We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and good location”
Review of Hotel Joamar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Joamar
Ranked #234 of 327 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The hotel is centrally located in a nice pedestrian street with plenty of shops, restaurants and stalls. Very few foreign tourists in the area (in three days I only saw one Japanese tourist). The area seemed OK safe for me. Plenty of armed police around.

Convenient location if you're coming from the GRU airport. Get off at the Republica plaza and walk to the opposite corner of the plaza and you're almost there.

Room was fine. Fine bed, a table, two chairs, wardrobe, space adequate, poorly lit bathroom. Cold water only .. probably my own fault; couldn't figure out how to switch on the hot water.

Quite strong, continious noise from some engines outside in the backyard. A bit annoying. But closing the window it didn't ruin my sleep.

Breakfast (0700-1000) was quite all right but nothing special.

WiFi worked fine.

No one in the reception speak English.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gits85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 9 of 141 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

Spent 2 nights at the Joamar, and that was enough for me. I will say the it was not the hotel’s fault, it’s just that the area it is in is not one I would want to return to. The hotel itself was good. It was a good price, very clean, super friendly staff and decent breakfast. The area though was rough, and even the front desk clerk warned us not to bring our bags with us and to just tuck our money down our shirts. During the day it was ok, but as soon as it starts getting dark, it seems like the whole area changes into somewhere I don’t want to be around. Too bad as the hotel really was good.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Perfectly adequate little hotel about two blocks from the Galeria do Rock. Getting a cab for an early Sunday morning flight turned out to be harder than expected, but no complaints otherwise. I would stay there again if we make it back to SP.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kittyamericana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

I absolutely enjoyed my stay at Joamar - great location, nice and cosy room, friendly staff. I could really recommend it to anyone searching a rather cheap but qualitative stay in Sao Paulo! I didn't even have any bad expierience with the surrounding area, so I cannot confirm some of the previous postings.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank niuvois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Stayed at this hotel three times and it's always been great. It's close to the subway, but the surroundings are not the best - it's dangerous to wakl around at night. The rooms are clean and comfortable, with mini fridge and TV. Breakfast was good. The only problem I had on the last time I stayed at the hotel was the reservation - they booked a room for the wrong day, so when I got there, there was no reservation. The hotel had avalable rooms, so the problem was solved. It's just better to reconfirm.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yura_yuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2009

The hotel itself was great for the price, not exactly high end but luxury for a couple of backpackers! Nice buffet breakfast. The area is a pedestrian shopping street, a bit dodgy and seedy after dark, theres lots of sex shops and stalls and plenty of shady people wandering round. It's no real reason not to stay there just don't take valuables out and keep your wits about you and you'll be fine, we didn't have any troubles. Wouldn't stay there for more than a few days though.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wateladze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2009

The attractive facade to the building belies a rather plan, no frills interior but the rooms are clean, the breakfast plentiful, if uneventful, and the price and the location - close to the Praca de Republica (with the underground, airport bus office and excellent Sunday market - miles better than anything Rio has to offer) - can't be beaten.

The area feels a little dodgy after dark but actually puts me in mind of the rough end of Oxford St (by Tottenham Court Road tube) i.e. it's not that bad and on one occasion we were advised by two mendigos (street people) to take care of our bag, which just goes to show how you shouldn't judge people by apprearances.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steenie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Republica
Plaza Hotel
Plaza Hotel
#237 of 327 in Sao Paulo
120 reviews
Hotel Columbia
#167 of 327 in Sao Paulo
123 reviews
Hotel Internacional Sao Paulo
#239 of 327 in Sao Paulo
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Natal
#298 of 327 in Sao Paulo
121 reviews
Republica
Republica Park Hotel
Republica Park Hotel
#192 of 327 in Sao Paulo
174 reviews
Nobilis Hotel
#178 of 327 in Sao Paulo
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Joamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Joamar

Address: Rua Dom Jose de Barros 187 | Centro, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01038-100, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Republica
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 327 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Price Range: $31 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Joamar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Joamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Joamar Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing