We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good VALUE for MONEY, i really recommend.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Transamerica Classic Opera
Ranked #171 of 328 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Reviewed July 16, 2014

It was a brilliant stay, i really recommend, it is very located, many restaurants around and bars, so close to Avenida Paulista. Breakfast is ok, Staff are very polite and helpful. The style is a bit old fashion however,very comfortable.

Room Tip: The room face off back street are the best one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DaniloMaciel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Classic Opera, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear Mr. Danilo,
We were extremely pleased to receive you and to know that cared for you with all the dedication required.
It's great to receive recognition for the care of our team and to meet the needs and expectations during the time you were with us.
Know that you are always welcome and that the expect you on future opportunities!

Relationship - Transamerica Hospitality Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 15 of 159 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

stayed in this hotel for a week back in August 2013.
rooms are actually like mini-suites with a living room and a mini-kitchenet (actually just fridge, water kettle and a sink).
rooms was recently renovated and generally, ok, its seams they saved on high cost of wash room renovations and this part of the is dated and not very nice.
breakfast service was basic brazlian style breakfast. nothing too luxouriois. at a certain point we got tired of it and went to a very small but nice place for some pao de queijo and coffee.

surrounding area is great with many fun place to go out for dinner at night.

recommended for people wishing to stay in Jardins area, just in the center of things and with a reasonable price.

Room Tip: we noticed not all rooms were made equal. some are nicer and more modern than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tzd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Classic Opera, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Sir,
We are very happy to welcome you and to know that you enjoy our infrastructure, facilities and services.
It is very nice to receive compliments, knowing that we offered a pleasant stay and that you recommend the hotel in the city. We emphasize that feedback from our customers collaborate to continuous improvements and we hope to welcome you increasingly better in future opportunities!

Relationship - Transamérica Hospitality Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This used to be a prime hotel. Have been staying there regularly for over 2 decades. But my recent visit was very unpleasant. Despite an apparent fairly recent attempt at renovations, the suites still look worn down and outdated. The manager was extremely rigid about what had always been flexible check-in and check-out rules and, most importantly, the internet service was dysfunctional to erratic at best. Since I work partly from the hotel when in SP, this cost me a lot of valuable time and energy. I will not stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ProfessoraSonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Classic Opera, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Ms. Sonia,
We appreciate your comments. We work continuously to improve and to better serve all customers, so your opinion is very important to us. We will analyze our internet speed and even though we have recently gone through renovations, we regret not to have met your expectations.
We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you again in future stays in the city.

Relationship - Transamerica Hospitality Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This was my first stay in this hotel but i certainly will return. The rooms/apartments are very comfortable with a lounge/dinning area, small fully equipped kitchen, large bedroom with walk in closet and large roomy bathroom.
Air conditioning is found in the bedroom and the bed was comfortable and the linen very clean and crispy. Bathroom was clean with nice big shower and bidet. A small balcony was to be found in the lounge.
Each room/apartment has internet connection, large flat screen TV in the lounge and flat screen TV in the bedroom. Cable TV is available as is a safe in the walk in closet. The rooms/apartments are all with wooden flooring and clean..no allergies from dirty carpets. One small drawback is the carpeting in the passages leading to the rooms which has seen its day but I was told that they are busy renovating these areas.
Breakfast was very adequate and diverse with American, European and Brazilian specialties. Staff in the restaurant were very friendly as were the staff at the reception area. They were also very helpful and although the Hotel is in an upmarket suburb they did give me tips on what to wear and not to wear should I want to explore the surroundings. There are numerous bars and restaurants situated around the Hotel so an evening out is no problem. Surrounding area was quiet and very green with many tree lined avenues...a very nice area to be in.

Room Tip: Good value for your money considering how expensive Sao Paulo hotels are in general.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohannesDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Classic Opera, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your comments and we were pleased to know that you have already stayed with us before and that you like our location and surrounding area, with many facilities near the hotel. We hope to see you again soon.

Transamérica Classic Ópera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We have stayed in this aparthotel twice in the past 7 years. The location is good and safe. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. They couldn't have been better. The room was functional and clean. However this time we chose the hotel because of the advertised availability of wifi which we needed for our business. Unfortunately the wifi is very weak and undependable. In this age of powerful routers and transmitters this is unacceptable. The minibar was a complete rip-off in its high prices, unlike any of the other Brazilian hotels that we stayed in. Every afternoon we were disturbed by someone knocking on our door to replenish the minibar which we hadn't used. Can't understand why this couldn't be done at the same time that the room was being cleaned. Despite its faults we'd stay here again! Breakfast is very good too.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peadarsean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your comments, they allow us to know the opinions of our clients and contribute towards improving the quality of the services we offer. We apologize for the inconvenience caused due to the intermittent internet signal, which is not sufficient for online conferences or to download large files. Regarding the prices of the mini bar items, they are in line with hotels of the same category on the market and the replenishment of the products needs to be done during the housekeepers’ working hours. As for the rest, we are pleased to know that our employees were able to offer you an excellent stay, and that you have stayed with us for quite some time. We hope to see you again soon. Transamérica Classic Ópera.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Hotel is located around 4 blocks from Paulista avenue and 2 blocks from Oscar Freire street, that is, in the overpriced luxury shopping district. If you’re in for buying, specially clothing, you’re in the right place. Also, there are many fine restaurants, bookstores and supermarkets nearby.

Rooms are big – actually, a small flat, with bedroom, walk-in closet, living room, bathroom, kitchen and balcony. A little updating on the design would be nice, though all was very comfortable.

Breakfast is included, but I skipped it, so I can’t say how it was. Fast and free wi-fi and valet parking.

All in all, a great location and a big and nice room. Recommmended.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Savonarola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your comments. We are pleased to know that you like our location, surrounding area and infrastructure. The opinion of our clients is very important for continuous improvement. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Transamérica Classic Ópera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2011

Great location in the heart of this beautiful district. While the accommodations are simple, they are adequate. The staff were all like an up-scale concierge. Breakfast was good. Room was clean, but outdated. The value is worth it!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kfrobertsSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your comments and we are pleased to know that you like our location and surrounding area and are even more satisfied in knowing that our employees showed the hospitality that is an important part of our brand, making your stay even more enjoyable.
We hope to welcome you again.

Transamérica Classic Ópera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Jardins
Quality Suites Oscar Freire
Quality Suites Oscar Freire
#87 of 328 in Sao Paulo
826 reviews
Jardins
Transamerica Executive Bela Cintra
Itaim Bibi
Transamerica Classic La Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardins
Mercure Sao Paulo Jardins Hotel
Jardins
Matiz Manhattan
Matiz Manhattan
#93 of 328 in Sao Paulo
227 reviews
Transamerica Classic Victoria
#176 of 328 in Sao Paulo
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Transamerica Classic Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Transamerica Classic Opera

Address: Alameda Lorena 1748, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01424-006, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Jardins
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 328 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Price Range: $82 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Transamerica Classic Opera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Transamerica Classic Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Transamerica Classic Opera Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing