We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel”
Review of Hotel Mistral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mistral
Ranked #1 of 56 Balchik B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 14, 2014

The hotel is decent, the rooms are pretty big, pretty clean and the view (if you have a room watching the sea) is very nice. The staff are friendly. Overall a nice experience for a hotel in Balchik, not something outstanding.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mistral
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 83 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2014

Location is the main key of this hotel, all rooms have balcony and sea view, which si very lovely..but in some cases this could damage a good night sleep, as it is located just in the heart of Balchik promenade.
As for a 4 star hotel, I was expected to find: a pool, a very diversified breakfast to start earlier ( not 8AM local time ), free access to the sunbeds and umbrellas..or at least, one of the above!
Rooms are clean, but: carpets really need big improvements, pillows are already old, and yellow :(
“Francis Drake” restaurant is one of the best in the area.
Best thing about this hotel was a very good Wi-Fi!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBears25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The hotel benefits from the environment - placed by the seashore,near the Marina.
Otherwise, quite basic for 4-star, also compared with the nearby Regina Maria Hotel (also a 4-star).
Pluses: friendliness of staff, location, balcony, sleep quality (off-season, of course...), restaurant (fish and seafood)
Minuses: breakfast (definitely!), no bathrobes and slippers in the room, blankets, towels (2/person, also below the 4-stars standard).

Breakfast: if you are not a morning person, it's no worth waking up in time to have breakfast. I;s better to go and have brunch at the nearby Hemingway restaurant instead :)
Also, I would have expected a gym / sauna / pool or any other kind of indoors entertainment.

Room Tip: We stayed at the 2nd floor (Mistral is a three-storey building). I guess being at the third floor wo...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

I really enjoyed my staying at this hotel. Maybe it is not a luxurious hotel, but it has an incredible view! Not all the staff speaks English and this meant sometimes talking to ourselves, but, once again, I spent some lovely days by the sea!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view to the sea!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimVIOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Hotel is situated right by the sea , next to the Marina . The rooms were spacious clean and comfortable with good wi-fi connectivity . The restaurant is very good , with excellent choice and very good service . We arrived at the Hotel late in the evening around 10.30 pm , but the reception arranged for the restaurant to remain open for us , after it's working time . Recommended ..

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Breakfast is awful, poor and somethimes dirty. Not 4****
Waiters are very rude and imagine you can't understand the stupid joke they make regarding customers.
Rooms are clean but the cleaning lady enters even if the " Do not disturb" sign is on the door.
Hotel staff pretends they do not speak English so they cannot solve any problem.
Do not choose HB because it is a waste of money; they choose the dinner for you and it does not contain much( poor, bad quality, not enough). You get what they bring you and waiters act as you should be thankful cause they bothered. With the same money you could have a nice dinner even at the hotel's restaurant and it would be something you want to eat.

Room Tip: See view rooms are in front of the terrace ( close )and you feel like on the stage in the balcony.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amelia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Hotel is located on the seaside next to the marina, with very nice sea view.
I am sleeping overnight in the hotel since its openning. Rooms are spacious and well decorated, internet with good speed, mini bar available. Breakfast is nothing special - you will not stay hungry, but nothing will bring "wow" effect. Parking is in a nearby location at affordable price.
The main problem is that since its openning Hotel Mistral renovated only the lobby. Carpets are worn, wallpapers need replacement, bathrooms are having black stains in the corners.
If the management renew the interior a bit this will be a real 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PetDim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Balchik hotels
0.8 mi away
White Rock Castle Suite Hotel
1.0 mi away
Regina Maria Spa Design Hotel
0.1 mi away
Marina City
Marina City
#6 of 20 in Balchik
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Elit Palace and Spa
Hotel Elit Palace and Spa
#12 of 20 in Balchik
12 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lotos
Hotel Lotos
#10 of 20 in Balchik
41 reviews
0.4 mi away
Helios Hotel
Helios Hotel
#1 of 20 in Balchik
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mistral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mistral

Address: Primorska Str 8B, Balchik 9600, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Dobrich Province > Balchik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Balchik
Price Range: $41 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mistral 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mistral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing