We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I left my heart in Villa Rousalka”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Villa Rousalka

bar/outside kitchen and romantic seating area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
bar/outside kitchen and romantic seating area
summer kitchen seating area - extra romantic and comfortable!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
6 reviews
bar/outside kitchen and romantic seating area
summer kitchen seating area - extra romantic and comfortable!
summer Kitchen
large dinning area n summer kitchen
Large BBQ!
upstairs seating area with DVD's!
upstairs, door leads to double bedroom (shown)
You can use the instruments, CD player and 100's of CD's! Also lots of information leaflets/books
upstairs seating/children's sofabed
Upstairs bedroom
Downstairs bedroom
Downstairs bedroom
downstairs double bedroon
Bathroom/wet room 1
Bathroom/wet room 2
summer kitchen/garden
Villa Rousalka
indoor kitchen
indoor kitchen and dining area with large fridge/freezer and double hob, grill and oven
All doors and windows are new and have insect nets!
New double glazed windows with insect nets!
Breakfast bar
outside kitchen with gas stove, sink and fridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Balchik, Dobrich Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cristian...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting location”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The location is ok, just outside Balchik. It is preferably to have a car.
It's a decent place to spend a few days.

The house is old Bulgarian country style home with some updates.
The property is actually half of bigger home.
There is a small gate, a small cemented courtyard, the main home (as I have said half of the bigger home), a small outside hallway, an extension (I think a former garage turned into a bedroom+bathroom), a wooded door that allows access to the backyard, summer kitchen)

The entrance has an small old gate without a lock. The small courtyard where the parking place should be is inaccessible because the gates are blocked (I think this is because the ground is not stable - there are cracks and big dents in the cemented floor).
We were able to park by the house fence after we talked to the beighbours who were also parking there.

The main home is actually half of a former house. You climb a few steps to reach an open hallway that allows access to 2 rooms - one living area with couch + one very small bedroom. You go through the living area into the bedroom. There is no bathroom - you have to go outside down the steps (that is no fun at night, I can't image how you do it in cold weather), into the kitchen bellow to use the small bathroom there.

The extension is accessible via an outside door. It has a small hallway with the boiler that supplies hot wat for the whole property. Access to a bathroom and to a small bedroom.
The bathroom has no door - only a curtain! You are not able to close the door to the room.
The bathroom - is a wet room (no shower cabin - you shower on the bathroom floor). The ventilation is very poor.

The kitchen is accessible via the summer kitchen. The kitchen is part of the original home and is bellow the first bedroom + living room I have mention. It has a table + couch and normal kitchen appliances. It has a very small bathroom. The small bathroom, again wetroom has a toilet with very poor flow. Also hot water is missing from the sink.

The summer kitchen is nice, you have 3 areas, table next to the kitchen, large workbench with sink, couch with round table.

The backyard has a large grill, a swing chair and a small decorative well. The grass is not maintained, the walls that surround the backyard are not maintained (cracks missing paint etc)

There is no air conditioning - we were lucky because the outside temperatures reached only 25 degrees Celsius.

Overall an interesting experience. The place has it's own charm.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steph s
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“I left my heart in Villa Rousalka”
Reviewed October 3, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Such a fantastic holiday in the beautiful town of Balchik. My first impressions where that the location of Villa Rousalka was ideal. Close to the sea and main attractions of the town and with bus stops almost directly outside. The Villa is very clean and bright and very soon felt like home. A perfect haven after day long adventures, my highlight space being the summer kitchen area where we could congregate in the warm outdoors and cook with some of the delicious local produce. I was very impressed with the easy gas stove for cooking outside (but there are indoor cooking facilities also). There is a handy Tip Top Supermarket very close to the house which I found to be one of the best for fresh vegetables. We loved the restaurant Korona below the palace and the beautiful Botanical Gardens, I could recommend a hundred things more but that would ruin the surprise! I can't wait to return such a great relaxing and adventurous destination accessible to all.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
268Caroly...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect for a relaxed getaway”
Reviewed April 4, 2014 for a stay in August 2013

I've stayed here for the last 3 years in a row. It's a great relaxed getaway. The house is in a peaceful location but easy to walk along the coastal promenade to the beaches, botanic garden, cafes and town centre. I love the house with it's outdoor living space and garden, perfect place to chill in the evening with a nice glass of local wine. The whole vibe of Balchik is relaxed and low key and if that's what you're looking for, then this is a great choice for a holiday.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanSr...
Srebarna, Bulgaria
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect place for Balchik”
Reviewed February 3, 2014 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic stay at Villa Rousalka. It's perfectly located for a trip to Balchik. Close enough that you can walk to either Balchik or Albena but away from the busier parts of both places. Great rooms with good facilities. Very nice outside seating area where we spent the evenings. Next time we go to Balchik we'll be heading back to Villa Rousalka!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet of the location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catriona...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great base for wildlife watching holiday”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 for a stay in September 2013

Stayed here for a fortnight's birding holiday. Reasonably- priced and a great base and area for birdwatching. The villa has everything you require for a self-catering holiday and the owners made us very welcome, up to and including a home-cooked meal on the first night. Lovely setting and only half an hours walk to the town and botanic gardens - which are well worth a visit. For the birders, at least 14 species of raptor and 5 species woodpecker - from the back garden!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gigi S
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great villa”
Reviewed February 1, 2014 for a stay in May 2013

I go back to the villa every year after discovering it 7 years ago. It is a home from home now. Love the summer kitchen especially. Great communal area perfect chilling in the evening. Balchik is really classy and fantastic and 20 mins beautiful coastal walk away from the villa. I kind of hoped this place would remain undiscovered but here it is on trip adviser.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing