We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bland hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Pousada do Sol
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Aracaju
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
233 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“A bland hotel”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We were supposed to get rooms with a balcony and hammock overlooking the waterfront (that is what it says on the website) - we got none of that. And complaining is a bit difficult because few people speak English. The rooms we did have were boring and ordinary. The waterfront suggestion is a myth - the only reason you can see the road by the beach is because there is an empty building site in front of the hotel. WE didn't really see the nearest beach but we did have a good time at one of the beach bars south of Aracaju - it was called Parati I think. They don't use beach loungers in Brazil, instead you sit around a table with an umbrella and the waiting staff take your orders for food and drink - and you can stay all day if you want. The beaches are vast but the waves tend to be too fierce to make swimming an option.
The hotel does, however, serve a decent breakfast and they have a pleasant little pool but it does get busy.
Aracaju is a place for mass tourism and most of the restaurants around reflect that - they are vast, like works canteens.
Couldn't recommend the place, can't think of any reason to stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedHeadPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    238
    49
    8
    4
See reviews for
207
95
27
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

There isn´t much to say about Pousada do Sol, only that it is a very simples pousada almost on the beach. The rooms are clean with very little creature comforts, the bathrooms are dated and the aircon is weak to withstand the Aracaju heat. It´s nicely located at the end of Atalaia Beach, at a more secluded area. There isn´t much to say about the breakfast, very simple and not a lot of options. This place has no charm nor character whatsoever, but has an ok value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guilherme R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 1 night as a pit stop between Maceio and Salvador. On arrival to the hotel we were greeted with a staff member that spoke a little English but was able to get us checked in straight away with no problems. We were taken to our room which was nice and cool from the aircon and it was extremely clean. The room was also equipped with cable tv and minibar. The hotel reception had plenty of recommendations for restaurants as well as maps to help you locate them. We found this most useful and were able to go to a great pizzeria over the road. We didn’t use the pool as we didn’t have enough time but we had a look around it and it looked pleasant enough and also had a small children’s play area. Breakfast was great, plenty of choice as well as hot and cold options. We would have had no problems staying longer if we hadn’t already made other travel arrangements. My only small criticism (and this is no fault of the hotel themselves) our room had lots of mosquito’s in it. I killed 5 myself whilst there!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Very close to the beach and tons of good restaurants in the Atalaia border. Quiet place, pretty good breakfast and great pool (with really clean water and a refreshing shower-cascade). Very nice staff and pleasant rooms. Nothing outstanding but nothing to complain about either.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirtualFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itu-SP
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This hotel is very well located, near the main tourist area, including feeding and bathing beach. The breakfast is reasonable good, but not so special. The staff is friendly and conscious of the importance of tourism to the region's development. Everyone can trust their information on any subject. Greatly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuizItu_SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

That's a small hotel. Some rooms have been renovated and others not. The location is one block from the Atalaia beach (several restaurants). Do not miss a visit to Mague Seco (about 90 minutes - USD 35 per person) as well as Xingo Canion at Sao Francisco river (day tour - USD 60).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odarci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

This pousada is located near a very busy 4 lane road. We stayed in one of the 'chalets'. A kind of bunker. Clean but tired room, no charm at all. Gloomy. Had to stay outside in the garden (great hammock). Beach not close. Few restaurants nearby. Breakfast not impressive. Staff kind but few understand English. Wifi slow or not working at all. Departing planes fly by.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pluskat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aracaju hotels
ibis Budget Aracaju
#5 of 36 in Aracaju
629 reviews
Radisson Aracaju
#1 of 36 in Aracaju
2,462 reviews
Aruana Eco Praia Hotel
#3 of 36 in Aracaju
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Celi Hotel
#2 of 36 in Aracaju
1,632 reviews
Atalaia
Del Mar Hotel
Del Mar Hotel
#11 of 36 in Aracaju
1,151 reviews
Aquarios Praia Hotel
#8 of 36 in Aracaju
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pousada do Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pousada do Sol

Property: Hotel Pousada do Sol
Address: Rua Engenheiro Francisco Manoel da Costa 43 | Atalaia Beach, Aracaju, State of Sergipe 49035-110, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sergipe > Aracaju
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Aracaju
#7 Business Hotel in Aracaju
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pousada do Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With modern architecture and differentiated predominantly horizontal construction, with lots of green space and easy access to routes principas city, the Hotel Pousada do Sol is located in Orla Watchtower, one of the most beautiful and structured the country, providing entertainment for all ages and outstanding cuisine. The hotel also has swimming pools for adults and children, bar, playground and ample parking, even for 01 buses. The voltage of the electric current in Aracaju is 127v, but we have a 220v outlet in the rooms of the fittest. Master and bathrooms of the fittest. Standard Plus. Support 24 hours and breakfast with emphasis on regional cuisine. Warning: No animals are allowed in the hotel Our team is able to provide a quality service both for those who do travel for leisure or business. We have different rates for groups. Ask us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Pousada do Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pousada Do Sol Aracaju, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing