We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Rila Borovets
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Borovets
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

First impressions are quite good until you wake up in the morning light. Whilst the hotel is clean it is in need of an overhaul. Staff need to be trained to treat all guests as the same. Reception and bar staff clearly had a leaning to their fellow countyrmen.
Food was awful. Our so called gala night decended into a farce, it took 2 hours to be served a salad and undercooked salmon...we gave up and went to the bar. The food in the resort in general is poor and the service wanting, as a group we were served starters and mains whilst others were served nothing. The best thing we found was the takeaway kebab booths. The resort is lively so good for 20-30yrs, but if your 40+ you'll probably just want a quite drink after skiing.
The ski area is small, with limited snow, nearly half of it was closed leaving some very dangerous icey red. The ski hire equipement was data and the ski depot staff lazy.
In my opinion go somewhere else,

Room Tip: if you face the hotel from the slopes any rooms to the right are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trikiviki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    316
    194
    64
    46
See reviews for
306
139
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is disappointing. It is costly & rated 4 star but it does not warrant it in any way.
Food is poor. Staff are worse. Rooms are basic but clean. Corridors are very poorly kept.
The location is good for the slopes but during our visit snow was lacking so lift queues were crazy.
Save your money by avoiding this hotel & booking a simple apartment or cheaper hotel which will be a similar standard.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GinnyBrigden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Borovets hotels

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Hotel Rila. We stayed from the 22nd December to the 29th. The Hotel is very impressive and is the main hotel at the bottom of the nursery slopes so access to skiing is good. The hotel is clean and comfortable. The rooms are spacious and beds are very comfortable. We had a studio for my family overlooking the back of the hotel which is quietier than the front. Towels are exchanged every day and we had a fridge in our room so we could purchase drinks and keep them cool. The food is average and there is a different choice each day and night. But tasty ,however not a great deal of choice for fussy eating children. The only comment is that the plates to put the food on are not kept warm hence the food does not stay warm for very long. The pool is good and of a decent size, however when I went swimming there was a lot of surface water and I nearly slipped. There was signs around the pool but this was in the changing rooms. The snow conditions were good at the beginning of the holiday but as the temperatures increased in teh day and forze at night made for icy skiing conditions . so a bit treacherous and many of the runs were closed. we were allowed to ski as a family which was great as we could spend time together and have lunch togethere sometimes out on the slopes with the instructor. yes we would go back to the hotel and to Borovets . It is a very pretty resort.. It is also good value for money as things are pretty cheap.

Room Tip: Choose a high room at the front for views of the slopes
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suzieq034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We moved from Sofia to spend two days alone in the muntains. It was just before that the season for skiing start. We booked directly by phone for spa weekend. We had a really nice and spacious room, with a balcony and a view on the slopes. We paid 172 leva all included BB. We asked for a double bed but received a twin bedded room :(

We used the large swimming-pool, 2 jacuzzi and had massages with aromatic oil or with volcanic stones. We really enjoyed this moment, in an empty hotel...
The staff was nice and proceed to a fast check-in. They explain us all the services of the hotel.
Even if stay until 4 in your room, when you will go out, the housekeepers will clean your room.

The condition of our booking included a buffet breakfast but as the hotel was empty, there wass no buffet and we hed to order what we wanted. The continental brekfast was good with nice croissant like in France :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the high floor to have a really quiet night
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrianito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in front of the Rila slopes where the nursery slope is and all the lessons happen. It's a big hotel and as ski in ski out as any in Boro. It's git a number of shops in, a games room plus the best pool I've been to in the town. The jacuzzi is great to relax in at the end of a hard day on the slopes (or drinking!).
It's at the bottom on the triangle so couldn't be any closer to the après ski, which is excellent in Boro. Good size rooms. Old but not an issue as you don't spend much time in them. You can also watch the night skiing from your room/ balcony if you're facing the front.
Restaurant had the best selection of food. Something for everyone. Staff as friendly as they can be in a large hotel. Check in takes a while as you all arrive at the same time. Which isn't ideal after a long trip. But once you're in it's all good.
I can recommend the spa. I had a daily massage as I have a bad back and it was a good start of the day and also helped a hangover after 3 hours sleep! :-)
You can't go wrong if you pick this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PaulLondonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have a house near Borovets, and we went into the resort to have dinner, the weather was foul. Very, very foggy and I was not keen to travel back down the mountain to our house, so we booked a room at the Rila( the large hotel at the bottom of the Beginner slope.) we had a post prandial at the large bar, a Southern comfort, but we weren't convinced that this was the real thing!! we were OK with our room as it was 37 euros bed and breakfast!!! For the money it was of course very basic, very cheap carpets and furnishings, but we did have a room with a balcony overlooking the slopes, we couldn't see anything though because of the fog!!! very average bathroom and only shampoo was provided! Oh and a small bar of soap!

Breakfast was dreadful, everything that was supposed to be hot, was cold, and everything that was supposed to be cold, was warm!!
The coffee was really undrinkable, Fruit juices just squash etc, etc, but the room and breakfast really reflected the quality, ie, you got what you paid for, but any port in a storm!!,

Room Tip: try to get one overlooking the slopes if you can, the alternative is looking over the car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroleNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

If you are going to Borovets for skiing or snowboarding, The this is the hotel to stay at. Go out of the doors and you are stood at the bottom of the slopes. Good sized rooms and excellent equipment rental are also included. there are plenty of bars and restaurants around the slopes and into town too, so we were never short of anything to do. It may have been a bit on the pricey side but it was definitely worth it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Borovets hotels
1.0 mi away
Euphoria Club Hotel & Resort
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lion
Hotel Lion
#3 of 29 in Borovets
431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Samokov Hotel
Samokov Hotel
#12 of 29 in Borovets
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Festa Winter Palace Hotel
Festa Winter Palace Hotel
#10 of 29 in Borovets
179 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Yastrebets Wellness & Spa
0.1 mi away
Ice Angels Hotel
Ice Angels Hotel
#8 of 29 in Borovets
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rila Borovets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rila Borovets

Property: Hotel Rila Borovets
Address: Borovets 2010, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Borovets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Borovets
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rila Borovets 4*
Number of rooms: 490
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Rila Hotel is the most impressive hotel in Borovets. Built in 1986 by the French company Les Arcs it is one of the largest ski lodges on the Balkan Peninsula. The hotel has an excellent location as a ski-in / ski-out hotel at the very bottom of the ski runs and 200 m from the Gondola lift; 50 m from Sitnyakovo Express and 50 m from Quad chair Martinovi Baraki.Rila Hotel provides holidays perfect for any age and during any season and offers ideal leisure opportunities – sports; spa; various restaurants and entertainments; sightseeing tours and cultural programs. For nature lovers Rila Hotel provides qualified mountain guides and selected hiking trips.Rila Hotel was completely renovated in 2001 and today it offer 256 double rooms and 266 standard studios. All rooms and studios have balconies overlooking the mountain with table and chairs. All are equipped with telephone; radio and satellite TV; bath with bathtub and hair-dryer. The studios have also small kitchenette and refrigerator.The hotel spa centre is the place where guests can pamper themselves with aromatherapy massages. At your disposal are heated indoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi; sauna; steam bath and solarium. The Pool Bar is a perfect place for relaxation after the exhausting day on the slopes. Sports lovers will be pleasantly surprised with the modern fitness centre and tennis court.Hotel Rila has 2 restaurants – Rila and Iskar with 300 and 200 seats. Qualitative European cuisine and delicious Bulgarian dishes prepared with love and genuine care are served in cozy ambiance.The Lobby Bar and the Pool Bar are the ideal choice for family and friends. With care dedicated to kids; the hotel provides a hall for games and entertainment, as well as ski kindergarten; where children between 4 and 8 years of age will get their first ski lessons.The hotel offers five conference halls with a capacity to accommodate from 30 to 200 attendees and with modern equipment for presentations and seminars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rila Borovets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rila Hotel Borovets

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing