We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good churrascheria, the price is too high...”
Review of Fogo De Chao

Fogo De Chao
Ranked #77 of 38,384 Restaurants in Sao Paulo
Cuisines: Barbecue, Brazilian, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Milano
Level Contributor
233 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Good churrascheria, the price is too high...”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I know several churrascherias in Sao Paulo, those of the chain Fogo do Chao are definitely above average quality, but the price is really a bit high ....
Good meat, cuts are always well selected, the buffet is varied and of good quality, the service impeccable, the room decorated tastefully.
Recommended for business dinners or couples "big night" :-)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,092 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,292
    597
    146
    41
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Blahhh -Disappointing”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I read the comments on Tripadvisor so I decided to go to this place with a few friends who were visiting from abroad.

Seriously, I was disappointed. To start with, the salad/hot food bar was very poor. You get more variety at any random per weight restaurant at Itaim bibi or other neighborhoods (you would not even pay 1/3 of the price you pay here though). They had some greens (not a lot, just lettuce, arugula and some other plant), some very basic charcuterie, smoked salmon and very basic cheeses, some vegetables cooked separately with little inspiration (the asparagus was so bad), sun dried tomatoes, olives... that was about it. Then they had rice and beans. Nothing more. Other churrascarias have soooo much more to offer.

Ok, I can't comment on the meat because I don't eat meat, but my friends were not crazy about it, and they are all meat lovers. They said it was ok, but they were expecting greater variety.

Now, back to my comments, the servers are so poorly trained. For a restaurant that is supposedly fancy, these guys do everything wrong. It is hard to concentrate on your conversation because there are literally 3 guys standing around you, watching your every move. Then I noticed that they were too pushy to get you to order drinks. It was too obvious that they were doing what they were doing just for the tips, and it was so annoying.

We paid 109 reais for the rodizio, plus the drinks (which were expensive), plus 10% tip. It was about 160 each, with a glass of basic wine and water.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maria123T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma, Italia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place to eat wonderful meat at a resonable price”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I was twice in this churrasqueria and I have to admit that it was one of the best steak restaurant of my life.
The service was very good and quick, the meat simply marvelous and the price ok. I suggest you not to eat the salad and the appetizer , not becvause they are not good, but in order to eat only the gold part of the dinner: meat, meat, meat. But do not take pork or chicken (again not because they are not good) but simply rind. It is amazing and yuo can eat as much as you can with a flat price! I will never forget

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paolobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
Level Contributor
160 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Not only meat”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

While theme reputation is for meat, Fogo also has one of the best salad bars anywhere. The presentation is excellent and the choice phenomenal. Of course once the salad is over the selection of grilled meats is amazing. It would be almost impossible not to overindulge here. While this is not an inexpensive evening out, if you are in the mood for a serious meat overdose, this is the place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excelent”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The best option to get a good barbecue. Different type of cutes, salad bar and good drinks available. It is expense but you get a real barbecue.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RicMiranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fogo De Chao also viewed

 

Been to Fogo De Chao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing