We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly local and exquisite experience”
Review of Pousada Picinguaba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pousada Picinguaba
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Ubatuba
Certificate of Excellence
Manhttan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A truly local and exquisite experience”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I am a advertising professional living in Manhattan, who traveled here on a 5 day holiday with a dear friend after a 4 day stay in Rio.

Although the accommodations at this boutique hotel are not "plush" because of its tropical climate and location, the stay here is truly a privileged experience.

The Pousada is situated just above a quaint fishing village with spectacular views of the rainforest, beaches and outlaying islands. The staff is extremely professional, and could not be more helpful or accommodating. The quality of service at this warm, charming Pousada truly rivals or surpasses that of the Four Seasons or other ultra luxury hotel accommodations, yet it is more personal and less "corporate".

The grounds themselves were lush and well-kept. There are ample areas to lounge and a outside bar where you can enjoy a caipirinha under its small awning during the occasional afternoon rainshower. Rooms are modestly sized but extremely clean, tastefully decorated and comforable. Each has a balcony and hammock to enjoy the view, and all seem to face the bay. Inside there are two cozy sitting areas that are also comfortable, modern and clean.

The food is extremely fresh and almost everything is locally-sourced. There is an a la carte menu which can be ordered from during the day; breakfast and dinners are served buffet style with many options. I was a vegetarian, and they accommodated my preferences generously. The wine cellar is stocked with both South American and European wines. Brazil is best known for their sparkling wines (versus white or red) so if the Pousada happens to have one on the list while you are there, it is a must-try.

It is perfectly possible to spend 4 days within the grounds and the village. The staff can arrange snorkeling boat trips, a paddle boarding less/tour of the nearby mangroves, or you can swim/walk to other beaches farther down the coast. I spent a few days scuba diving out of both nearby Paraty and Ubatuba. Of the two, Ubatuba had a more professional PADI dive center -- Omnimare. Book on the days when they are traveling to the farther out islands where there are larger schools of fish and more diversity. The closer islands lack much sea life -- although we did see a few spotted rays and a turtle.

There was a wide range of guests at the Pousada from all parts of the world -- from families, to honeymooners and couples -- and we made many friends. If you do visit, please ask to be introduced to the local celebrity "James Bond". You will not be disappointed.

Pousada Picinguaba is a terrific find, and highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luxxtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    36
    24
    27
    8
See reviews for
59
156
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

So pleased we found this stunning Pousada. Wonderful food, service and incredible location. It is above a little fishing village - full of locals where there are a few bars - one has Internet. It is the most beautiful place. You would be lucky to stay here!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This was just a lovely experience - and when the weather wasnt great they taught us all how to make a caprihni before dinner and lit a fire in the sitting room hearth -the pictures really do represent how it is when you get there

Room Tip: We had the honeymoon suite which has the best view in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMMorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toulouse
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

After some days working hard in Rio, what a nice place to be : rest and appreciate this lovely place (not so far from Rio).
Staff kind and helpful ... Nice and fresh food too !
A place to go whatever the reason ...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This pousada is located in a truly special and secluded place. The town itself is authentic and allowed us to experience every day life in a real and undiscovered Brazilian town. Our daughter played with the kids in town and we witnessed fishermen tending their nets and bringing their daily catch to shore to clean and sell. The hotel was perfection. It quickly felt like home. The staff was warm and friendly and the meals were delicious with impeccable views. I enjoyed the hummingbirds and other birds that surrounded the hotel and grew to love the sound of the busy birds and the ocean. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

After three weeks travelling through Brasil we ended our trip with 3 nights in Pousada Picinguabe. This proved to be an excellent decision. The pousada is very luxe and simple in a good sense at the same time. The staff was extremely friendly and helpfull. The food is 100% fresh, really amazing (you must try a mixed fruit juice !). It all comes straight from their own farm. The place is has (only) 10 rooms and dinner is served in 'familiar' setting at one time with a fixed menu/ buffet. One nigt we had diner by the pool with a view on the bay. To be honest, it will not get any better than this to our opinion. Be aware, the pousada has no internet or TV, so don't be disappointed by that. The pousada is the only pousada in this small, charming fisherman place. So don't expect buzzling activity here ! Although it is very peacefull and quiet, the staff can organise a number of activities for you and Paraty is only a half hour drive from here. For us, it was the perfect place to end our trip through Brasil !! Marin & Veronique

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veermarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pousada_Picinguaba, Communication Manager at Pousada Picinguaba, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Marin & Veronique,

Thank you so much for your comment. We are really pleased that you love your stay (and our fruit juices!!).

You will be always welcome at Picinguaba !

Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2012

What a wonderful beginning to our honeymoon! The pousada was incredibly peaceful and surrounded by stunning natural beauty. The staff was also incredibly kind and attentive. We had our best meals of our honeymoon at the pousada, and we went to Rio afterwards!

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite has a spectacular view. Wherever you stay, make sure you get the mosquito nets t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pousada_Picinguaba, Communication Manager at Pousada Picinguaba, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
From Pousada Picinguaba Staff:

"Dear guests,

It was a pleasure to have you with us.

Thank you so much for this comment.
We've shared this message with all the team and our staff was so happy to hear that!

Best,

Pousada Picinguaba Team."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubatuba hotels
Hotel Porto Di Mare
#1 of 19 in Ubatuba
271 reviews
Villa di Capri
#14 of 19 in Ubatuba
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wembley Inn Hotel
#6 of 19 in Ubatuba
275 reviews
City Center
Hotel e Pousada Parque Atlantico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Picinguaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Picinguaba

Property: Pousada Picinguaba
Address: Rua G 130 | Vila Picinguaba, Ubatuba, State of Sao Paulo 11680-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Ubatuba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ubatuba
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ubatuba
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ubatuba
#9 Family Hotel in Ubatuba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pousada Picinguaba 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Picinguaba overlooks a peaceful bay at the heart of the Natural Park of Serra do Mar, the tropical coastal forest running between Rio and São Paulo, about half an hour's drive south of Paraty.It is the only charming hotel in a 30km radius. It faces the sea and a 3 km-long protected sandy beach. The hotel offers (09) nine comfortable rooms all opening onto the natural surroundings and the sea, including a dream honeymoon Suite with en suite jacuzzi and a breathtaking view of the ocean. The local road stops at the beach and one has to walk the last 250m to the hotel, nestled in the forest.Everything here is attuned to the spirit of the place, with nothing to disturb nature's magic: no TV or telephone in the rooms, no Internet, no air-conditioning. This place is for you to be in a different world, the only sounds are the wind in the palm trees and the sea gently lapping the shore.Pousada Picinguaba was selected in HIP HOTELS as one of the 80 most extraordinary hotels around the world and was featured in National Geographic Stay List 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pousada Picinguaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Picinguaba Hotel Ubatuba
Pousada Picinguaba Ubatuba, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing