We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ela ela ela”
Review of Hotel Ela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Ela
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Borovets
Portsmouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ela ela ela”
Reviewed February 9, 2009

Just got back from the Hotel Ela where i and 8 friends stayed during our Skiing trip. The Hotel was great! Ok the food could have been better but we ate there nearly every night, we were not ill and were certainly more than happy with it. Dont forget if you want the best food, go and stay in the best hotel.
The bar staff were excellent and made us very welcome and kept the bar open as long as we liked. They work very long hours but always keep a smile on .
I , and my friends would be more than happy to return next year and may well do.

  • Liked — Friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — Sqeaky bed
  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jonny0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    39
    35
    7
    9
See reviews for
31
40
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire, England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2009

Stayed at the Ela for Christmas. Rooms are nice ,clean and warm and have just been decorated, hotel staff nice, bar open all day and night and the best value in the resort. The food is the only problem, it is cold and not very nice, if only they served it hot it would be better, they even have a micro wave to heat up your food. They made a special effort for Christmas Dinner, but even that came out cold, but the effort was a good one and much appreciated. Even though the food was poor, we would stay again as it is a nice hotel, only a short walk to the centre and away from any noise, the hotel is quite so adds to the value of getting a good nights sleep. The food is the only Down side to the hotel, but everyone was complaning about the food in all the hotels so it is not just this one. This hotel is worth staying at so give it a try.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ven47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2008

We have just returned from a week in Borovets. The hotel is definitely not a 3*. Food is slop. Ate in Pizza restaurant beside hotel which was very welcoming. Hotel clean and warm, beds not too uncomfortable and fresh towels every day. Pub very cosy with open fire and drink extremely cheap. Bar staff friendly. Located close to Gondola and not too far from ski depot. No ski storage at hotel. Slopes more geared for Intermediates. Not that suitable for beginners. Our experience of instructor not great. Abandoned classes after 3 days and went up slopes ourselves. Night life good. All in all won't be returning to Borovets.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank LonyMeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Borovets hotels

Gillingham, Kent, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2008

Visited the Ela Hotel from the 12th to the 19th January 2008. The Hotel is very clean and the rooms have certainly been updated since the photos have been put on the site, they are clean, modern and even have a power shower. Hot water for the shower never seems to be a problem, there was always enough for us to have a hot shower at any stage of the day. The Hotel maids are very efficient, nothing went missing from the hotel at all despite me managing to leave my mobile phone on the bedside table a few times. Hotel television had a few English channels, Zone Thriller, BBC News, SKY News and Real Estate TV. The Hotel staff were all ok, some better than others, some of them can be a little grumpy but I put that down to a lack of English speaking. Bar was amazing, a selection of 25 cocktails on 'buy one get one free' every night from 8pm to 1am. Rough cost of the cocktails was 8lv (£3.17) so very good value.
Food at the Hotel was the main problem however this seems to be a hotel wide problem for Borovets and Bugaria in general. Food is mainly luke warm at best. Mainly a selection of potatoe, a meat and veg. There are some really great Restuarants in Borovets if you decide to eat out. I would advise skipping breakfast (especially if you have been drinking the night before) as I personally thought the food served for breakfast was appalling. I would certainly go back to the Hotel Ela, on our return journey we were delayed and put up in the Rila and the only difference was that you had a bath, infact I'd say that although the room at the Rila was bigger it certainly was no better!

  • Liked — Cleanliness and modernization of rooms
  • Disliked — Hotel food, although this is widespread accross Borovets
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank johnno1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2007

27th Jan to 3rd Feb

As stated above, this is not a 3 star. Facilities are limited, food is really not good at all. Even though we were on half board we ate out more than half the time.
On the plus side, happy hour for cocktails is from 8pm to 12pm every night, 2 for 1, works out about £1.30 each.
About 100yds from Gondola, 300 yards from Rila and the other lifts.
Would I stay there again? Probably not, there are some other very nice hotels there, but would most likely go for Bansko next time if going back to Bulgaria.

  • Liked — Location near gondola
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baggycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2007

Although the Ela is rated as a 3*, it is actually only the equivalent of a 2* elsewhere. The room does not provide a hairdryer, telephone or trouser press etc, nor any tea and coffee making facilities, but the rooms are cleaned every day, with the beds made up and clean towels provided daily. The beds on first sight look awfully uncomfortable, but I can report that this is definitely not the case, and is in fact one of the comfiest beds I have had the pleasure to sleep in away from home!

The rooms on the 1st floor are the largest, with ample room and a large-ish balcony. The rooms at the front of the hotel can be noisy as the bars and some restaurants stay open 24 hours so you can hear some revellers returning in the small hours, plus some vendors calling in customers! The back of the hotel is relatively undisturbed as it backs onto a forest.

The food is pretty inedible. Breakfast being the worst meal, however, the price on food is so cheap in Borovets that it isn't a chore to eat in a Restaurant elsewhere where the standard is first class. If you were looking to holiday on a shoestring, you would survive on the food being offered, but its certainly not filling.

I would strongly recommend that you take out a Safe Deposit Box - it was at a cost of 30 Leva for a week (current exchange rates meant that it was the equivalent of £10.50).

The Hotel bar is open 24 hours a day - Happy Hour runs from 20.00-Midnight when you get 2-4-1 cocktails (cocktails were on average 7.50 Lev). It is extremely well run, service at your table and really friendly waitresses. Nothing is too much trouble for them.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank twojesterz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2007

Well we also had are concerns about going to this hotel before we went after reading the reoprts... but it turned out to be okay...!! Not really much to say about the food in the hotel as we only ate there once so you can say we didnt really give it a fair try but we found it cheap enough to eat out....All i can say is one of the people with us had there shoes stolen?! So we reported it and they miraculously turned up the next day which we found quite funny cos they were only a cheap pair from marks and spencers...so we made a joke of that, that the shoes must have been that terrible they felt the need to return them!!
The bar staff in the hotel were very friendly and the hoiday turned out to be okay after panicking about it before we went....And just remember everybody in BOROVETS that works there has NO CHANGE!!!!

  • Stayed December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank g0tcha-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Borovets hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lion
Hotel Lion
#2 of 29 in Borovets
429 reviews
0.9 mi away
Euphoria Club Hotel & Spa
Euphoria Club Hotel & Spa
#3 of 29 in Borovets
311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Samokov Hotel
Samokov Hotel
#12 of 29 in Borovets
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Festa Winter Palace Hotel
Festa Winter Palace Hotel
#10 of 29 in Borovets
179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Iceberg
Hotel Iceberg
#25 of 29 in Borovets
162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rila Borovets
Hotel Rila Borovets
#6 of 29 in Borovets
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ela

Property: Hotel Ela
Address: Samokov 2010, Borovets 2010, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Borovets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Borovets
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ela 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can discover the charm of Borovets in hotel Ela, located in the very center of the resort. The distinguishing pyramidal building is easy to remember on the outside and magically calming on the inside. Hotel Ela is located near the very station of the lift to Yastrebets and the peak of Musala and is 300 m away from the ski drag lifts. Throughout all seasons, in hotel Ela you can enjoy complete rest, hold trainings or team buildings, lounge around breathing the crystal-clear air of the centuries-old forest or head for the third highest peak in Europe - Musala /2925 m/. All hotel guests use free parking, fitness and Wi-Fi in the entire hotel. The hotel has a restaurant, lobby-bar with fireplace, billiard club, table tennis, electronic darts, fitness, saunas, steam bath, relax area, internet club, kids's corner, ski wardrobe, bike wardrobe, football playground with small gates, parking, security and elevator. Pets are allowed inside. For organized events, hotel Ela offers three conference halls, each of them having respectively 100, 40 and 20 seats convenient for work, a sound system and a flipchart. Hotel Ela has been an arena of memorable events such asfestivals, graduation balls, weddings, baptism parties and company parties. The restaurant can accommodate 130 seated guests. Borovets and hotel Ela host sport and recreation camps due to the high sea level, the proximity of Musala, Arena hall in Samokov, the slopes for skiing or ski-running, the bike-park and the mineral springs in Belchin Banya and Sapareva Banya. The four-storey hotel offers 52 double rooms, 20 single rooms and 4 family rooms, each of which has a bath, hairdryer, cable TV, telephone, mini-bar, soundproof frames card electrical installation, and option for an extra bed or a child's bed. The rooms on the first floor have balconies whereas the western hotel side offers a panorama of the centuries-old pine forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HRS and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing