We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Resort, very average rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Itamambuca Eco Resort
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Ubatuba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This resort is great for families and bird lovers. Lot's of activities for all and a great Beach and surfing. Food was very good, considering this resort is a long way from any major city. Atmosphere was good and staff very welcoming. Breakfast was one of the best we had in Brazil, but if you have travelled to Brazil all placed have virtuelle the same breakfast items. Great place but could be better if rooms are improved. Note, we had a deluxe family room, and it was far from luxury.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 501 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

A small oasis. This resort has class, very simply and elegantly designed, we had excellent food in the Taloba restaurant, good gym, WI-FI, beach club, swimming pool, tennis court, what more do you need? Our main attraction was the bird life, and we were not disappointed, got good photos of several endemics incl. the Sombre Humming Bird, Black-cheeked Gnateater and many more. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PolarbearSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The premise is well kept and the boardwalk is interesting. Rich in birdlife and fantastic beach front. Decoration is simple and rustic. Some outdoor facilities seems to require maintainable. The Taloba Resturant offers excellent food. A great place to rest and relax.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fanny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had three nights of free time between business meetings - we decided to spend two of these nights at Itamambuca. I stayed in a little cottage and it was very cute. A stay at this resort will not be for Five Star Luxury comfort, it will be for the relaxing and enjoying nature and birds. The bed was comfortable, wireless access was not really strong in the room and the water pressure was very weak.

However, I loved seeing the beautiful birds and watching toucans flying overhead. I found the walk around the resort beautiful and heading over to the beach (via the little hand pulled boat) was charming. There was not a lot of people at the beach, so it was very relaxing.

I did book two spa treatments (two hours): shiastu massage and a body treatment. The spa area was so nice with the little cabanas and you can hear the water moving under the massage table. Peaceful. The only complaint I would have is that both my treatments were written in the appointment book when I checked in but the young lady doing my treatment could not read or speak English. So I got an one hour swedish massage. The level of English speaking was limited at the reception area so when I try to explain what happened, I am not sure if anyone understood.

Room Tip: Beware that the cottages are attached with a common wall - a very thin wall. When you are in the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tayloryen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I stayed at this Itamambuca Eco resort 2 star hotel for 9 days with friends. The location is nice and also the services are great. There is very good playroom for kids, also very nice services available like gymnasium, Internet - Wi-Fi, beach club, restaurant, swimming pool, tennis court, soccer field and much more. Room and staff services are so good, I am very impressed from them especially. I think people should make a trip to this great resort.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesliystewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We drove from Rio which took approx 5 hours (including a quick pee break) but it was definitly worth it. The only reason I'm writing this review is because none of the reviews were very helpful concerning the actual accomodation available and I promised myself I would advise future travellers. There's two types from what I saw. Apartments which were close to the reception area which they say are bigger but we opted for the Bungalows because they had a connecting door so it felt the children were with us rather than two doors away.and they were huge in themselves. Each had a double (two singles attached which they kindly separated for the children) and another single bed. The bungalows we had were perfect and only a stones throw from the restaurant and reception (literally). No musty smell or probs with shower, everything was very clean and looked after. Definitley worth a trip here, birds, swimming pool, river to canoe on, beach, bicycles,lots for all the family. More importantly the staff are lovely. A few language dificulties but everyone tried really hard and not at all put out with sign languaging and most of the time found a colleague who spoke better english.Nothing was too much for them. Well done.

Room Tip: Bungalows with connecting rooms made it feel much cosier with the children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubbles067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

This is a very nice place, like a big natural park close to the rainforest. It is not a resort direct on the beach, actually it borders a river that goes to the beach. To cross the river, there is a little boat, but you could go even walking sometimes, about 10 meters only. The whole place is big, so with kids you can go by car from your room to the river cross point.
The birds are a special attraction in the resort, awesome. Walking in the rainforest is also a must. There are lots of things yo do with boats, but not for small kids.
The beach is also beautiful, but not child friendly, in my opinion. Good for surfers. Many kids (including mine) loved the river beach, calm waters like a pool. But it does not seem a clean river, there was a sign one day saying the beach was not perfect for bathing.
But the next beach going north, FELIX, it is PERFECT. There are nice beach food places, the landscape is amazing, there is a good shadow protection from many trees and the waters are very clean and safe. So it is nice to know Itamambuca Beach, but use your time at Felix, 5 min by car.
The restaurant has good quality, but it is not cheap. There are dishes for kids, for me 1 dish was enough for my 2 daugthers. But there are few apetizers options, kind of expensive for 1 or 2 people. The fish nuggets was very heavy, but I ate a wonderful fish flamed with cachaca.
If you are staying many days it is a good idea go to Ubatuba downtown to eat. Ubatuba has lots of better (in variety) and cheaper places to eat. Only 12km from the resort. Ubatuba has also a Turtles protection base worth to visit - Tamar Project - very close to downtown.
The rooms are big, but a little dark. The bathrooms could be much better, they are small and old. The shower is weak, but it is clean. Maybe the rooms are better, but mine was a standard and it looked pretty old, very small tv, somehow dark.
There are other pros for kids, a big entertaining room, toys, somedays amusement people.
There is a camping area inside the resort, with a bigger pool, excellent for kids.

Room Tip: There are rooms closer to the restaurant, others closer to the kids area, you should ask what works...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marcos040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubatuba hotels
Villa di Capri
#13 of 19 in Ubatuba
289 reviews
Wembley Inn Hotel
#7 of 19 in Ubatuba
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ubatuba Palace Hotel
#3 of 19 in Ubatuba
263 reviews
City Center
Hotel e Pousada Parque Atlantico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Itamambuca Eco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Itamambuca Eco Resort

Address: Rod. Rio Santos Km 36 | Praia de Itamambuca, Ubatuba, State of Sao Paulo 11680-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Ubatuba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Ubatuba
Price Range: $187 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Itamambuca Eco Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Itamambuca Eco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itamambuca Eco Hotel Ubatuba
Itamambuca Eco Resort Ubatuba, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing