We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Samokov Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Samokov(Samokov)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Iglika Hotel(Sunny Beach)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Lodge(Borovets)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ela(Borovets)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mura Hotel(Borovets)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Flora Hotel(Borovets)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpin Hotel(Borovets)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (526)
Filter reviews
526 results
Traveler rating
54
199
155
63
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
199
155
63
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshooting rangepanorama restaurantsamokov ski schoolswimming poolten pin bowlingshooting gallerywhite magicski holidaynursery slopeslarge hotelrooms were cleanedgala dinnersouppotatoesother resortsa great weekate out every night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
276 - 281 of 526 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in February of this year for one week.

The hotel itself is old but good value for money. It is a huge property in a perfect location right opposite the gondola, bars and restaurants.

Food is hit and miss like most of the hotels. My advice would be to go bed and breakfast and eat out as there as some very good restaurants in Borovets. We booked half board but chose to eat out on quite a few nights as the food was not to our liking.

One thing that really lets down this good budget hotel is the staff! They are very rude especially on reception. I know the Bulgarians are quite sullen in the hotels (we have stayed in various hotels in Borovets) but rude is a different thing all together! On a number of occasions throughout our stay we experienced this.

Beware if you in the dining room and leave your table, by the time you get back to it you could find your meal has been cleared away and another guest sitting in your place! This happened to us, a silly waitress cleared away two full cups of coffee, our food and our room key! We got back from getting some toast to find two other guests sitting in our place! The waitress said she thought that we had gone????

There is free Wifi in reception which is a bonus!


Even though I have only given this hotel three stars I would stay again but on a B&B basis and ignore the fact that reception are rude. Hotel is good value and a great location

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindavw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week in March 2013. It is dated and basic but it is ok. Our room had what we needed and as a base it was fit for purpose. The hairdryer in the room actually shorted the electrics after only a minute or two and we had to get a maintenance man to re set the circuit so we had power again and was simply told not to use it!?!?! We didn't rate the food at all. We chose to eat out more nights than not & found some nice restaurants and bars for food or drinks. The hotel was in a great position for the gondola and for the town. We did use the spa once and both had a very good and cheap massages here however we found the pool itself too cold and in need of TLC. We had some rowdy neighbours but that was not the hotels fault. We found some of the staff ok but some were really quite rude.

As for the resort we again found this ok. The snow was not too good by the end of our stay and we found the resort a bit small & thus a bit repetitive for a whole weeks boarding.

All in all it was just ok. We were very ready to come home at the end of our stay and we would not return to the Samakov or Borovets.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louloucakes_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at Samokov hotel for 4 nights with half board (very good deal with hotels4u - 118 euro 2 persons for the whole staying). I was more than pleased by the location of the hotel, the food is verrrry good, rooms as well. The hotel is beautiful, but just a bit outdated...
The thing i liked most about this hotel was the food and the outstanding pool! The water is has the proper temperature right now (in spring), but in winter needs to get a bit warmer.
It's very clean - the maids came every day and changed the towels and clean the room.
Anyway...it's not very different from Rila hotel (it's not that noisy and it's a lot cheaper).

Room Tip: They have very few rooms with double bed so that is a problem, but it is very easy to bring the twin beds together; besides, asjk for a room with view to yastrebets gondola.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idamihaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I visited Borovets for a snowboarding holiday with my 16 year old son over the easter break. Overall we had a fantastic time. But starting with The Samokov Hotel I would have to say it was "O.K." in the sense the rooms were clean and functional. Our room's biggest asset was a balcony with an awesome view of the mountain and slopes, great to wake up to on a morning!
The restaraunt was enormouse and very much a case of seat yourself and serve your self. The food was "O.K." there was plenty of it, hot and cold, but the whole dinning experience was not to our liking. The atmosphere made you want to simply get in eat quickly and move on a.s.a.p. Not a good holiday dining experiance at all really, we only dabbled with this and eat out mostly. Otherwise, the hotel was fancinating to be honest. It was like a small village and the staff were generally very friendly. On top of the ski school which was excellent there was the pool and leisure facilities, some of these are charged extra but worth a visit to the "Thermal area" with its Turkish bath, steam room, saunas, foot spa's and a kneep bath (You can look that one up). All highly enjoyable. There was a rifle range inside the hotel too (2.2 air rifles) all good fun, we used this daily. On top of this there is the bowling ally area which consists of 4 full size lanes and an area with air hocky and video games etc. A sports bar with 4 full size American pool tables, a computer room with a bar and more pool tables, doctors, chemist, shops, I could go on. We would probaly try somewhere else in Borovets next time regarding accomodation but would happily nip in to the Samokov to use some of its facilities!
The Samokov is in the thick of things in the centre of Borovets. It is situated at the foot of several slopes, ski lifts and the Gondalla. It is also situated amongst plenty of really good bars and resteraunts. Everything we ate was really good, from woodfired oven cooked Pizza to amazing salads which were all very organic and fresh, to great steaks, Bulgarian sausage and meat balls cooked in front of you on the charcaol from a wood burning stove in the center of the room in one case. The beer was good quality and cheap. 4 levs a pint at 2.2 levs to one GBP so roughly £1.80 a pint. The Bulgarian red wine is excellent to wash down your wood fired, charcoaled cooked steak and a similar price. One of the large great tasting Pizzas was around 12 levs (£5.50) plenty for two with a salad at lunch, and the steaks which were melt in your mouth quality pieces of meat were around 25levs (£11- £12). We were close to the end of the season so everywhere it seemed were offering 20% off these prices which was nice! Regarding the Snowbaording, I bailed out after 2 days as a broken 48 year old man and took to dad duties of manning the video camera but my son took to it like a natural and cant wait to go back. It was our 1st time I have to say. We booked 3 days group tuition and equipment hire on line through the Samokov Hotel ski school (£220 for both of us) but ended up with one on one tuition for the same price due to the fact it was close to the end of the season and buisness being slow which helped greatly as I couldn't imagine being taught in a group of 16 which apparently is the case at the busiest times! We would like to take this opportunity to thank Mario our instructor who we hung out with for the last few days of the holiday. By this time my son was flying down the mountain from the top of the gondalla station 3 to 4 times a day! Cheers mate! See you soon Borovets!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a mountain view as not all have!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 135andyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My stay here was 2nd of march 2013 and after reading the reviews I was dreading it!! But it was a comfortable stay, would recommend and defiantly go back. Food was ok, but there's plenty of places 2 eat out at a cheap price, highly recommend golden horn 2 eat and drink very friendly and welcoming :)
It was my 1st time skiing and was very nervous had a fab instructor tony and also works in a ski hire shop on the Main Street.
Hope 2 go back next yr

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morris198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews