We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't stay more central....”
Review of Mama Brasil Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mama Brasil Hostel
Ranked #16 of 568 Specialty Lodging in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You can't stay more central....”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

....for that pricing!
The Mama Brasil is the perfect spot to explore Sao Paulos cultural and nocturnal highlights. It is situated in walking distance to Avenida Paulista, Rua Augusta and Green Line station "Trianon/MASP". It is very new, clean, safe and has great mattresses. And considering the distance to those vibrating areas it is amazingly quiet.
The staff is very friendly and capable of helping you around in that madhouse called Sao Paulo. As far as I experienced staff speaks Portuguese, Spanish and German (!). But I guess it speaks English to, I just didn't hear anyone doing so :-)

Some tiny flaws to balance my praise: The dormitory are pretty cramped and I fear that, once the place is really crowded, bathrooms could be scarce. But, hey, it is one of the biggest towns on that planet! I think people have to cope with what room they got! I'll definitely come back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    50
    18
    9
    6
See reviews for
8
31
68
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My most important criteria for booking into a hostel is cleanliness and Brazilian hostels aren't exactly known for their flawless sanitation. So I dared venture into this rather new establishment. To my astonishment this hostel really surprised me with its sparkling clean sinks, taps and showers - better than at many European hotels I have stayed at.

Another really positive experience was the warm way one is greeted at first, in nearly any language you feel comfortable with. English, Portuguese, German, Spanish, Italian. Also if you are new to Sau Paulo, they will know everything there is to know about the city and beyond. Passionately spending much time to help you plan your travel route throughout Brazil if you wish.

And yes, a new hostel comes with new mattresses, beds and newly renovated rooms for you to feel nearly at home. Last but not least the food was delicious and tasty, the chef doing a superb job.

If you visit Sao Paulo, go here, to Mama Brasil. Had a great time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed in mama brazil with my French wife on our around the world trip for a week! The hostel was awesome, clean, with great and dynamic young staff! Seriously, they just opened up so obviously lack great reviews, which will come in no time, so stay with them. Besides, the hostel is perfectly located, and the charming German girl running the reception gives you a nice warm smile when you enter. We cannot recommend the hostel more, bisous, Perrine & Lukas

Room Tip: Talk to Mira
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lukas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I am super happy to have been at this Hostel. Everything was perfect from start to finish. I arrived early and was able to leave my things and the guy at the reception already gave me all his attention. He supplied me with a guidebook, a map and heaps of information. After a long day walking through the historic center (ye, just 20 minutes by foot from the place, and your there!) it was so nice to arrive back to a place that was clean, welcoming and so full of life! The night was spent with caipirinhas, beers, pasta and a lot of laughter as well as cuddles with the owners pet cockatoo who was hopping around freely. I only stayed one night because I did not expect Sao Paulo to have so much to see, that would be my only regret. Otherwise, thumbs up, great job!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meluna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is a really good place to stay! Don't be put off by the lack of reviews; it is only because the hostel has only been open a few weeks so the positive reviews have yet to fly in (and they will). I found out about this place after over-hearing somebody else praising it when I was in another hostel in Parity, so decided to check it out. And I'm glad I did.

As it's so recently opened, everything is spanking brand new and clean. Big, comfy mattresses which haven't had thousands of travellers sleeping on them; spotless and clean bathrooms (and several of them, so no queuing); and a nice kitchen. Breakfast is included in the price - something j noticed several hostels didn't offer on Sao Paulo - and is great: cereal, ham, cheese, bread, tea, coffee, juice. All you need.

The location is really good; in a safe neighbourhood about 5 minutes walk from Paulista Avenue and the Metro, and about 20-25 minutes walk to the town where all the main tourist attractions are located.

And to top it all off, the owners and staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. They won't hesitate to spend time with you, helping you plan where to visit, or just chatting away. And they speak great English - always helpful if Portuguese isn't your strong point!

Finally, if you time it right, the owners' pet Cockatoo bird may pay a visit when you're there. And if you let it sit on your shoulder, you may be unlucky enough (or lucky enough - they say it's good luck!) to have it poo on your shoulder! Thanks! :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Trav0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Cosy, clean and welcoming, Mama Brasil is the essential stop-over for any adventure in Sao Paulo (and beyond). The location is spot on and the facilities are brand new and well-maintained. And the team is young and enthusiastic, so what more could you want! Thank you for a wonderful time, I will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Bela Vista
H3 Hotel Paulista
H3 Hotel Paulista
#39 of 321 in Sao Paulo
552 reviews
Consolacao
Ibis Budget Sao Paulo Paulista
Jardins
The Hostel Paulista
The Hostel Paulista
#10 of 568 in Sao Paulo
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Consolacao
Bee.W Hostel
Bee.W Hostel
#6 of 568 in Sao Paulo
394 reviews
Bela Vista
Pauliceia Hostel
Pauliceia Hostel
#17 of 568 in Sao Paulo
266 reviews
Bela Vista
Pousada dos Franceses
Pousada dos Franceses
#18 of 568 in Sao Paulo
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama Brasil Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama Brasil Hostel

Property: Mama Brasil Hostel
Address: Rua Itapeva 88, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01332-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Bela Vista
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 568 Specialty Lodging in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mama Brasil Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and HostelWorld so you can book your Mama Brasil Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mama Brasil Hostel Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing