We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel”
Review of Hey Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hey Hostel
Ranked #94 of 595 Specialty Lodging in Sao Paulo
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed at this hostel as part of our World Cup trip and were happy with our choice. The location is quite good, a 10 min walk to Vila Madalena and few minutes to the metro (although the directly surrounding area is not that great). We stayed in a private room which was fine and the bathrooms were generally clean and always had hot water. The staff were nice and the price was reasonable for this period. There isn't a bar so it isn't a party hostel if that is what you are looking for.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 16 of 86 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

The staff were very friendly and welcoming and provided lots of info on what to see and do in Sao Paulo. Breakfast was basic (as it usually is in Brazil), but decent. The dorm room was clean, but quite crowded for the amount of space that was available. Close to the Metro and is located in a good neighbourhood.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank thunder00711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We only stayed a night but had a great time, friendly people and staff, good social space, the rooms were too small though as there were too many beds in the space given which mean it was difficult to actually put your luggage anywhere and climb up the the top bunk. A bit smoky as the communal outside space was near the window in the dorm. Bathrooms were fine. Location good. Really helpful staff and good atmosphere.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Hey hostel was a wonderful experience for us. The staff were so helpful and so friendly. They were able to answer all of our questions and give us some great tips on the area. The atmosphere was nice, loads of communal space, rooms were clean, It had all the makings of a great hostel. The only problem we had was the toilets were a little bit dirty and the room was a bit hot! I would recommend anybody traveling to sao paulo to stay here!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sgrange2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

There are not to many things to fault about hey hostel. Security is great with 24 hour reception and possibly the most friendly and helpful to? Rooms were clean and well set out but only set back was there was only two little fans so on a hot night the rooms can get quit stuffy. All in all this is a awesome hostel good to chill out and explore the massive city of São Paulo.

Also don't forget to ask the staff how to find the locals favourite hangout the empanadas Resteraunt!!

Will stay here again for sure when I am back in São Paulo

Good job hey hostel

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damo_thebutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here for three nights. It was ok, in a good location and the staff were excellent and very friendly. But, for a brand new hostel, it was quite dirty (bathrooms) and there was not much going for it in terms of the common areas. Could probably find better.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank johanna p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed only one night but it was good. Watched a film with everyone in the eve.

The staff were really helpful and friendly.

Facilities are good, everything you need.

The area is good, close to a supermarket and the metro statio.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpitfireSVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Pinheiros
PPO Hostel i Cuccina
PPO Hostel i Cuccina
#143 of 595 in Sao Paulo
21 reviews
Pinheiros
Girassol Hostel Vila Madalena
Girassol Hostel Vila Madalena
#246 of 595 in Sao Paulo
70 reviews
Pinheiros
The Pod SP Hostel
The Pod SP Hostel
#72 of 595 in Sao Paulo
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pinheiros
Hostel Sao Paulo Backpackers
Hostel Sao Paulo Backpackers
#91 of 595 in Sao Paulo
5 reviews
Pinheiros
Sampa Hostel
Sampa Hostel
#14 of 595 in Sao Paulo
255 reviews
Cafe Hostel
#16 of 595 in Sao Paulo
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hey Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hey Hostel

Address: Rua Bartolomeu Zunega 43 | Pinheiros | Vila Madalena, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 05426-020, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Pinheiros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 595 Specialty Lodging in Sao Paulo
Price Range: $15 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Pinheiros neighborhood, Hey Hostel is close to the Faria Lima Metro station (5 minutes from Paulista Avenue by Metro) and just a step from Vila Madalena, where is the best and busiest nightlife in town. Hey Hostel has easy access to major tourist sites, through the subway and bus lines around.In our lounge you have access to several movies, books and games, and if you want to explore the city, that's where you find the best tips on what's happening in Sao Paulo. A full kitchen is also at your disposal, and that's where all our delicious breakfast is served for breakfast. Book your bed in Hey Hostel and enjoy the best of Sao Paulo ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hey Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hey Hostel Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing