We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice - ignore the criticism of the food”
Review of Samokov Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Samokov Hotel
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Borovets
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice – ignore the criticism of the food”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Stayed here 26 Feb – 4 Mar 2012. Really good place to stay. Great location, just cross the road to the gondola or 5- 10 min walk to nursery slope. At the end of the main street with bars, restaurants and shops.

The outside of the hotel is rather ugly, but inside is very nice. A little faded in places.

Facilities
Hotel facilities are really good: big swimming pool – not too cold and free to use, the lifeguard looked half asleep so keep a close eye on your children; Jacuzzi (6 lev for 30 mins per person), bowling (only 6 lev per person per game and the barman offers you drinks as you play) table tennis, pool tables, the shooting range (5 lev for 10 pellets). All good fun. I didn’t try the spa treatments or the hotel nightclub. Several bars within the hotel: The lobby bar had a TV screen showing English football but was long enough you could get away from this if you wanted and had a guy cooking pancakes. The ninth floor piano bar was very quiet but had a great view over the night skiing slopes. 3 lev for a bottle of kamenitza (the local lager). There is a pharmacy and some small shops in the hotel if you can’t be bothered to head outside.

Rooms
Nothing spectacular, but clean, warm, comfortable beds, hot and powerful shower. Our rooms had a small TV and a fridge. We couldn’t hear the nightclub though we did hear some drunken stumbling back to neighbouring rooms.

Staff
We didn’t have any cause for complaints which is the real test I suppose. Some of the people working in the resort (including in the hotel) speak in quite an abrupt manner and aren’t always the most smiley. However, staff did what we needed and were helpful so not a problem. Don’t expect the Florida style tourist industry, where you can’t go 30 seconds without being wished a nice day and everyone smiles constantly. Personally I’m glad the whole world isn’t like that.

Food
We were half board. It was a buffet and you could eat as much as you wanted.

The breakfast had plenty of choice: bacon, eggs, sausages etc, cereals, fruit, toast, little pastries. You could also have slightly cheesy pasta for breakfast which I thought was an odd choice but I got quite into by the end of the week even if my friends thought I was strange. Give it a try. Teas, coffee and quite sugary fruit squash.

The evening meal was good. The selection changed each day but the meat dishes were all good and sometimes really tasty. Usually 3 meat dishes to choose from, potatoes and vegetables. Sometimes a pasta dish or fish, or some stuffed peppers or spinach and potato cakes. All nice. There was an extensive range in salad bar. They really seem keen on feta cheese. A different soup each day. A selection of cakes and a mousse for desert. Couldn’t always tell what these deserts were but always managed to find something nice.

The broccoli was cold and the chips were luke warm – this seems to be the local way of serving them as the same was true in other places we ate. But why go for the chips when many other more interesting and hotter things? Vegetarians would be limited on the hot food but lots of choice on the salad bar. I don’t understand all the complaints unless the food standard changes dramatically from week to week. My theories are some people’s expectations are disproportionate to their budget. I know some people can’t cope if the food isn’t exactly the same as what they have at home and the guests at the hotel were not always the most enlightened: truly one woman could not work how to make tea when presented with a mug, a tea bag and a hot water dispenser. Makes you proud to be British!

We ate so much that even with snowboarding six hours plus a day we barely stopped for lunch. There were quite a few options for eating out, it’s almost a shame that I didn’t try more of these.

Negative points
Overall really good value, but trying to be fair and balanced:
-Room locks on the third floor could do with replacing as they were pretty stiff – our friends on the fifth floor had new locks suggesting they are being replaced gradually.
-The lifts were rather hit and miss, you could be waiting a while and they would sometimes go on a random tour of floors before going to where you wanted.

Had a great time in Borovets. We were very lucky with the snow conditions which makes all the difference. Close your eyes and hang on when making the transfer from the airport on winding pot-holed mountain roads as your driver takes a phone call or two!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    176
    136
    52
    38
See reviews for
122
125
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Just returned from 7 day ski trip booked via Inghams and stayed at this hotel. The hotel itself is more than adequate and highlights are the nice pool, spa facilities (treatments are at very good prices for uk travellers), games rooms (pool and bowling alley) etc. The rooms are very clean and quite spacious. The hotel is well situated opposite one of the main lifts, but very near the other lifts in the village. The only quibble is the food which wasn't that good, but perfectly edible if you're not expecting gourmet standard.
Having seen mixed reviews on Borovets, I was unsure what to expect. But if you're wavering, go for it and don't look back!! The resort itself is absolutely great - great atmosphere and apres-ski. The prices are fantastic for UK travellers - 1 pound = 2.2. levs. As a beginner, my budget even stretched to allow for private ski lessons (I would stay away from the group lessons) with Oggie (at the Albena or Hunters Ski school). He's a really good instructor and very patient and I can honestly say that I had the best ski experience because of him. I left wanting to return. You can book Oggie directly through his email address at: oggy.sku@abv.bg - Definitely worth the money, which was actually very affordable and tuition is at your own pace.
In all, Borovets is not the classiest ski resort you will encounter, but has its own charm and your money just goes that much farther! Would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the road are quieter, but nothing a pair o earplugs can't resolve!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

My family & I have just returned from the Samokov Hotel (4/3/12). The hotel is very dated but it is nice & clean. The whole hotel is lovely & warm & the rooms were adequate. There is plenty to do there, swimming, pool tables, games room & bowling alley.
Food is very basic & not very hot, but okay for the price we paid. Skiing was great as it snowed the whole week we were there.
My only gripe with this hotel is the staff !! They supposedly spoke English but not one in the restaurant spoke to us. We always said "Please & Thankyou" but they did not even acknowledge us. They were down right rude. Even when we checked out, the receptionist didnt say anything!!! I would not return to the Samokov due to the staff's rudeness!!!

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor & it was so quiet. No noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Just returned from Borovets stayed here 25th Feb - 3rd March, we took our 7 year old son who had never skiied before. The hotel is huge unlike any other skiing accommodation we have stayed in before, the room was spacious and we had a great view of the slopes from our balcony. The food choice was good, I don't know what people are complaining about for the money they have paid, breakfast: bread, pastries, continental cheese/meat, cereal, cooked breakfast, bacon, scrambled eggs etc - even the machine orange juice was fine!, evening meals were fine although as mentioned in other reviews sometimes a little on the cold side. On the plus side it is sooooooooooo cheap in Bulgaria that you could easily go out for an evening meal and have a fe drinks for £10. We hired our ski gear from Royal Plaza basically if you turn left out of the hotel it is the first ski hire place on your left (underneath the apartments) George was really helpfull & we were able to barter on the price, the only thing I would say is that if you are travelling as a family it may be worth hiring the kids skis from one of the hire shops on the slopes as our little boy did find it hard work walking in boots for the first time!, We organised our little boys lessons through George - Angel pronounced Angle was fantastic and by Wednesday he was up on the chair lifts skiing blues with ease! & again only 71 Lev for 2 hours lesson! The hotel was great for kids, a bowling alley, shooting gallery, pottery painting. Would we come here again - absolutley!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 478 - rear of the hotel with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 190748JoF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2012

An absolutely splendid hotel that really keeps on giving!

In no particular order:

The food is disastrous, but in a good and very funny way.
The shower sprays you in the face and the bath isn't sealed around the edges so the bathroom is basically underwater. On the plus side there is a phone in the shower so keeping in touch is easy.
The lift makes the whining sound that is synonymous with falling and takes a fairly relaxed approach to getting you to the floor of your choice.
There is a shooting range that encourages the well known combination of beer and firearms and the range of other activities is tremendous.
Great location that is ski in ski out, well we did have hire skis so where isn't?
The medical centre is co-located which is always handy.
The transfer service is brilliant, near death overtakes and a drive thru McDonalds really hit the spot on the way out.
There is certainly no danger of queues in the extremely spacious hotel night club and the happy hour goes from 2200 to 0400.

In summary if you are going to Borovets you should definitely stay here!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Stayed here last week (19-24 feb) and had read some of the reviews on here.
So where to start??

+ve
Well its a good location, just over the road from the gondola station
Only s short walk up to the Rila slopes.
Lots of bars and restaurants near by.

Fantastic ski school in the hotel, which is so easy in the morning to pick up your skis and boots. A word of caution though…the runs seem steeper than other Euro resorts, eg red here seem like black….. so that may influence your choice of group, as it caught a few people out.

There are lots of things to do in the hotel, large pool, nice 'thermal area' with steam room, sauna etc, bowling alley and a bar.
So i guess you could stay positive and call it cheap and cheerful(ish)

The not so great points are:

the food..... we had dinner in the main restaurant twice, and it wasn't great. as usual in Bulgaria the food is tepid, a just looked a bit gloopy and un-appetising

whilst there was quite a choice of salads, soups, and mains, the quality i thought was poor (despite there being an ISO 9001 cert from 2008 on the wall!).

Strangely there is also a restaurant on the 9th floor, which i heard was v nice, so why can't they do it down stairs??

I also appreciate that the Bulgarian people don't appear outwardly happy...but jeez guys cheer up! You’re working in the service industry, with people who've saved their hard earned money, and out of all the resorts the could've chosen they've come to your hotel. You’re face won't crack in you smile! I guess customer service is still a bit behind.

I think generally the hotel is looking its age, and feels a bit grubby in places. The rooms area ok-ish, nice and warm though, but the walls are soooo thin, you can hear everything from next door. V annoying when the guys next door have a party @ 4am L

a few times the hot water in the bath ran luke warm....then came out brown and smelly! i heard of this happening to a few people.

so guess overall it was kinda ok....don't expect a uk 4-star hotel....but if you're after cheap and cheerful (and don't mind the food) then you'd be ok!

Room Tip: eat @ white magic over the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigdan03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Borovets hotels

London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Hotel Samokov looks like something that comes right out of 60' Bond Movie. (Yes I know it was built in the early 80's)
The place is enormous and has many facilities. Spa, sauna, private jacuzzi's, swimming pool, shooting range. Pharmacy, Ski Shop, Supermarket, Roof Top Restuarant (didn't use it)
Two bars I found and a night club in the basement which is properly sound proofed.
Full equipment hire and storage depot in which you never have to queue and loads of really excellent instructors.
Food is what you make it. I can't say that I liked everything that was served up although I did try most of it Plentiful and varied menu. Sometimes you have to just take a risk and eat something you don't recognise. Go on you might be surprised. Big Tip go when they open, the food is always hot when they first put it out. Enough said.
They said they had 8ft of snow, didn't measure it but there was loads and it made the place fabulous.
Noted a lot of negative things said before I went. The Hotel staff were all friendly and were more than happy to help out. Even to the extent of changing someone to another room because of the noise. Rooms can be a bit noisy but more due to inconsiderate neighbours than the hotel. (Our nightly rowing couple next door lost its initial humour, especially when they arrived back from the bars about 2am. It is possible to recount their mindless disagreements verbatim here but I won't embarrass them. Remember not that ears have walls but there isn't much sound proofing and if you hear someone shout shut up Yes that means you).
The runs were great and due to the massive amount of snow chopped up really badly towards lunch slowing all the loonies down and making them attempt some control (personal issue in all places I’ve been).
Bars: Many and varied and for all tastes. Try some of the more local type ones, there to be discovered
Bulgarians: All really nice and couldn’t do enough for you. They don’t smile all the time, but neither would you on their pay rate and hours. Try helping out a bit, tips go a long long way.
Overall real rare value for money, loads to do even non skiers could keep themselves busy. Local beer and drinks real cheap (for us softy southerners anyway). No crime issues as plenty of security and Police. XXX Bars not an issue as are just there and no one hassles you. The restaurant front men are a real laugh and are always up for a bit of banter.
Hotel is right next to the main gondola lift. But a walk up the village to the nursery slopes.
Had a really great time and will go again.

Room Tip: I think they are all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loadsatiggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Borovets hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rila Borovets
Hotel Rila Borovets
#6 of 29 in Borovets
763 reviews
1.0 mi away
Euphoria Club Hotel & Spa
Euphoria Club Hotel & Spa
#3 of 29 in Borovets
311 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lion
Hotel Lion
#2 of 29 in Borovets
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Iceberg
Hotel Iceberg
#25 of 29 in Borovets
162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Festa Winter Palace Hotel
Festa Winter Palace Hotel
#10 of 29 in Borovets
178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Club Hotel Yanakiev
Club Hotel Yanakiev
#5 of 29 in Borovets
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samokov Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samokov Hotel

Property: Samokov Hotel
Address: Main Street, Borovets 2100, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Borovets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Borovets
#10 Luxury Hotel in Borovets
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Samokov Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Samokov Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samokov Hotel Borovets

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing