We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful dining”
Review of Mani

Mani
Ranked #53 of 38,608 Restaurants in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Brazilian, Seafood, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Jardins
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We went there as a couple and we loved it! The atmospere is relaxed and busy at the same time. The service is also realy nice. But it is all about the the food which is full of flavor, well balanced with great texture. We took the 4 course menu with a selection of wines en enjoyed it very much. We paid about R$ 550 and we had a great time at Mani. Thanks for that.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,763 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,151
    395
    152
    40
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“had to try one of the best in world list”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Was highly recommended by my hotel since it was on a few review list as one of the best restaurants in the world. I had the filet mignon and my date had beef cheeks. I had steaks during my week in Sao Paulo so I am comparing it to Varanda Grill supposedly the best steak house in SP and Rubaiyat which has its own farm where I had rib eye kobe. I was expecting Michelin level experience since it is on the list one of the best in the world so I had high expectations. In terms of steak, it was very good but the other two were better but I had kobe at the other two. I tasted my date's dish beef checks which was my first time. It had the same texture as ox tail I think, very soft. Overall it was a very good experience and service was very attentive.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcc376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olesa de Montserrat, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Extraordinary”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Went there for business dinner. Catalan chef Dani Redondo makes a wonderful combination of tropical flavours, unforgettable meal. Congrats to be on top 50! Enhorabona Dani!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pep A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
743 reviews
366 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“Excellent food, ambiance that needs some restoration”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Excellent fusion food, light, imaginative, very good service. However, the tables and furnitute, chairs, too simple and uncomfortable for the quality the kitchen demands. The owner should seriously think about modernizing the premises, so that customers could be more comfortably seated.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carlosmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,046 helpful votes
“Traveller's Choice...Really?????”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Did I missed something here? Did I go to the same place as everyone else?

Admittedly I am not a foodie and cringe at places that try to over-invent (e.g. Dom). As such, the Ming Dynasty 1000-year eggs and ostrich feathered capivara pate parfait would never rate high on my list.

The room was nothing impressive. Tables too close to one another and too small. The thatched roof and rustic ambience was ok, but nothing outstanding, certainly not more than two stars. The servers were adequate...no more than two stars. It was as if they were doing a favor serving you.

I would like to have given this place a one star just to draw attention to the my outrage, but honestly couldn't classify the place as terrible. Poor is just fine. Traveller's Choice...no way!

Was this helpful? Please let me know.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Knownews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mani also viewed

 
Sao Paulo, SP
 

Been to Mani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing