We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best one in Balchik”
Review of Hotel Mistral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Mistral
Ranked #2 of 56 Balchik B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I was in this hotel for few times, because I has business in Balchik. Really nice hotel on seaside and in middle of pedestrian zone by sea. Very nice rooms and up to me one of the luxuries hotels in Balchik with low price.
Near the hotel there are few very nice restaurants. One is Silencio pub and have very nice space with tasty food. Also restaurant in Hotel is very nice and have beautiful terrace and fish food.

Room Tip: take a room on sea side view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sinisa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 83 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2012

We've been here twice so far for a romantic getaway weekend.
Good: panorama, food, prices, rooms
Not so good: insufficient parking spaces, crowded in the summer time, lack of additional facilities (pool, spa, playground for children, etc)

Room Tip: Choose an october or april weekend and you won't be dissapointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alexandru B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed at The Mistral in October 2011. We arrived late in the evening and were greeted with a smile. The reception / lounge area was not decorated to our taste however was clean and tidy with lots of comfy sofas. A bar was located also in this area.

Our room was clean and tidy and had a brilliant view of the harbour / black sea. There was a leak in the shower however a quick tightening of the head and all resolved. Our room had a good air con system. There was a mini bar in our room however if you wanted the fridge to work you had to make an additional payment of 10 lev a day.

There was also no safe in the room itself. There was one available in reception for the cost of 30 lev a week.

Breakfast was better than expected after reading other reviews. Most days the waiters asked us what we would like for breakfast - fried, scrambled, boiled eggs with toast - all breakfasts also came with cheese and ham. There was also a selection of cereals.

We ate at the local restaurants. We would recommend El Simpatico and Hemmingways.

Drinks are quite cheap in Balchik, our average meals including starters, mains and deserts And drinks were about 170 lev for 6 adults.

A late checkout is available for around 30 lev depending on how long you want extra in the room.

Weather was warm in the day however was chilly at night so a good cardi / coat would be worthwhile.

Room Tip: We viewed the studio room - one bedroom with a large open plan living area We viewed the apartmen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amyc6293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed with a group of mixed golfers and we found the hotel to be adequate. The rooms were clean, showers a bit dodgy, the breakfast was basic but ok, staff friendly. Parking could be better, especially when you are carrying golf clubs. For the price very good value. Try the Hemingway restuarant next door, it was very good.

Room Tip: We stayed in back room, the sea view rooms are good but could be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I ignored the mixed reviews on TA and booked here as it was the Lonely Planet pick. I should have trusted TA!

There is simply no way this is a 4 star hotel. Perhaps it was when it opened, but something - perhaps a change of ownership or management - has happened since then.

Where to start?

We were promised free parking - it was actually 5 Lev.

Reception staff were surly and unhelpful. check in took ages and staff insisted on retaining our passports for 15 minutes (why?)

Our room was okay, but had clearly seen better days. The shower head sprayed over the cubicle, and there was no blind at out bathroom window which was fitted with. Lear glass and looked straight out onto the terrace and marina beyond(!)

The restaurant has changed name since the postive review in Lonely Planet, so we ate elsewhere.

The hotel room came with a scruffy photocopied sheet with 13 rules to be obeyed by guests, like 1950s Blackpool. Rule 8 was that no noise is permitted after 11pm. if only! Instead, an extremely noisy disco and kareoke continued directly below our room until after midnight. We tried calling reception, who, surprise, surprise, weren't answering.

Breakfast the next day was a huge disappointment. Basically bread, cheese, processed meats and some very dodgy looking hot food which had clearly been there for some time. No member of staff greeted us, so we simply helped ourselves.

Check out was similarly convoluted - a long wait for service, and then for change from a note we prsented to pay for mini-bar products.

Basically, stay somehwere - anywhere - else, and don't give these people your money.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jebndelorus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Great rooms, big beds, leaking shower (both mine and a friend) and if you want a breakfast, get up early as it is not replenished.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Red3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2010

I've stayed there on 3-5 April 2010.
When booked the room (in Feb-March 2010) I guaranteed with the credit card to the travel agency. When checked out on 5 April I've been asked at the hotel to pay. So I did, considering that there is an arrangement between the travel agency and the hotel. SURPRISE: after returning home I discovered that the credit card was charged twice.
So.. since 2 month already I have intense correspondence with the hotel manager to return the money. Till now they did not.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Mihaela35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Balchik hotels
0.9 mi away
Regina Maria Spa Design Hotel
1 mi away
Hotel Paris
Hotel Paris
#11 of 20 in Balchik
26 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Horizont
Hotel Horizont
#9 of 56 in Balchik
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Lighthouse Golf & Spa Resort
0.9 mi away
Guest House Botanical Garden
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bisser
Hotel Bisser
#9 of 20 in Balchik
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mistral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mistral

Address: Primorska Str 8B, Balchik 9600, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Dobrich Province > Balchik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Balchik
Price Range: $55 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mistral 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mistral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing