We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just one more day, again and again..”
Review of Golfinho Tropical

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Golfinho Tropical
Ranked #8 of 224 Specialty Lodging in Ubatuba
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“just one more day, again and again..”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I ended up here after a night sleeping on the beach, i got a room without reservation. I was about to stay for a night but i stayed for 4 nights because i didnt want to leave, Daryll and his family are really kind and the hostel is nice. When you go to bed and hear the sound of the ocean, you know that you are in the right place. Even if you are alone you'll have company there. They have surfboards to rent and the hostel is within a stone's throw from the beach. You are gonna feel like you are at home from the first moment. Daryll I'm glad that your son liked the surfboard. I left a swimshort there so i definitely go back someday :D ... Those days were among the best i spent in Brazil, thanks!

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    15
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
40
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I just came back from one whole week in Ubatuba. I decided to stay at the Tropical Dolphin Hostel and it was definitely the place to be! Family Hostel held by a couple of South Africans (with their two boys) who decided to come over to Ubatuba over ten years ago, they are always here to help out and give you plenty of advice to discover this beautiful Coast they know all about. For people who want to surf around, this place is really great. The Hostel is really on the beach of Pereque Acu, which is situated in a protected bay in which perfect waves come in to learn and practice surf. For the ones looking for hotter spots, just rent a bike for the time of your stay and you will find your dream spot.

Free coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits 24/7.

I highly recommend this hostel for all the ones who want to chill and move around the area. Will definitely come back in the next months

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CorentinF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Where to start! I had the most amazing time here. The hostel is run by the most friendly family I have ever met, who go out of their way to insure that you have a stay to remember! The hostel is located across the street from a very user-friendly beach with a decent surf. Surf lessons can be arranged for reasonable prices, as well as surf-board hire. The hostel is very clean and the rooms comfortable. There is a little kitchen which can be used to make food for those on a budget, but there are lots of little restaurants all in walking distance, as well as a supermarket 2 minutes up the road. Bicycles can be rented for a good price to easily get around the town or to go on bike rides along the coast (recommended). The owner, Daryll, offers guided tours to some of the most beautiful spots I have ever seen and is very knowledgeable about the surrounding area. There is a fast wireless service, as well as a computer if you need to use it. Overall a very friendly and chilled out atmosphere, that will cater to almost anybody's needs! I really recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick9329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itajuba, MG
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I went there because it was the cheapest accomodation in town. We were a group of 3 guys and just wanted to stay 2 nights - in the end we stayed a week. the rooms are ok and the hostel is well equipped. the family is very helpful and gives a lot of adwises what to do in this area. Daryll, the owner, offers guided tours which are a good opportunity to see spots you would probably miss. the hostel is well located, within a 5 min. walk you can reach a supermarket and restaurants. to get to the sea you just cross the street. we had a good time there and i really want to recommend this hostel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank fortmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We were two french girls in this hostel.
The place is very nice, just in front of the beach. The room are ok.
AND the people who work here are very nice and friendly. We had great time in this hostel and thank you!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anais M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

a really nice accomodation with a nice helpful family. I so have been there 3 nights and I was the almost the only guest there because it wasn`t peakseason. but I have been really welcomed and daryll and his wife are very friendly and will make everything to make your stay as comfortable as its possible. its just right on the beach of a calm beautiful little bay. Really nice athmosphere there and its clean, afordable and has everything you need for a pleasant stay...
I can higly recommend this place and if I find time I will return for some days...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank o alemao K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auto, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I can really recoment this nice hostel ! We were here in wintertime, so we were all alone and we could enjoy all the offers. The hostel is right in front of the beach, and there a planty of markets in the enviroment. The family is great and welcoming! We felt really home!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hasperl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubatuba hotels
5.2 mi away
Villa di Capri
Villa di Capri
#13 of 19 in Ubatuba
287 reviews
4.9 mi away
Wembley Inn Hotel
Wembley Inn Hotel
#7 of 19 in Ubatuba
278 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ubatuba Palace Hotel
Ubatuba Palace Hotel
#4 of 19 in Ubatuba
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Pousada Tribo Ubatuba Hostel
5.0 mi away
Aquarius Chales
Aquarius Chales
#106 of 224 in Ubatuba
31 reviews
4.2 mi away
Pousada Pataxo
Pousada Pataxo
#1 of 180 in Ubatuba
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golfinho Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golfinho Tropical

Property: Golfinho Tropical
Address: Avenida Governador Abreu Sodre 461 | Pereque Acu, Ubatuba, State of Sao Paulo 11680-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Ubatuba
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 224 Specialty Lodging in Ubatuba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Golfinho Tropical 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run hostel and pousada infront of the beach and have been open for 15 years. The guests are made to feel at home as we have a humble place that was built slowly over the years with a lot of blood, sweat and tears so it does have a soul to it with birds and rabbits been part of the family. .We will do our best to guide you on what ever you want to do during your stay. The hostel/pousada is in a cheap, residential eating area so you can see the true Brazilian way of life as it is compared to the down town tourist part. Bicycles are the main form of transport and there are cycle tracks that will take you all over town and to a lot of the surfing beaches. Trails, bike hire, surf boards, can be arranged by us. Only the four more expensive sea view suites are a good size with a big veranda, a hammock and table. The suite has a fridge, TV, fan and sleeps up to four people.The other rooms are smaller basic economic suites do not have all creature comforts.There are photos when booking. We have a kitchen area to use connecting to the lounge. We have 101 beaches to choose from with most of them being in a protected rain forest reserve. We take guests out on day trails to visit the rain forest and its native people. Surf boards and bikes can also be hired. The cycle track in front of the property will take you downtown and to 5 other beaches in the south. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Golfinho Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golfinho Tropical Ubatuba, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing