We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mani

Mani
Ranked #45 of 38,123 Restaurants in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Brazilian, South American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Jardins
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
126 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Maní has a distinctive character. It's quite simple, but sophisticated. It's modern, but food reminds the old times. Staff is young and informal - it's good! -, and the cuisine is very creative. From the "ovo perfecto", an incredible slow-boiled egg, to the desserts, you will have many options to indulge yourself. A great place!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alvares-da-Silva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,054
    356
    138
    36
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Contemporary Brazilian cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Excellent food, creative and delicious but rather expensive. Interesting restaurant with a nice, cozy atmosphere and good service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LanYin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
98 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Amazing food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

The food here are so pretty and so delicious. The presentation is very spectacular. We have the egg which supposedly to be cook in 2 and half hours and that came out really good. I wonder what did they do so it didn't overcooked the egg. The egg is still tender after 2 and half hour. The lamb is also super tender. The place is quite expensive.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank globalroadies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“easy all-time top 5 meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Spectacular: multi-Michelin star quality food. We had the seasonal menu, incredible. My knowledge of Brazilian cuisine is pretty limited, this is apparently an original take on the traditional. Things seared into my memory - the foie gras bonbon which was part of a gorgeous tryptich starter. The shot of tommy soup + bits & the crisp with a sliver of meat on were also awesome but it was the bonbon that had me moaning and groaning, heavenly. Amazing rice and prawn: a paella-ish risotto comfortably outstripping any paella or risotto I've ever had (bar mums kedgeree). The key moment for me (I've skimmed tons of ledgendary awesomeness already) was the beef with banana consomme. I can only equate my level of taste excitement to 8 year old JD's first visit to New York: the first time I ever had bacon and maple syrup... orgasmic. If you're in Sao Paulo just don't miss going to this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HighburyJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One word .. Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Awesome. Had the 5 course tasting menu with wine ... And friends from Sao Paulo.

Highly recommend. While expensive, worth the price for the unique gourmet experience

Helpful?
Thank alecjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mani also viewed

 

Been to Mani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing