 mi away
Euphoria Club Hotel & Spa
Euphoria Club Hotel & Spa
#3 of 29 in Borovets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
51.4 mi away
Flora Apartments
Flora Apartments
#13 of 29 in Borovets
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Samokov Hotel
Samokov Hotel
#12 of 29 in Borovets
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.3 mi away
Festa Winter Palace Hotel
Festa Winter Palace Hotel
#10 of 29 in Borovets
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lion
Hotel Lion
#2 of 29 in Borovets
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flora Hotel

Property: Flora Hotel
Address: Main St, Borovets 2010, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Borovets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Borovets
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Flora Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Flora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flora Hotel Borovets

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing