We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from Home”
Review of Villa Tenorio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Tenorio
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Ubatuba
Certificate of Excellence
Tring
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We chose to include the delightful resort of Ubatuba on our trip to southern Brazil and were fortunate to find Villa Tenorio. The lovely owners made us at home from the moment we arrived moving us to their best room at the top of the house. The Villa is a quiet area but very close to the beach - would recommend a car to get around Ubatuba and the many beaches. It is an easy drive from either Sao Paulo airport (3-4 hours) or Rio (5-6 hours). Attentive personal service - superb breakfast, afternoon tea/coffee and Paulo's Bar for a refreshing craft beer or two. Nice pool.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizJ22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    11
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
96
76
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I am glad I booked this place after reading TA's reviews. The small hotel (five rooms) is well located in a nice beach in Ubatuba city, a short car ride from several good restaurants and accross the street from Tenorio's beach. Although a little crowded - with a noisy crowd - during vacation weekends, the beach per se is beautiful and inviting. Notwithstanding, the hotel itself is a tranquil and discreet place, and you can always use the swimming pool if the beach is too crowded.
But what really shines here is the quality of service and the kindness of the owners. Paulo and Silvana will make you feel at home at all times, either respecting your privacy and pace or engaging in a nice and funny conversation.
I also liked both the breakfast and afternoon tea included in the rate. Several delicious options which, depending on how hungry you are, could let you skip a lunch or dinner.
I definitely intend to visit this place again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabiobrsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Silvana and her husband and their two dogs are absolutely lovely hosts. They really make you feel like guests in their home. The hotel is well appointed, and the beach is just across the street. The rooms facing the ocean have lovely views and balconies to enjoy them. The pool is nice and rarely had anyone in it, even on a busy holiday weekend.

Silvana arranged for us a lovely private tour of several beaches. To get to the least crowded beaches, you have to be ready to leave the beaten path, sometimes hiking a bit before getting to the beach. With the guide, we had no trouble finding secluded spots to enjoy.

If you are going by car, it would be best to have a high-clearance vehicle. The road from Taubate to Ubatuba is horribly curvy and can be very crowded. Avoid travelling this road after dark if you can. Once you get to Ubatuba, the road to the hotel is not paved. The entrance to the hotel can be deceiving if you don't know what you are looking for. Finally, the driveway up to the hotel is pretty treacherous, and scraped the bottom of our sedan every time we came in or out.

Room Tip: Definitely opt for one of the ocean view rooms, and leave Sao Paulo early enough to arrive before su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freetownexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lourtier, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I spent a really good time in Ubatuba at the Villa Tenorio. I just wanted to leave Sao Paulo in order to see the brazilian coast and I got there. I met with really nice and friendly people that are Paulo and Silvana! Relaxing, lying on the beach, reading a book, that's it! The owners made my stay even better by small little attentions, like bringing me a cup of coffee, showing me nice places in the city and just by their presence! I will definitely come back to this place and advise it to all my friends who visit Brazil!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My two travel buddies and I absolutely loved Villa Tenorio. We arrived after a long drive and had the warmest, friendliest welcome from the charming owners, Paulos and Silvana who made us feel right at home. Our room was clean and smelt fresh and it looked out over the beach and the beautiful green forests, a wonderful location in a lovely neighbourhood. Breakfast was delicious and the staff and owners made everything so special and personalised, always going out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. They joined us for a dip in the sea the following day and we even went bodyboarding which was fun! The location was perfect, right by the beach. We felt like we were staying at a friend’s luxury home. I would recommend this for anyone. It was a fantastic experience all around. Thanks to all of you at Villa Tenorio for a wonderful stay - I wish we'd stayed longer!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexiaCy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xuzhou, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I currently live in China and am constantly immersed in the busy shuffle of city life. Pollution, crowds of people, and excess work were sapping my vitality and making me a grumpy person. I finally decided I needed a retreat to detox, unwind, and spend some time working on my inner balance. I found everything I was looking for and more when I arrived at Villa Tenorio. The views are amazing and you can always hear the sounds of the ocean. If I slept with the curtains open the sunlight would wake me. I started most days with a sunrise walk along one of the MANY beaches within walking distance. I'd return to a breakfast table covered with fresh fruit, different meats and cheeses served with toasted buns, and fresh coffee. Anything I felt like doing the owners were happy to help. I had facials and deep tissue massages. I took boats to various islands and went swimming in clean crisp water. I visited beautiful waterfalls and drank water from cold coconuts. I also met some amazing people from all over, had some amazing dinners and cocktails made with fruits I'd never heard of before. In between activities there was plenty of deep sleep in clean rooms, the bed was really comfortable and the bathroom spacious. The owners of this place really know what they're doing!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaTenorio, Owner at Villa Tenorio, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you so much for such a lovely review!
Please do come back to see us soon!
All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Me and my family were very well received by the owners of the inn ... it's all very nice, interaction with other guests, the breakfast, the rooms, the decor very cheerful tranquility that has, location (exceptional beach Tenorio, for those looking for peace - there lies the high point of Tenorio , in my opinion of course) ... and so on.
We went midweek, the roads are quieter. During the weekends the residents of sao paulo all go to the coast, causing several kilometers of traffic jam. If you do not live in the state of sao paulo, do like me, go midweek, very show!
The only drawback stems from the stairs, although the site is magnificent, I think not recommended for old people, disabled people and young children. The owners are already thinking about this issue of mobility and security.
Sorry if the text was not good, I admit, I used google translator, kkkkk.

Room Tip: it seems all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlavinhaSena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubatuba hotels
Hotel Porto Di Mare
#2 of 19 in Ubatuba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Villa di Capri
#14 of 19 in Ubatuba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Hotel e Pousada Parque Atlantico
Wembley Inn Hotel
#6 of 19 in Ubatuba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Ubatuba Palace Hotel
#4 of 19 in Ubatuba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Tenorio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Tenorio

Property: Villa Tenorio
Address: Avenida Franklin de Toledo Piza 683 | Praia do Tenorio, Ubatuba, State of Sao Paulo 11680-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Ubatuba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ubatuba
#1 Family Hotel in Ubatuba
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ubatuba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Tenorio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Tenório is a private beachfront club similar to a boutique hotel. Its prized location - Praia do Tenório - will offer you a beautiful beach with white sand to swim, walk, take pictures, fish, have a drink or just relax. You will also be close enough to the city main restaurants, atractions and bars. The Villa offers stunning sea and mountain views, as well as a pool and modern accommodation with free Wi-Fi. Free private parking is also offered.All rooms at Villa Tenório feature modern décor and light tiled flooring. They come with TV, air conditioning private bathrooms, and deluxe rooms also boast beachfront views.A free buffet breakfast is also served each morning in the breakfast room. It includes eggs, a variety of fresh fruits, breads and cold meats, as well as a selection of hot and cold drinks. There are other great beaches close to Villa Tenório including Praia Vermelha and Praia Grande. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Villa Tenorio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Tenorio Ubatuba, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing