We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cafe Hostel
Ranked #14 of 554 Specialty Lodging in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

We spent like 5 nights there and we had a great time. The Place has a very chill atmosphere and even Yoga in the evening sometimes :) The service is great and the place is clean. What makes this place the most amazing is the people there. Like also said the guests often chill together and having a good time because the place is very compact. The only minus in my review is that the rooms have no AC.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joprei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    49
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
16
48
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

A great, relaxed and friendly vibe. I've stayed at 100s of hostels and this is one of my favourites. The staff were super helpful, the breakfast incredible and the location very close to the metro and many bars made a big difference. Also little things like fast wifi and a power outlet and lamp for each bed. Looking forward to coming back soon :)

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Briffaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Had a great stay at this hostel! My friend and I had an overnight flight from Peru and were exhausted as we entered their for at 7am. They gave us a bed right away, no talk about the 1pm check-in as in many other hostels. The breakfast- buffet was the best I'we had during my 4 month trip, and they have high speed wifi. Easy access to the metro which takes you all around town! Highly recommended!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

This is a very nice hostel. It is clean with a nice bright atmosphere. The staff were friendly and very helpful. It is short train ride from the city centre in a nice suburb with shops, bars & clubs nearby.
Unfortunately despite the name you wont find an Espresso machine here!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

i couldn´t have wished for a better place to stay while exploring s.paulo and getting the vibes of how life goes in brazil. very helpful and nice staff, always friendly and they made me feel like they were really glad to have me there! found new friends and can´t wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna-Lotta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

My partner stayed here for 3 nights in total. the first one was spent in a twin room with shared bathroom and the following 2 in a double room with private bathroom.

Both rooms were very clean with comfortable beds but unfortunately both rooms had the same problem - no air con and the ceiling fans really didn't do anything to cool the rooms down. It was a little uncomfortable to be honest

The shared bathroom was very clean and the showers good.

The hostel has a lovely chilled out vibe and the staff are very helpful.

We did our laundry here for a very reasonable price.

Despite the name this hostel is not a cafe! the only things on offer are beer, soft drinks and pot noodles but that was fine for me.

The location of the hostel is good, only 5 mins walk from the metro which can take you down town and there are also many eateries and a couple of supermarkets within walking distance.

Breakfast was included and was good, consisting of fruit, home made cake and bread and cheese for you to make a toasted sandwich and coffee.

Likes:

Atmosphere
Location
Cleanliness

Dislikes/room for improvement

IT'S TOO HOT!! please invest in some air con and the place would be perfect

Overall I would recommend this place if air con is installed or if it's a cooler time of year!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cantwait2holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

I stayed there for two days.
I been surprise to see how it was a clean guest house !!

The dormitory are surprisingly not supply by Air conditioning.. I do not understand why.. they use some Noisy Fan which disturb our sleep.

Other than this, the location is good, just few walking step from a subway station.
There is no much to do around this area.
We paid about Us $ 18 which is not bad but I do think that they Should invest into Air Conditioning system.

I would rate this place 7/10

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Viva Hostel Design
#7 of 554 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Pinheiros
Sampa Hostel
Sampa Hostel
#15 of 554 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Consolacao
Bee.W Hostel
Bee.W Hostel
#5 of 554 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Hostel
#6 of 554 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Jardins
The Hostel Paulista
The Hostel Paulista
#13 of 554 in Sao Paulo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Pinheiros
O de Casa Hostel
O de Casa Hostel
#29 of 554 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cafe Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cafe Hostel

Property: Cafe Hostel
Address: Rua Agisse _ Vila Madalena 152 | Next to the Vila Madalena Subway Station, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 05439-010, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 554 Specialty Lodging in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cafe Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Clearly the work of other travelers', a guest wrote. The idea of Cafe Hostel was born when Rogerio and Cesar, two friends who, together, have traveled five continents, decided to create a space for travelers in their favorite part of Sao Paulo, inspired by the best hostels they had seen throughout their travels. Cafe Hostel provides you with everything you could possibly need: superb location in Vila Madalena neighborhood (only 5 minutes from the metro station), bright and clean rooms, XL-beds, individual lockers, a fully equipped common kitchen, free Wi-Fi, laundry service, delicious free breakfast buffet and, of course, a cup of cafe. Stay on Monday for movie night, Tuesday for yoga classes and Wednesday is Forro-Night (traditional Brazilian dance). All for free and followed by a free soup dinner. On weekend there's always an event happening. Keep up-to-date on upcoming events on our Facebook page! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Cafe Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cafe Hostel Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing