We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Especially good when they are serving soup on a cold night”
Review of O Gato Que Ri

O Gato Que Ri
Ranked #236 of 38,322 Restaurants in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Brazilian, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Republica
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Especially good when they are serving soup on a cold night”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is the first restaurant I tried when I first came to Brazil. And, I've been back many times. Go one night when they have soups. Try every variety... they are all good. They have more than soups. But, this has just become my favorite dish.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    391
    109
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
214 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Very original name, for a nice place in Sao Paulo”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Every time I am in Sao Paulo, I visit this restaurant, since my first visit 5 years ago until yesterday, I always enjoy to food. The pizzas are wonderful, in general all the italian food is very good. They have aldo good "feijoada" buffet some days at lunch time. Is located in the middle of the gay neighbourhood, (kind of Chueca or Greenwich Village of Sao Paulo).

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mxmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States and Brazil
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good retaurant with inconsistencies”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I have eaten at this restaurant countless times over the years, and most recently as last week. The restaurant is located in Centro, the downtown section of Sao Paulo.

Over the years, sometimes the service and food are superb. Occasionally, but not very often, the service and food are quite disappointing.

I suspect that there is quite a turnover of cooks which causes the food preparation quality to prepared quite different between visits to the restaurant.

There has also been a change in waiters which can negatively affect one's service experience at this otherwise old, famous and very nice restaurant.

Despite the changes and occasionally "lousy" meal, I still return to the restaurant and highly recommend the place to customers who are willing to occasionally accept a meal or service that is negatively inconsistent between visits to the restaurant.
-

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveler50502015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
1 review
“An Average Italian restaurant with a good ambient!”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

'O Gato que Ri' (The cat who Smiles) is an average Italian restaurant in Largo do Arouche, in the middle of the old downtown center of São Paulo, Brazil. It's a good restaurant, in fact not so cheap, with a good ambientation to taste a cold beer in the summer or a good red wine in the winter. Not indicated as a night option, especially with children, because around the place there's some not recommended bars and dancing places.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gazineo700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Gato Que Ri also viewed

 
Sao Paulo, SP
 

Been to O Gato Que Ri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing