We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Quality Churrascaria”
Review of Barbacoa - Itaim

Barbacoa - Itaim
Ranked #21 of 38,378 Restaurants in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Brazilian, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“High Quality Churrascaria”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I have been here are two occasions over the last year and I have thoroughly enjoyed the food, service and experience on both occasions. The meal is around R$ 100 a per person and is all you can eat. There is a huge salad/cold foods bars with everything from greens, to smoked meats, sushi and fruits. In addition to this, you have the waiters coming around with various cuts of meat. I would rate this as one of the best churrascarias in the city and would recommend it to anyone looking for a higher end churrascaria.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IamLATAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    697
    289
    70
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
214 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Just amazing! Do not eat too much salad!”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Full of mouth-watering set of steaks and meat.

I'ved tried two Barbacoas in Tokyo but those locations are nothing compared to this genuine Sao Paulo HQ.

A Paulista friend of mine who treated us with this unforgettable lunch warned us beforehand that "you should not eat salad". This was true. The quality and the variations of the BBQ should be your priority and NOT the salad bar (although the salad bar DID look enticing...).

I am sure the check was pretty hefty for this impeccable lunch but I would come back to this place even if the lunch/dinner is to be paid by my small wallet!

This place will be and MUST be packed during the World Cup 2014.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skucla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sp
Level Contributor
180 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“a very nice mea house in sao paulo”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

meat places are very common in brazil, and the rodizio stile, meaning there are several pieces of meat running thru the saloon and you will be offered constantly to taste distinct flavors, as much as you can eat, is the local attraction.
this particular restaurant, in a fancy area (itaim) displays very good salads and side dishes and specially kind waiters . They also have english-speaking personnel. The wine menu is a little too expensive, so you rather go for caipirinhas. parking is complimentary with is not so common in this area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angela w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
250 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Best ''Rodízio" Barbecue in Sao Paulo”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I have tried almost all renowned barbecues in Sao Paulo and Rio, and Barbacoa is the champion. The ambiance is perfectly planned, comfortable with indirect lighting and fancy tables, though not excessively formal. Service is awesome, attentive and professional. The buffet is great, with varieties of cheese, black olive, prosciutto, salads, and much more. Between the meet, don't forget to try the Argentinian cut ''biche ancho'', by far the most tasty. Banana comes very sweet and fried at the correct point. Picanha is a must also. One of my favorite restaurants for sure!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaioDamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorocaba
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!!!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Strongly recommended!! You probably will never ever eat some steak as you can eat there. Massive and intense experience. It´s one of the most delicious places that i´ve ever been!
Incredilbe how they made my lunch became a such good memory for me and my mates. Even the smell of this place is something that makes you think you´re having a lunch or dinner from another world. I live in Brazil, but i´ve to tell that you´re not finding steaks, ambience and great service as you find there. Of course, good things in life, have the right price to pay, and it´s not cheap. But, believe me, anything can be better than this, go there e speed up your feelings and stomach, go starving ´cause you deserve it once in your life...

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barbacoa - Itaim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing