We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not at all what I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Jardins Hotel
Ranked #18 of 321 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Not at all what I expected”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Having seen many glowing reviews on Tripadvisor, I was rather hoping for a better experience than the one I got, here are the bad points.

- Slow check in, albeit we arrived early but there were LOTS of people waiting for check-in
- Dreadful lifts (only 2) which take ages
- Hopeless wifi, painfully slow and intermittently stops working
- Room is TINY, no room to open my case without it interfering with the rest of the layout
- No iron or ironing boards in the entire hotel but you can pay for their 'service', I arrived and needed a shirt ironed for going out to be told it could be around 40 minutes. I don't know what use that is to anyone that it 'could' be ready
- Old fashioned design in the corridors
- Very little noise suppression, hear everything from every angle

As to the good points - well, it is in a decent area and there are a lot of taxis, would not recommend this place though would spend a little more and get far better quality.

Room Tip: Don't specifically ask for a room away from the elevator, as I did this and got one right next t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monaco7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    759
    186
    36
    19
See reviews for
314
402
93
675
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and overall it was ok but we were disappointed with the service. The room was small but clean and adequate, the bathroom was a good size and nice to have a window in it. The bed was comfortable we had a good night's sleep. We were on the top floor and the lift was very slow. Breakfast was great-a really wide choice of food and lots of fresh fruit. We found the front desk service disappointing. We asked about taxis to the airport and how to walk to a museum and the both times we were almost ignored at the desk and didn't get a satisfactory response. We were also charged an extra 'service charge' although we had not used any 'services' and had paid in full up front. Only when we complained did it get removed from the bill with no further explanation. We had also wanted to use the spa but found it empty of water. Overall reasonable value for money in São Paulo and a good location but poor service.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank andreampearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

The breakfast is one of the best I've had in SP, the bed is comfortable, the location is great and the service excellent. However, the room is pretty small for Brazilian standards and you can hear a pin drop in the next room, so be prepared to sync your sleep cycle with your neighbors!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brunsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalhoteis, General Manager at Royal Jardins Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Brunsky,

Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback about your stay in our hotel. Your opinion is very important for us.

We hope to see you soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Lovely welcome to hotel by Fabio. He was very friendly and helpful. This is not a great hotel but I usually stay here because it is reasonably priced (this is hard to find in Sao Paulo). It is well located for my business appointments and easy access to the subway and a small supermarket nearby. The rooms are small and clean, but the walls are thin. I could hear people talking and taking showers in the neighbouring rooms and in the hallway.

The complimentary breakfast was good on the weekday mornings with a nice selection of fresh fruit, good coffee as you would expect in Brazil, toast, etc but on the Sunday they had the worst scrambled eggs I have ever seen at a breakfast buffet! I had one meal in the restaurant – very disappointing. My first choice, spaghetti bolognaise was not available, and I had penne al funghi. It was very salty and although I am not a fussy eater, I found it very bad. I did not want to eat there again. So for me, I would stay again for the convenience of the hotel’s location but choose one of the local eateries nearby for lunch or dinner.

Room Tip: Possibly higher up, to avoid street noise. Not much difference really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BusyTravellers_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalhoteis, General Manager at Royal Jardins Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback about your stay in our hotel. Your opinion is very important for us.

We hope to see you soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This establishment left a positive lasting impression with me. The staff was always very friendly and helpful. Ian, Barbara and Fabio at the front desk deserve a special mention. it was quite refreshing that they had a good command of English. I was alone in a foreign city but i never felt lost because of their help. The food was great. my only challenge was that the restaurant menu doesnt have a wide selection, which can be routine if you stay for long periods and dont want to eat out. the gym is ok, but can be improved with modern equipment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyLoeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalhoteis, General Manager at Royal Jardins Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback about your stay in our hotel. Your opinion is very important for us.

We hope to see you soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

After a handful of trips to SP and being rather disappointed with the lodging situation in this city I finally have found a rather decent hotel where I can stay. It is very close from my offices in Av. Paulista, it's surrounded by tons of restaurants...

My only complaint so far is regarding their fitness center. It is very very small. If just two people are in there, it gets uncomfortable...

Room Tip: I tend to stay away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KinoM_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalhoteis, General Manager at Royal Jardins Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback about your stay in our hotel. Your opinion is very important for us.

We hope to see you soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The room is rather small. Breakfast is good. It is a very good option if you want to be near Avenida Paulista. There are plenty of restaurant options in the neighbourhood. Including Starbucks. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Jardins
Melia Paulista
Melia Paulista
#34 of 321 in Sao Paulo
1,782 reviews
Bela Vista
Maksoud Plaza
Maksoud Plaza
#36 of 321 in Sao Paulo
2,073 reviews
Jardins
Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardins
InterContinental Sao Paulo
InterContinental Sao Paulo
#4 of 321 in Sao Paulo
1,552 reviews
Jardins
Estanplaza Paulista
Estanplaza Paulista
#32 of 321 in Sao Paulo
899 reviews
Bela Vista
Mercure Sao Paulo Paulista
Mercure Sao Paulo Paulista
#37 of 321 in Sao Paulo
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Jardins Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Jardins Hotel

Property: Royal Jardins Hotel
Address: Alameda Jau 729 | Jardins, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Jardins
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Sao Paulo
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
#24 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
#27 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
#37 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Jardins Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Jardins Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Jardins Hotel Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing