We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely residence in the middle of nowhere!”
Review of Chamkoria Chalets

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chamkoria Chalets
Reviewed February 29, 2012

This group of newly built residences lies about 5km from Borovets town centre and ski resort.

The original plan was that the ski resort was going to be extended to this area, with a new ski gondola, extra pistes, and even a new village with shops and restaurants. However, this plan never materialised, as the company financing it pulled out in the end. So unfortunately you are left with a group of lovely chalets and apartments in the middle of nowhere.

The residence itself is almost faultless. The staff are full of smiles, all speak good English and are happy to help. They will arrange airport transfers for you, ski hire, and shuttle you to Borovets centre in the minibus several times a day. There is also a basic mini-mart on site, a small but cosy sauna, jacuzzi and swimming pool, a restaurant bistro (which does decent food), and a beautiful reception area with log fire.

The apartment itself was of good quality too, lovingly furnished, clean, and had facilities for self catering, with a kichenette, dining table, lounge area and real log fire. Rooms were either double or bunk, and of adequate size.

If you could take this residence and move it 5km closer to Borovets, I would have no hesitation recommending it whatsoever. However, its location and the now failed plans to connect it to the main resort means that you rely on either its shuttle bus (which stops around 7pm in the evening) or taxis (costs around 30 lev each way) to get anywhere. If you tried to walk the snow track, it would probably take an hour and a half, and that certainly wouldn't be possible at night on the unlit track.

If you are a real fan of the quiet 'retreat' then you may like this place. If you are here to ski, or are planning at least a few trips to the lively Borovets bars, restaurants and apres-ski, then I would suggest staying somewhere a bit closer.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank benbenben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 32 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2012

We are looking forward to our return to Chamkoria chalets in 2012 having stayed here for the first time in 2011. We loved the spacious chalet which was beautifully decorated, the wonderful country-side views, the friendly and attentive staff and the access to the fun ski slopes nearby. We also loved the swimming pool and the luxurious jacuzzi in the complex!

I highly recommend Chamkoria chalets to anyone looking for a comfortable base during their stay in Borovets.

Benny & Mary

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

It' s the second year that we visit Chamkoria Chalets and we are planning on doing it every year! The place, the people, the service, the appartments of Chamkoria Chalets are just perfect! We just love them!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marianna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

this was a fantastic holiday where 12 of us went for new year.
we rented 2 chalets (elen and slioch) as they back onto each other so made us feel less separated.
The mini buses picked us up from the airport and the drivers were lovely, even allowing us a stop off at a supermarket so we could stock up on essential items.
our drive took us through a beautiful snowy forest, almost like entering narnia!, then opened up onto the most beautiful setting with these chalets in the middle. Stunning.
The chalets themselves are designed to a high spec and fitted beautifully. The beds were comfortable and the open fire made it very homely. The integrated saunas were well used and appreciated after a day of skiing.
There is a bistro and spa facilities at the main apartment block. The food was ok but my advice is to stick to the bulgarian dishes and avoid chicken and burgers (this applies to all of Borovets, not just the chalets).
The staff were amazing and bent over backwards for us despite our demanding and unreasonable requests. I can not fault them at all. They even allowed us a New Years Eve meal at the chalet which they brought over to us and made the evening perfect.
We are already planning our return trip!

Room Tip: Each chalet is a little different. our had a sauna, 2 double rooms and 2 twins. there are only 2 wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angela o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

We stayed here in the lovely 8 person Chalet Sinchets last year for our skiing holiday. The Chalet was really comfortable and homely and the views of the ski slopes on the mountain were spectacular. We particularly liked the open fireplace in the chalet, the SPA facilities and the nice bistro.
A short drive from the slopes you get the quiet mountain experience mixed with some great skiing. The staff in the complex were fantastic and could not do enough for you.
We chose Chalet Sinchets as there are a few to choose from. It had great mountain views with good quality furniture and linens.

Room Tip: We chose Chalet Sinchets as there are a few to choose from. It had great mountain views with good qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeremy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Borovets hotels
1.9 mi away
Euphoria Club Hotel & Resort
2.9 mi away
Hotel Rila Borovets
Hotel Rila Borovets
#5 of 29 in Borovets
779 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Festa Chamkoria
Hotel Festa Chamkoria
#9 of 29 in Borovets
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Festa Winter Palace Hotel
Festa Winter Palace Hotel
#10 of 29 in Borovets
187 reviews
2.3 mi away
Moura Hotel
Moura Hotel
#24 of 29 in Borovets
79 reviews
48.5 mi away
Flora Apartments
Flora Apartments
#15 of 29 in Borovets
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chamkoria Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chamkoria Chalets

Address: Bialata Poliana, Borovets, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Borovets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Borovets
Price Range: $64 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chamkoria Chalets is a complex of luxury accommodation in Borovets with ski chalets & a large selection of apartments. The complex has a spa centre, massage area, mini-market, restaurant & bar. Chamkoria Chalets is located in a tranquil location at the edge of Borovets surrounded by forest with stunning views of the Rila Mountains & Borovets ski pistes.The complex has its own private shuttle bus to bring you directly to the ski gondola in Borovets centre. The apartments & chalets have open-plan kitchen/dining/living areas with full self-catering facilites. All of the chalets and some of the apartments have fireplaces. Whether it is skiing or hiking you enjoy Chamkoria Chalets is comfortable accommodation all year round in a relaxing location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chamkoria Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing