We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Palace and Botanical Gardens of Balchik
Open today: 8:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Palace and Botanical Gardens of Balchik
from $9.30
More Info
Reviews (1,041)
Filter reviews
1,041 results
Traveler rating
661
264
67
24
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
661
264
67
24
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews botanical gardens beautiful place queen mary summer residence beautiful garden wine tasting couple of hours buy tickets nice walk great place to visit take your time piece of history different levels sea view flowers cactus palace
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 1,041 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2018

Balchik Palace and Gardens were the summer residence of Queen Mary of Romania.

Palace and Botanical gardens are conected, but there are 2 entry fees.

You will be impressed by the botanical gardens and the way there are been taking care of. The palace is composed by 2 floors, but it will take you about 10 - 20 minutes to see all of it.

Inside the gardens there are 2 winneries; the last one is said to be called "the real winnery of Queen Mary of Romania" - you can taste wines and also buy them. The current owner of the winnery is also the guide. The wine is very good and without any chemicals inside.

Near the castle there are plenty of restaurants to choose from; the staff talks romanian and english very well.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Bogdan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2018 via mobile

To start with you should know that you have to pay two entrance fees 6Lev and then 8Lev per person this is because the area is run by two organisations who obviously cannot work together.

If your taking a buggy like we did, it’s not impossible but be prepared for a lot of lifting up stairs and navigating very rocky paths. So no chance of enjoying this with the little one enjoying a sleep while being pushed around.

We walked through to the beach so our daughter could have her morning sleep and we soaked up the sun and had a swim. Once she was awake and having payed 28lev we took on the paths and stairs. With our very basic map.

To be honest we were both disappointed reading the information posts it says that the lovely flower beds that were surrounded by orange and golden fish ( their words) have been dug up and replaced by trees. Meaning you walk through a woods and see some old Vila’s every now and again.

We couldn’t find the Palace so asked a member of staff on the entrance/exit who said the place is called the Palace in memory of Queen Mary and there isn’t actually a palace.

We visited the winery for some free samples we recommend the fig wine if you like sweet wine but leave the melon alone unless you like the taste of neat vodka.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank jamestI9393EY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2018

I enjoyed very much the gardens. It is so green... You walk through vineyards with the grapes hanging over your head, and the old stone walls add to the atmosphere. The palace was less for me. The palace might be interesting for people focused on the local history of this specific region.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank MottiB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2018

Went on a very hot day , wasn’t impressed greatly , rude staff and not really that much to see just nice to get away from the general public .gardens always have a nice calm feeling . The palace should not be called a palace , its tiny and not really worth the money , best thing is the bathroom that the princess used , lovely and cool .

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2018 via mobile

Great way of spending an afternoon after a rain. Make sure you get proper shoes because the visit of the gardens might get slippery. I'm not sure it's worth visiting the inside of the castle (it's just 3 rooms), but the gardens are exquisite!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank alexandradonistor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews