We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and comfortable but surly customer service”
Review of Flora Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Flora Apartments
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Borovets
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Convenient spot for the slopes and right in the middle of the resort amenities. If you genuinely want 'ski in, ski out' however Hotel Rila would be a better option.
We booked the hotel although ended up in the apartments in a seperate block which meant wifi access was intermittent at best. It also meant running the gauntlet of iced up pathways as the concept of gritting appears to have passed most of the businesses in Borovets by.
Rooms are spacious although basic - Bulgarian 4* rather than international standards.
Kitchenette allows for breakfast and lunch options if you wish but not suitably equipped for self catering. Which would be of benefit as the majority of restaurants leave much to be desired!
Breakfast is extensive and of reasonable quality. The lounge bar at the back of the hotel on the ground floor is more pleasant for a post slopes coffee than the 'Irish' bar in the basement. Service throughout is on the whole surly and far from customer focused.
The on site ski hire shop 'Hunters' is however excellent and Bob and team were incredibly helpful - we arrived later than expected and they had us paid up, kitted out and on the slopes for our pre booked lesson in less than 20 minutes.
Overall, for the price it is a good and convenient option if your priority is skiing.
As a tip for skiing - head straight to the top of the mountain via the Yastrebetz express cable car. Stunning scenery and a fantastic 9km run down the blue Masala Pathway through the trees.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 124 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

Arrived at the aparthotel and after an initial bit of usual 'bulgarian confusion' (been to bulgaria several times) went to my apartment and was pleasantly surprised.

Apartment had a large clean bathroom, kitchenette, balcony overlooking pine forest and large bedroom area. One useful touch was a door seperating bedroom area which reduced noise from corridor.

This aparthotel was situated about 250M from the gondola lift and had plenty of bars/restaurants around it. The hotel has an indoor pool/spa complex with sauna/steam room, hot tub etc. There are a couple of bars in the complex and a mini-casino. Breakfast was a good selection of hot cooked/cold continental foods and was included in the price.

Yes, there were some faults with the place; light fitting in kitchen was falling off/extractor hood didn't work, usual language barrier etc etc.... However, all in all, for the price, cleanliness, location and facilities was well worth a visit and would be a strong contender for a repeat stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

First time skiing , stayed at the Flora,spacious 1 bed apartment, fab location, only a few minutes from slopes .nice spa area , lots of restaurants to eat out at and have a drink especially at BJ"s bar
We are going back next year

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saroke22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The apartments and the hotel are decent and fairly new. Clean, warm and conveniently located.
However, there are serious issues with false advertisement and serious problems with mismanagement.

The hotel and apartments are run by 5 (five) different managements. You are most likely to end up staying in one building, and having breakfast at another one - that is not too bad if you don't mind walking on ice and risking serious injuries. For, no one ever bothered to clear the snow/ice from the parking lot, pavement, and pathways.

There are no telephones in the rooms. Or if there are ones present, they don't function. So, for any issues you must walk to the reception - that is in another building - again.
The SPA is decent, however you need to bring your own towels - for the stuff will brush you off to the reception (again in another building) to ask for one, even though they are supposed to provide you one on the spot.

Also, the water must have been never changed. Same goes for the Jacuzzi, where one can see scam 2 inches deep floating on the surface ...
The stuff at the reception office is generally ok, however you better not ask the other receptions questions - unless you don't mind getting attitude, rudeness, impoliteness and dealing with persons that don't belong in the catering industry.

Would never return to this place!

There are other better and cheaper accommodation in the vicinity!

Hope the management reads this and get their s*it together, for guests are paying to stay there, not the other way around!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emipe396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed in a 2 bed apartment for 5 night short ski break Feb 2013. Room was clean, warm (too warm until we turned the heating down), quiet and equivalent to a 3* hotel room.

Only real negative was that the blinds were a bit broken and even after we'd worked them into place they didn't do a brilliant job of keeping the light out.

Kitchen had a fridge, kettle, microwave and built-in hotplate all in good condition. Reasonable amount of cutlery & crockery though a little short on pans, as we were half-board this wasn't a problem.

Make sure that you get confirmation if you are expecting sauna & steam room use to be included in the price you pay - we thought it was, only to be advised otherwise on arrival. 9 Leva per person for an hour's use of steam room & sauna wasn't the end of the world though.

Food was very good, buffet every evening with 2 soup choices, salad bar, cold & hot starters and at least 3 main courses + 1 vegetarian option then dessert buffet. Food was always hot and very tasty, never a rush to get in before stuff was gone & this was over half-term week.

Not much in the way of entertainment but we were always tired from skiing. WiFi connection was iffy - think it was getting overloaded because on our last day when everyone else was out skiing it was fine.

Great location for slopes - short downhill walk to the main Yastrebetz Gondola or the Stiknyakov lifts.

We'd definitely go back.

Room Tip: Not a room tip but if you want to hire ski equipment go into the main village as Hunters had almost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnoBoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at one of the self catering apartments for one week with two friends. The apartment was large and clean towels and bed linen is included. We were in a one bed apartment and the put up in the lounge was so bad our friends had to sleep on the floor. The self catering amenities stop at two electric rings and a fridge there is no form of oven. The apartments are well located centrally to everything. If you want to use the pool or facilities there is an extra charge.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlovegrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I have stayed at Flora twice and will be staying there again in 2 weeks. The hotel is made up of the large alpine style building you see in most of the photos plus a wooden clad building of similar design (think this is the older part) which is to the left of the main building as you look at the front. There are also other buildings at the back of the main one. I have stayed in the main one and the ones at the back. I think it depends on what package you have (Room only, B&B, Half board) and the site you book through as to which building you are put in. The rooms are basic in comparison to a standard UK hotel, but you are in Bulgaria and in a winter sports resort, so I guess they need to be a bit basic or things like carpets etc would get ruined very quickly. I like Flora if for no other reason than the location. The rooms are a good size so not falling over luggage all the time.

Unfortunately the last stay we had a room in one of the buildings behind the main one and it had really bad creaking pipes each time the heating kicked in and it was right above a hire shop and by the road so we found it very noisy. I think if we had been even 1 floor up it would have been much better, but I suppose every hotel has good and bad rooms for position. I had thought about dropping my overall score to average because of this, but thought this would have been very unfair due to the first visit and staying in the main building being so nice.

Personally I always take room only as I prefer to get up grab a sandwich and get out, so have never eaten breakfast there. My friend did and said it was nothing to rave about but that was one person on one day as he didn't make it the other days due to over indulgence and not because he didn't want to due to quality. I cannot comment on the evening meals. There are some great restaurants in Borovets so if you are not half board or not too worried about eating in the hotel every night I would recommend getting out and about. Bobbys Bar is one of my faves and it is just across the road from Flora in the building with the pink window frames. Its in the Mountain Rescue building and lots of people meet there every evening, there is a meeting for the Bulgaria Ski website forum there each Sunday. It's the best bar in Borovets in my opinion.

For the price I like Flora and the location is very near the bottom of the Rila slopes. I would estimate from leaving the exit from the slopes that is nearest you could be at the hotel in 1 min.

We had very little interaction with the staff as after check in in the early hours of the morning we didn't have to see them again. Didn't check out as again early morning, however they have a key drop facility and they just debited my credit card for the balance of the bill. We arrived very early morning and had advised the hotel of this so our key was waiting in an envelope for us. Very smooth and if you are arriving in the wee hours I would recommend you advise them too. You don't want them thinking you are not coming.

I did not use any of the swimming/sauna/spa facilities, however my other half did and she though they were great. You may have the facilities included in your room deal, but you may not. I'm not sure what the reason for this is. We traveled with 2 friends who did but they paid more for their room than we did. I understand that you can pay for individual facilities, e.g. swimming. She just paid 18leva for everything and then she had the choice. This is for each day you wish to use it. I think the sauna was 6leva.

If you are looking to hire equipment, I would recommend Hunters who are based in one of the Flora buildings to the rear of the main, they were great when we hired.

Room Tip: If you are able stipulate a room in the main building. This is the one where the main reception is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Del-Boy-K2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Borovets hotels
50.3 mi away
Euphoria Club Hotel & Resort
50.9 mi away
Hotel Lion
Hotel Lion
#3 of 29 in Borovets
441 reviews
50.6 mi away
Hotel Festa Chamkoria
Hotel Festa Chamkoria
#9 of 29 in Borovets
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
51.1 mi away
Hotel Iceberg
Hotel Iceberg
#26 of 29 in Borovets
164 reviews
51.3 mi away
Festa Winter Palace Hotel
Festa Winter Palace Hotel
#10 of 29 in Borovets
185 reviews
52.2 mi away
Hotel Yastrebets Wellness & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flora Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flora Apartments

Address: Apartment Complex Flora, Borovets, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Borovets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Borovets
Price Range: $28 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Flora Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing