We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really clean and nice, the food however has to be overlooked.”
Review of Hotel Lion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Lion
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Borovets
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really clean and nice, the food however has to be overlooked.”
Reviewed August 8, 2007

The Hotel Lion was a great supprise when you think how cheao the holiday was!!

Only prob was the food, "Rubbish". I was pre warned about this before we went but as I eat any food I thought it would be ok. I was wrong!!

Luck would have it that there are so many cheap places to eat, staying at the hotel just was not an option.

Be warned also if there are high winds the Gondala closes and this causes all "repeat ALL" skiers and boarders to use the smaller mountain which is not that good.

Verdict = Good cheap ski / board hol + very very cheap drinking for the evenings!

Stayed January 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Rawuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    181
    50
    19
    6
See reviews for
129
152
11
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2007

Stayed here February. Maybe better than others in the town but...
food was hopeless, cold and uncooked on one night (waiter:"Yes, I hear you British tourists like hot food" I kid you not!). Terrible choice for kids. Supposedly a 4 -star hotel, but service was 1 star. Very unfriendly. No kettle in room and they were clear they werent going to let us have one despite the mini-kitchen in the room. No credit card payments accepted for extras - everything in cash. One of my Euro notes was refused because they thought it looked "too dirty". They're learning well the art of rip-off the tourist when they charged us the hourly rate for our 20 second use of the internet. Rooms were clean but I put that down to the hard working maid who was the only friendly one in the hotel - so she got the fat tip at the end of our stay. Most of the tourists were Brits so because we're not good complainers at lousy service, we'll continue to be ripped off by places like this. Black Cat was a nice restaurant in town. And if you're a first time visitor for ski-ing, day 1 to collect equipment at the central location in town is an absolutely mad-house. Hopeless organization and the room where you do it all is like a sauna. Slopes are excellent though - once you get on them.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Zero sense from the staff that visitors had actually come their to have a good time.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldandintheway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2007

First time i went snowboarding we stayed at Hotel Lion, it was the best hotel, the staff are really nice, especially Maria and Stoian! If you've stayed there already then you'll know who i mean and why, loveliest people in Bulgaria, always so happy and generous even though they get paid about £30 a month to work 18 hour shifts for 5-6 days, make sure you tip them big!
....anyway goin of subject, i thought the only downside was that I'd seen all the other hotel at the bottom of the slopes and thought they'd be better because didn't fancy gettin taxis everynight back to the hotel, even though they're cheap aswell, so next time i went to hotel Rila which is right at the bottom of the slope, which is really conveniant because you can wake up in the morning and not have to get a mini bus all the time and be straight outside the lift, also at night the clubs are all 2 minutes away from ur hotel. The big downside was the inside, the staff were all moody, same food everyday, which was cold, room service was rubbish, went atleast 2 days without toilet roll and clean towels, don't tip big here they deserve to be paid peanuts!
Its not as cosy as Hotel Lion, its looks good on the outside but its just not the same on the inside, can imagine its the same with the other hotels because they're all at the bottom of the slopes so are guaranted to be busy all season and are all on the Borovets website whereas Hotel Lion isn't.
With Hotel Lion your guaranteed good service, and I would definately go there again, and I am next year because it is by far the best hotel and snowboarding holidays, or skiing if ur one of them, are by far the best holiday you can go on!
Plus, all the receptionists wear short skirts which is a very nice treat! love you Sylvia!

  • Liked — the people who work there
  • Disliked — location, which still aint bad, 2mins away, if you could pick up the hotel and put it at the bottom of the slope...
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank stevo305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2007

we atayed at the hotel Lion from the 3rd march it was lovely warm,clean and modern a really nice bar area with real log fire and the bar prices were about the same if not cheaper than the main resort, food was eadable not a lot of choice though and always served luke warm but you could get bar meals for a very reasonable price and could ask to have it served hot.People we talked to who stayed at the much larger Hotels Rila in the main resort ect said it was to noisy the hotel Lion was very quiet no Karaoke or night club not that we are party poopers but when you have to be up at 7:00 its nice to know when you go to bed your not going to get woken up .There was a shuttle bus to and from the main resort every 20 mins. Borovets was a good cheap place to ski ,the schools were good and if you are going try to get emeille he was lovely and really looked after all of his students all day,he also took us on a Bulgarian night which was good with great food..
First time we have been ski-ing but definetly the best holiday we have had go and enjoy!

  • Liked — clean friendly and quiet
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank scardeycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Borovets hotels
0.8 mi away
Euphoria Club Hotel & Resort
1.4 mi away
Hotel Yastrebets Wellness & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rila Borovets
Hotel Rila Borovets
#5 of 29 in Borovets
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Festa Winter Palace Hotel
Festa Winter Palace Hotel
#10 of 29 in Borovets
181 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Festa Chamkoria
Hotel Festa Chamkoria
#9 of 29 in Borovets
123 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Iceberg
Hotel Iceberg
#25 of 29 in Borovets
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lion

Property: Hotel Lion
Address: No. 21, Borovets 2010, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Borovets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Borovets
#5 Romantic Hotel in Borovets
#6 Family Hotel in Borovets
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In one of the more peaceful spots of Borovetz at the Rila Mountain, the renovated Lion Hotel Borovetz offers an indoor pool and a free shuttle service to the lifts.Each hotel room features a TV, a minibar, a telephone and private bathroom with a bathtub.You can work off some excess energy in the fitness center or relax in the sauna.Fine cuisine is served in the Lion Hotel's 2 restaurants, including a traditional 'Mehana' where you could sample Bulgarian food and drinks. Alternatively, the many fireplaces of the lobby bar make for an inviting sight after a day out in the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lion Borovets

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing