We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Festa Chamkoria
Nearby Hotels
$51
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lion(Borovets)
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ice Angels Hotel(Borovets)(Great Value!)
$38
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Borovets Gardens Aparthotel(Borovets)(Great Value!)
$29
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Flora Apartments(Borovets)(Great Value!)
$44
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ela(Borovets)
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveler rating
41
56
24
16
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
56
24
16
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjunior suitepine woodenglish skillsspa centerpool was coldbus shuttlewinter holidayfamily vacationgames roomspecial thanksquiet hotelfood was finerestaurant staffthe hotel offersbreakfast and evening mealshuttle serviceroom was spacious
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 140 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Second time here, the same great staff and the same quality. Great for children if you want a ski vacation, clean and comfy rooms. Food can be improve, but you have a lot of choices at the buffet - breakfast and dinner. The pool- ok. Definetelly try the massage...just pick one and you ll feel great!
No space for smokers, only outside and in all restaurants the same problem. Be aware of the bill, check it twice, because they overcharcharge it in every restaurant, but the food is great and fresh. A lot of shops with ski clothes and all you need for winter sports.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabi1313Bucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyko M, HR and Quality Manager at Festa Hotels at Hotel Festa Chamkoria, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for being our repeat guest at the Festa Chamkoria Hotels!

It is nice to hear nice words about the hotel. At the same time being repeater you are giving general information about the resort - which is very valuable information for new guests here in Borovets.

Your ideas will be shared with our Hotel Manager. We are open to new ideas and when possible we are eager to implement them, as they bring more and more guests to come again and again.

Festa Chamkoria is part of Festa Hotels. A hotel chain with 6 hotels in Bulgaria - one in Sofia, two in Borovets and three on the sea coast. It is our aim to deliver the same level of service. So when coming back again to Bulgaria and need a hotel - you have your home away from home.

Best Regards and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future in one of our hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We booked to stay in the festa chamkoria with Neilson holidays as it seemed to offer a good level of luxury, not right on top of the nightlife, but within a short walk of the ski lifts.

Sadly this wasn't true in all cases. The hotel was ok - nothing spectacular, and yes it definitely wasn't on top of the nightlife, it was in reality a 45 minute walk away from the main centre of borovets or a 10 Lev taxi ride each way. In fairness the hotel provides a shuttle bus but its not frequently t enough. The first shuttle leaves at 8:30 (breakfast officially starts at 8) So its a real rush to get this and get into borovets for ski-school start time. If you miss the 8:30 next shuttle is 9:30 and last one at 10:30. Coming back its 1:30, 3:30, 4:30 and last one at 5:00 so can't be used for night skiing or a night on the town.

The hotel has a ski storage area which is useful and its locked at night so your equipment is safe.

We stayed half board. The food was good and plentiful with a good mix of local and international dishes. It was frustrating however that the staff started to switch off the food heaters before the meal time finished, making you feel like you had to have totally finished by the end of the meal times.

The other down side was that the water was covered over for evening meal and the staff were not proactive to ask if you wanted to order drinks.

The rooms were ok, but we had 2 single beds pushed together with 2 single Duvets which wasn't the most comfortable. The rooms were heated by electric fan heaters which kept the room warm but dried the air so much that it was unbearable. We managed to switch off the fan but the air was still very dry.

The bar/reception looked lovely. An atrium covering 2 floors with a fire in the middle. But when we stayed there were a lot of families with children who took over the space and the noise reverberated around the space terribly. At one point it seemed acceptable for children to play hide and seek in the restaurant whist we were eating! I know that's not the fault of the hotel more the parents though. But the problem with the echoing reception remained.

The bar closed at 11 - not a major issue when on an activity holiday, but given the distance to anything else this may be a negative.

We tried to use the pool and 'spa' area once. It seemed a problem to find us any towels from reception we were sent from main reception to spa reception and back. Once we had towels though it didn't improve. The changing areas were cold very small and the pool was cold and the children had taken over.

We did have a lovely week but when we return to Borovets we'll choose a hotel closer to the main area. If you want to be out of the centre and don't mind the challenges with transport then this could be fine. a

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Hewlster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyko M, HR and Quality Manager at Festa Hotels at Hotel Festa Chamkoria, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your stay and your objective review here on TripAdvisor.com

We are giving clear instructions about the hotel position in the Borovets Resorts and the distance to the center of less than 2 km. (roughly 30 min. walking) to every travel agent that we work with. As we want to be fair to our guests and not to be disappointed.

All of your comments about the Food and Beverage - both kitchen and service will be addressed to our Hotel Manager for further actions. Your ideas about increasing the working time of the Bar and the SPA will be considered.

Please be informed that we have another hotel part of Festa Hotels - Festa Winter Palace, which is in the heart of the resort. We would be happy to see you there next season.

Best regards and hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

The hotel itself is very smart and clean. Our room was fine, pretty big with a decent sized bathroom. The shuttle service to the slopes worked really well, if it was full they just came back and got the people who didn't fit. The hotel is indeed a fair way from the slopes and the centre of town, a taxi will cost you 10lev one way. But it's peacefully situated in the woods. The staff were not the most service minded I've ever come across... Lots of grunts.. The breakfast was interesting... We were on bed and breakfast but decided to try dinner one night... Well, we didn't actually get as far as to eat anything as it looked so unappetizing. The pool was cold which is a shame as it was really nice (although no where near as large as it looks I the picture here!) during our stay the hotel was full of Romanian families who thought it was ok to let their kids run riot around the hotel lobby and corridors.. Not the fault of the hotel but did spoil any time spent in the bar... All in all we had an ok stay, it's a nice hotel if you want to stay out of the town.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 1st floor which meant we had wifi in our room.. Otherwise it's only in the lobby
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyko M, HR and Quality Manager at Hotel Festa Chamkoria, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Karen,

Thank you very much for choosing Festa Chamkoria Borovets and for the nice words about the Hotel.

We encourage our guests to make comments and to posts review and we take in to account not only the Excellent, but also those that are giving us positive criticism.

We are in a proccess of constantly improving the quality of the product and training the staff members, hence such feedback will be used for the future training sessions.

The access to internet is important when away from home, and we have provided additional routers, so that the connection is available troughout the whole hotel, so once you come back you should be able to test (not only on the first floor - but everywhere).

Best Regards and we look forward to welcome you as our guest in t he near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Although we had a bad start, the hotel management made a big change in our mind. I personally want to thank the Manager. She acted on spot quickly and resolved the issues in a professional way.. We highly recommend this hotel whoever would like to spend Winter holiday in Borovets and we would probably spend our next Winter holiday in here too. Thank you once again. Please bear in mind that the hotel is 2-3 km from the slopes. Hidden in the trees... The name Chamkoria means 'tree wood' or something similar from turkish.... Excellent choice of name and location.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 421Dilyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This beautiful idealic hotel set in natural pine forest, away ftom the hustle and bustle of the main bars is being criticised by narow minded individuals. We found room warm and cosy, food fantastic, staff frienfly just piace and quiet we were after. Nothing wrong for the price we paid. Yes it is far from the slopes but there is a free mini bus taking you there every day. Only thing is you need to stick to the schedule. Only minor criticism would be in a half board restaurant there is no hot drinks provided during evening meal. Only water and wine. Other drinks you have to purchase from the bar. Overal nice and clean. Definat will come back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olka_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyko M, HR and Quality Manager at Hotel Festa Chamkoria, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Visitor,

Thank you for your visit and feedback here on TripAdvisor.com

We encourage that every guest, who is posting review to be as much as possible objective and giving real infomation with details about his/her stay.

Your nice words in combination with the positive criticism are appreciated by us and we would like to confirm that the comment about the dinner will be considered for future business.

Best Regard and looking forward to welcome you again in the near future,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews