We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If the sofa is old, figure out the rest” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of WZ Hotel Jardins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
WZ Hotel Jardins
Ranked #123 of 322 Hotels in Sao Paulo
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“If the sofa is old, figure out the rest”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Although this hotel is ina superb location in Sao Paulo, as soon as you enter the lobby you will notice that it is almost a trave in time - you are back in the sixties or seventies.
Sofas at the lobby are so old, that some are even rotten, torn.
Convention rooms are not accessible by the elevator, so you have to use the stairs.
Everything is old... really old.

The team is the good part of it, but there are plenty of better options all around.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MAldrigui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    299
    188
    67
    41
See reviews for
76
80
46
395
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coimbra, Portugal
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Although the exterior and the hotel reception look like 3rd world hotel, the room that I got was pretty good, considering previous evaluations. My recommendation is that you keep your eyes closed in the hotel lobby.
Need improvements!

Room Tip: Pick the Lofts, they are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorbertoVEloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Well where shall i start:...

1. Took me 40 minutes to check in
2. Hotel is directly at a big Avenue, very noisy and I was on the 22nd floor. The windows very old like the entire hotel.
3. Elevator takes very long and stopped 2 times while going up without pressing a button.
4. Hotel floors smells the whole time like a barbecue party
5. The internet in the room has a very weak signal, very slow with lots of disconnecting times and you have to pay BRL 10 for 24 hrs in addition to the already overpriced rooms in this old hotel.
6. The TV is so small that it is hard to watch a movie at night.
7. I made a reservation for a double bed and they gave me a room with 2 single beds and did not wanted to exchange the room but charged me the same price. The single bed is so small that you have to be careful not to fall out while you sleep.
8. The hotel staff is not friendly but as well not unfriendly, sort of neutral but not really paying attention to the customer.
9. The bar, so called garden bar is a joke, they only have 2 cocktail to offer - one is the well known caipirinha.
10. You need to pay for the entire stay up front so you have no chance to check out a day or so earlier because it will be very difficult to get your money back.

I would not recommend this hotel at all. I even spoke to Brazilian guests and they told me without my intervention that they are very disappointed.

One good point! The location.

Room Tip: choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cosmopolitan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sao Paulo hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Funny that at the lobby a sign states "Lorena Hotel, the best option to stay in São Paulo". This is the ultimate joke. Management tries to keep it clean which in the end is the only remarkable thing on this hotel. Other than that the whole structure needs a deep and strong upgrade. Everything is old, elevator, lighting and when you get to the room, well it's like experiencing a time travel episode: everything looks from the 60's, not that it's a bad thing. It's a bad thing when they have used it ever since and still think it is presentable for a guest paying almost 200 USD per night.

Next joke is the so called wifi. I could only access it if I stood next to the room's door and holding my computer at my chin's height while standing up. Don't even think about sitting in the bed or on the room's ancient sofa. Signal won't even think there is air on that area so waves can propagate. Still they charge a fee for this crappy service.

Air conditioning is noisy but considering the bad sound proof the 50 year old windows provided, it became a sort of noise canceling system. Can't imagine if São Paulo really had a chilly winter...you'll find more cozy spaces in an Iglu.

I know this review is a bit harsh but I seriously think the management should be aware of the poor quality of their hotel and do something about it, instead of promoting it as the best option in town.

Room Tip: Check other hotel's rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elkebeq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

This hotel has a nice aspect, seems to be great, with awesome service. But it's not true...

I was on SP for business, and i didn't book a hotel...tremendous mistake. It was hard to find some room, many hotels were at full capacity. But Lorena saved me...

The room (called by staff "studio") is clean, neat and..small. The bathroom is regular: good water pressure, no windows (but it has a good exaustion system)...but there is sludge in the shower. Beside this, the bathroom is really small...

The service, again, is mediocre. Some staff members are fine, very polite...others are not so nice, and many of them don't help when is needed.

WORST thing: the Internet (if you consider that the hotel has Internet). They CHARGE for internet, and the conection is awful...i couldn't connect for 3 hours, and the staff of Lorena had the audacity of ask me to talk with the internet support, to solve my problem. They didn't give attention, and i couldn't read my emails...sad !

The garage is fine, and location either: but prepare yourself, the hotel is on an important and very NOISY avenue...

The cost-benefit is not so good, so I recommend Lorena only in case of emergency or if you need to stay on its place around (after all, traffic is a SERIOUS problem in SP)...

Room Tip: If you want to book, call from 8am to 6pm...incredibly, the booking service only work at commercial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wesley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bursa, Turkey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

I have chosen this hotel because of its reasonable price and proximity to the convention center where our congress would be held. My wife was accompanying me and we liked the room we have given on 25th floor. The region could be considered safe and also close to one of the main shopping street, walking distance to subway.
The first night we found everything swimming in our room because of a broken pipe after a long day and they suddenly changed our room.
We are grateful to the two guys in the front desk, very helpful for anything. Breakfast was repeating itself and on 3rd day we got bored.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anatomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

Stayed here for business, had a room (2509) on top floor. A large room, and was pretty clean if not too well maintained. Front desk staff were very helpful in my experience, but according to others their helpfulness was spotty. Room service meals were pretty awful, housekeeping was erratic, but I had the sense the hotel really did want to please. And the location is truly great, right next to great shopping, restaurants, an the university. All in all next time I'd look for a better place to stay, but this place was tolerable.

Room Tip: upper floors are nice, but the elevators are slow to get there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy98110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Jardins
Mercure Sao Paulo Jardins Hotel
Jardins
Quality Suites Oscar Freire
Quality Suites Oscar Freire
#96 of 322 in Sao Paulo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Jardins
Melia Paulista
Melia Paulista
#29 of 322 in Sao Paulo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardins
Ibis Budget Sao Paulo Jardins
Ibis Budget Sao Paulo Jardins
#137 of 322 in Sao Paulo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,803 reviews
Jardins
Ibis Paulista
Ibis Paulista
#46 of 322 in Sao Paulo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,762 reviews
Jardins
Royal Jardins Hotel
Royal Jardins Hotel
#17 of 322 in Sao Paulo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WZ Hotel Jardins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WZ Hotel Jardins

Property: WZ Hotel Jardins
Address: Avenida Reboucas 955 | Jardins, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 05401-100, Brazil (Formerly Lorena Hotel)
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Jardins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 322 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — WZ Hotel Jardins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The WZ Hotel Jardins, is located in the heart of Jardins neighborhood, between Oscar Freire Street and Alameda Lorena. Only few minutes from the financial center of Sao Paulo, Paulista Avenue and opposite the Reboucas Convention Center. Easy access to the main convention center and sights of the city. The WZ Jardins non-smoking free, with 338 renovated rooms, with soundproof windows and 08 meeting rooms. We offer free Wi-Fi and breakfast. The hotel offers 24-hour room service and cover parking. We are just, 10 km from Congonhas Airport, 32km from Guarulhos International Airport and 100km from Viracopos Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your WZ Hotel Jardins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
WZ Hotel Jardins Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing