We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem”
Review of Pousada Picinguaba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pousada Picinguaba
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Ubatuba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This was the highlight of our Brazilian trip. The lodge is secluded on a forested peninsula and has spectacular views of the bay and mountains. Despite the feeling of seclusion, it is a very short walk down the the authentic, friendly, tiny fishing village and beautiful beach. Its a great launchpad to explore what must be one of the nicest stretches of coastline in the world (and we live in Mauritius!). The staff were friendly and the food was great.

Hope to return one day!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pousada_Picinguaba, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada Picinguaba, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind comments.
We are proud that you enjoyed your stay. We do our best to combine the local atmosphere and amazing surroundings.
It also makes us very happy that you liked our beaches….and coming from Mauritius!
Hope you come and kayak on them again!!
All the best,
Oseias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 65 of 287 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

The place, the people, the energy, the colors, the flowers, the food, the locals, the weather (rainy and sunny), the temperature, the flow, the plans, the sounds, the water, the fish, the fruits, the smiles, the birds, the naps... everything is absolutely fantastic in the Pousada. The real luxury in a tiny little fishermen town between Sao Paulo and Rio de Janeiro.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Esteban F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pousada_Picinguaba, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada Picinguaba, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so so much for all these kind words… We are truly happy to hear that you enjoyed Picinguaba.
We will take your challenge of inventing a new adjective….quite a big one! In the meantime try to express it by: “Natural Luxury, Real Brazil”

Everyone in Picinguaba sends their warm regards,
Oseias Castro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I have travelled to Brazil a number of times on business, but this was the first time my wife and 7 year old son joined. We splurged on the "real Brazil" package with 4 days at Picinguaba and then 2 at Fazenda Catacuba. Although a bit pricey, both were spectacular - great food, friendly helpful people, lots to do, particulary for family. Our highlight at Picinguaba was the day on the boat - beautiful, wooden schooner making stops at perfect deserted beaches. At the Fazenda, for our son, the highlight was the two 18 month old dogs and the experience of a working farm. The Fazenda in particular felt like you were staying at the home of an eccentric rich uncle and the food was soem of the best and most creative we have had anywhere.

Room Tip: At Picinguaba we stayed in the little house, which for us was a real treat, particularly on the days...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pousada_Picinguaba, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada Picinguaba, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear guest,
Thanks for sharing your experience with us, all of us are delighted to read your comments about your family holiday in both of our properties, Pincinguaba and Catucaba.
We are happy to hear that you really enjoyed our concept of Real Brazil - deserted beaches and also an authentic Fazenda with it’s own living culture.
We shared your wonderful insight about the “creative food” to our gastronomic team and they are already working on new dishes!

We hope to host your family again,

Kindest Regards,
Oseias Castro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We had a terrific honeymoon at the Pousada Picinguaba. We stayed for 8 nights in the honeymoon suite which had a wonderful view. The room was filled with orchids at all times. We went kayaking to the private beach across the way and the hotel packed us a waterproof lunch with fruit, sandwiches and water. The food at the hotel was amazing. Every night we had a different fish fresh caught from a local fisherman. Before dinner we would get a bottle of wine and sit by the fire and look out over the water. After dinner we would go inside and sit by the fire inside and have tea. The one thing the hotel could improve is getting large umbrellas for the pool area. We enjoyed the schooner trip and went with two other couples which made it more fun. We were able to tell the captain to spend more time at beaches we liked and less time at touristy beaches. We also went to Paraty for a day and went to a great restaurant Banana de Terra. It was a very nice relaxing hotel which is very good after a wedding. Every room has a hammock which is so comfortable. The hotel does a great turn down service of closing up your bed with mosquito netting each night, but we never had any problems with bugs while we were there. The staff at the hotel was perfect and so friendly. We can't say enough about the people who work there. Some people in the hotel were more active then us, but we choose to be lazier and it was perfect. Breakfast was great and they don't say it, but they will make you eggs free of charge. The breakfast was better than any breakfast we had in Rio. I recommend eating a bigger lunch as dinner is not served until 8:30 most nights. The hotel does now have internet, but try not to use it and it is really only available in the hotel lobby and part of the honeymoon suite. If you need to sleep in late with absolute quiet I would choose a different room as the honeymoon suite is near breakfast, but we were not disturbed by it. There are only 10 rooms in the hotel and usually there are only 6 or 7 occupied which allows a lot of service attention to be focused on you. The dinners outside by the pool were a highlight of the trip. Any night the weather is nice they do dinner outside. They also make their own cachaca for caipirinhas. The drive from Rio is ok, but bring food with you or eat before and bring a book because there is always traffic so assume it will be around 5 hours. It is worth the trip. The hotel is located in a state park so this town of 400 people (3 families) are the only people around for miles. It is so safe which was nice for Brazil. The hotel puts purified water in your room twice a day and they have water bottles for you as well. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, except if you are looking for a mega resort that can be found anywhere. This is a unique hotel that is luxurious in its own way and I prefer this than to the Ritz.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is the largest room and has the best room. We had internet if we stood by the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We decided to stay at Pousada Picinguaba at the end of our third visit to Brazil from United Kingdom. We knew that we would want to relax in superior surroundings after having early morning starts in both the Pantanal and the Amazon. We were not disappointed, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The bedroom and balcony were comfortable.We chose not to take part in any "activities, but other guests who did, spoke highly of them. The one area where we think there could be an improvement is the evening meal. It would be nice to have an option and if the planned "set dinner" could be advertised early in the day, then a dish from the "a la carte" menu could be chosen as an alternative.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pousada_Picinguaba, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada Picinguaba, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful words about Picinguaba and taking the time to review our hotel.
We are passionate about what we do and delighted to hear that you enjoyed the character and atmosphere of our staff.
We also appreciate your comment regarding the evening meal. In fact, we are in the process of redesigning our gastronomic offer and some exiting news will be shared soon! We will keep you posted.

Hope to welcome you again soon
All the best,
Oseias Castro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My boyfriend and I spend 4 nights here as part of a 12 day trip to Brazil and wish we could have spend so many more. We arrived on a cloudy day which turned into a very rainy one but enjoyed swimming in the pool accompanied by the tropical rain, the staff put the sauna on for us to warm up after. Nice fire and cocktails in the evening.

We were luckier with the weather for the rest of the stay and made the most of it but doing most of the activities advertised. Paraty was a real treat, schooner day simply awesome but highlight was SUP and kayaking the sea and estuaries. All of the trips were arranged by the lovely team there, nothing was too much trouble.

Food was lovely, with good service. I see previous complaints about the buffet; not quite sure what people are expecting for a small hotel but I loved all of the dishes and found it quite relaxing not to have to choose what to eat! Loads of fresh fruit and veggies and heaven for fish lovers.

Rooms are small but again not sure what people are expecting from a small place and you don't really need to spend much time in the anyway with so much else going on. Mosquito nets put up for you each night - nice touch. There were also kept very clean.

Yes its expensive but I can't think of anywhere else you can enjoy a wild beach, lush forest and be welcomed back to a warm smiling face. I would recommend this place to those with the spirit of adventure but want an upgrade from backpacking around youth hostels! Didn't get to try out the yoga or massage so think I will have to start saving again and make a trip back one day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pousada_Picinguaba, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada Picinguaba, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment.

It was such a pleasure having you at our special location and knowing that you left happy with this unique experience.
It is rewarding for all of us that you truly enjoy our concept. What you mention about the food, the rooms and the location is exactly what we want our guests to experience.
Looking forward to welcoming you again and the massage will be our treat.
Kindest Regards,

Oseias Castro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Very bad memories at Pousada Picinguaba for our honey moon in Brazil!

In winter (summer in Europe) the hotel is a little crowed and very noisy, the small swimming pool is too small and the beach too far away. We were surprised to see that the beach down in the village is polluted by sewage.

Rooms and furniture are very basic and poor bathrooms, plastic showers etc... . We loved the fish and food was correct but no more, the buffet is not our cup of tea!
Very very expensive for service given.

Do not go if you don't like mosquitoes !!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Francoisdefrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pousada_Picinguaba, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada Picinguaba, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

First and foremost, we really appreciate you took the time to share your comments about your stay with us. Our guest feedback is very important and we take it very seriously.

We are very sorry to hear that you did not have a positive and pleasant experience during your honeymoon stay in Picinguaba.
That said, we value everyone’s opinion and would like to share with you some comments based on our concept, addresing your observations.

Picinguaba’s location is unique, we are the only hotel in this incredible fishermans village sorrounded by exceptional natural setting. We are proudly at the heart of this well preserved region of natural and cultural wealth. We are not at beachfront but just a 20 minute walk away from our property you find Praia da Fazenda, a 3 km protected sandy beach…that could more than possibly find our guests enjoying it by themselves.

Our infraestructure is consistent with our philosophy, we are not about traditional luxury; the layout and decoration of our rooms and pool, which is 4,8 mts x 9,6 mts, provide the necessary confort to truly enjoy this magical place.


We are happy you enjoyed our gastronomy and dishes which are prepared only using fresh and local ingredients.

Again, we a terribly sorry that Picinguaba didn´t match your expectations. Thank you for your comments.

Kindest Regards,
Oseias Castro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubatuba hotels
Villa di Capri
#13 of 19 in Ubatuba
291 reviews
City Center
Hotel e Pousada Parque Atlantico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wembley Inn Hotel
#6 of 19 in Ubatuba
299 reviews
UPG Hotel
#4 of 19 in Ubatuba
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Picinguaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Picinguaba

Address: Rua G 130 | Vila Picinguaba, Ubatuba, State of Sao Paulo 11680-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Ubatuba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ubatuba
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ubatuba
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ubatuba
#8 Family Hotel in Ubatuba
Price Range: $138 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pousada Picinguaba 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Picinguaba overlooks a peaceful bay at the heart of the Natural Park of Serra do Mar, the tropical coastal forest running between Rio and São Paulo, about half an hour's drive south of Paraty.It is the only charming hotel in a 30km radius. It faces the sea and a 3 km-long protected sandy beach. The hotel offers (09) nine comfortable rooms all opening onto the natural surroundings and the sea, including a dream honeymoon Suite with en suite jacuzzi and a breathtaking view of the ocean. The local road stops at the beach and one has to walk the last 250m to the hotel, nestled in the forest.Everything here is attuned to the spirit of the place, with nothing to disturb nature's magic: no TV or telephone in the rooms, no Internet, no air-conditioning. This place is for you to be in a different world, the only sounds are the wind in the palm trees and the sea gently lapping the shore.Pousada Picinguaba was selected in HIP HOTELS as one of the 80 most extraordinary hotels around the world and was featured in National Geographic Stay List 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Prestigia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pousada Picinguaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Picinguaba Hotel Ubatuba
Pousada Picinguaba Ubatuba, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing