We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truely amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Sao Paulo
Ranked #4 of 321 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Truely amazing”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We would like to say a huge thank you to the staff of the Intercontinental Sao Paulo. We stayed only 2 nights, but the best 2 nights in any Intercontinental that we stayed before. We are Gold Ambassador members and stayed in a few Intercontinental hotels, but this is the best one so far. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable and always so helpful. we went for business first and then pleasure and ending up here. We will recommend this hotel to any one wanting to visit Sao Paulo, whether for business or pleasure. Well done to you all and thank you for a great stay. Should we ever return to Sao Paulo we will indeed stay here again.

Room Tip: Get the Suites, they are really great and Spacious. get the Club floor. very nice and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalSP, Manager at InterContinental Sao Paulo, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Jan e,

Thank you for sharing your experiences at InterContinental São Paulo hotel.

It is certainly so delightful to receive such a wonderful review as yours that definitely inspires our team to pursue memorable ways to please and go beyond our guests expectations.

We feel a great pride to know that we are the best hotel you have ever stayed in and that our services and facilities are recommended by you. This is really valuable for us.

It is a real pleasure to thank you for having chosen our hotel.

Our team is already looking forward to welcoming you again at InterContinental São Paulo.

Kindest regards,

InterContinental São Paulo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,106
    322
    54
    20
    13
See reviews for
140
246
108
829
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 7 nights on a business trip recently and they were very helpful and accomodating. The hotel is very clean and spacious and the rooms are a really good size. The food is excellent (especially the fruit!) Most people in this hotel speak English which is helpful as well (and unusual to find in Sao Paulo). Its also right next to a starbucks which is perfect! They have a nice pool, spa and exercise room as well and a nice hotel bar. A couple things I would say on the negative side is that the hotel is very pricey (which should be no surprise) but the extras are a little ridiculous (BRL 210 for an an airport pick-up from the internaitonal airport and BRL 170 for an airport pick-up from the local airport (which is 15 minutes away)). The priciness should not surpise you for Sao Paulo as well as for a 5 star hotle as well. The only other thing which I have to say annoyed me a little bit is that they take a huge payment off your credit/debit card upfront without being very specific about this, so I would definitely ask for clarity around when and what is being deducted from your account. Overall it is an excellent hotel, well located in a safe and convenient neighborhood in Sao Paulo.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahMarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalSP, Manager at InterContinental Sao Paulo, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Mrs. SarahMarr,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your experience at our hotel.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the services provided by our staff during your stay and the hotel facilities. The hotel location is fabulous and very handy for anything you might need while travelling.

It is very important for us that our guests feel safe while staying with us and it is a great joy to know that you stressed that on your review.

We apologize that you felt annoyed by the credit card pre-authorization procedure during your check-in and for not being duly informed about it. We regret that this situation and the average prices in São Paulo was inconvenient for you. Your comments are certainly very welcome so that we can tackle important areas that requires improvement.

Once again, Mrs. SarahMarr, we are very thankful for your review and hope to welcome you soon at InterContinental São Paulo.

Our best regards,

InterContinental São Paulo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I'm in Sao Paulo several times a year and try to stay at the Intercon. The facility has been recently renovated with clean lines and a serene, modern sense of design. The location is just off the main business street and very central, convenient both for public transportation and taxis to other parts of the city. It has a great lobby bar and a very active and well-equiped health club. The best part, as usual, is the welcome I always receive. From the doorman on, the staff very kindly remembers me and my likes, and makes me feel like I am coming home. Special kudos to Victor and Agata on the concierge staff who always go the extra mile. My thanks to them and the great managewment team for one more comfortable visit!

Room Tip: Book the Deluxe Plus which has a small patio door that opens to let in fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalSP, Manager at InterContinental Sao Paulo, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Mr. George B,

We are very thankful and proud to receive your great comments regarding your experiences at our hotel.

It is great to know that the hotel renovation has pleased you and that you enjoyed the fitness center with top-notch equipments for your trainings.

Located in a very privileged area in São Paulo, our hotel is very handy for shopping, cultural sightseeing, restaurants and also for the business area.

It is a great honor to be known by the service provided by our team during our guests' stay. What a great comment regarding our staff members!
We thank you again for that. Your remarks about Agata and Victor were already forwarded for further acknowledgement for having provided such memorable experiences while staying with us.

Your comments are very enthusiastic indeed and certainly compelled us to pursue extraordinary ways to provide real InterContinental experiences to our guests.

Once again, Mr. George B, we want to thank you for your review and it will be a great pleasure to welcoming you soon.

Kindest regards,

InterContinental São Paulo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

On another business trip, and was happy to be booked at the Intercontinental. It is conveniently located to almost anything you need....business, shopping and entertainment. The staff is very considerate and informative and is happy to help you with any small details. The rooms are clean and well-appointed. Overall, a quality and experience and one I would recommend highly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler55711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalSP, Manager at InterContinental Sao Paulo, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Mr. WorldTraveler55711,

What a great review about your recent visit at our hotel and the services provided by our staff!

We just want to thank you so much for your comments.

It is such a happiness to know that you felt deeply happy to have had us as your lodging option in São Paulo city. This is an amazing compliment and we also have already shared your review with our staff members.

Thank you once again, Mr. WorldTraveler55711, for your kind words! We do look forward to seeing you again soon at our hotel.

Our very best regards,

InterContinental São Paulo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DF
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

As you can imagine after a long flight arriving at middle of the night you expect to get to your room and rest. Unfortunately the reserve was not registered properly. The room assign 1107 a nightmare you hear lift up and down do not accept any room ending 07. They moved after 2 nights. Turn down is inconsistent, cleanliness just see the bath photo. Wifi was upgraded but worked worst, I ask for help as my room was not done at 5 pm the Front Manager just said I will see what's wrong with house keeping and leave a msg at your room You receive it because I did not. They have trainees and I understand the need but do not let them manage without supervising nor empowerment. They called me because they want me out again a confusion on the reserve why not trainees errors again. They also over charge twice the breakfast, I waited again due to trainees while I was waiting the Manager simply left because her shift was over as you may understand that's what trainees Lear. Lack off commitment and responsibility. Shame in management the irresponsible Front Office Manager name is Carolina F.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms ending 07
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turista2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalSP, Manager at InterContinental Sao Paulo, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Mr. Turista2000,

At first we would like to thank you for sharing your comments about your recent experience at InterContinental São Paulo.

I hereby apologize for any inconvenience that might have happened during your stay with us and on behalf of my entire team we also regret for felling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. However, it is highly important to explain some possible misunderstandings:

Your reservation was previously confirmed for a day after your actual arrival at our hotel and considering your comfort we adjusted the day of your arrival. On the other hand, we did not change your departure date. We deeply apologize for this flaw in our procedure.

It is essential to highlight that our front desk manager, Carolina and her team struggled to talk to you; nonetheless, we did not succeed. A special amenity with a carefully written letter was supposed to be delivered in your room but a “Do not disturb” sign was on your door and that is why we were unable to reach you again.

There are some guests that require staying near the lifts and so far we have not received any complains from our guests. It is highly recommended to inform your personal preferences during the reservation process so that we can cautiously choose a room far from the lifts for you.

Lately, we have received some good compliments regarding our internet quality and I do apologize for not meeting up to your expectations.

We continuously provide trainings about different subjects to encourage our trainees and our employees to enable a great service experience to our guests and my team is usually acknowledged for that.

Thank you again for your comments, Mr. Turista2000, and I hope to see you at our hotel so that my team and I can guarantee our standards in a future opportunity.

Kindest regards,

Francisco Garcia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I would like to recognize this hotel for helping me and providing excellent service when I was not even a guest there. Seeking Brazilians that spoke well English I found exactly what I was looking for. The concierge desk took their time helping me with all my queries and were very helpful. If you want good service from professional english-speaking employees I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgnesBing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalSP, Manager at InterContinental Sao Paulo, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear AgnesBing,

Thank you for sharing this great review regarding the services provided by our staff.

Our team was very happy with the compliments received. We understand that the first step to service excellence is always assisting people in the most appropriate and helpful way.

It was great reading and sharing your comments with our entire team. Certainly this is what moves us forward.

We are very thankful, AgnesBing! It will be a pleasure to assist you again in any future opportunity.

Regards,

InterContinental São Paulo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed in this hotel March 2013 for 10 days, and I have to say that next to any other Hotel I stayed in Brasil it was one of the best services i got.
All employees are extremely friendly and try to help at any occasion. Food is good and location is great.
There is one employee that showed a lot of managing skills and extremely nice, her name is Amanda, speak a perfect English and is always there to help.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacques O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalSP, Manager at InterContinental Sao Paulo, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Jacques O,

Thank you for taking your time to share your feelings and impressions about our hotel.

We feel very honoured to know that you appreciated the services provided by our team. Comments like the ones you shared, certainly moves us forward to achieve the excellence in service.

It is also a great joy that your enjoyed our location and the food served at our Tarsila restaurant.

Your comments were forwarded to our team in order to acknowledge our team member Amanda.

We are very thankful to receiving your review and it will be a great pleasure to welcome you again at InterContinental São Paulo.

Kindest regards,

InterContinental São Paulo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Jardins
Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel
Jardins
Emiliano Hotel
Emiliano Hotel
#1 of 321 in Sao Paulo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Bela Vista
L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo
L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo
#8 of 321 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo
#5 of 321 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,089 reviews
Jardins
Tivoli Mofarrej - Sao Paulo
Tivoli Mofarrej - Sao Paulo
#10 of 321 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
Jardins
Hotel Unique
Hotel Unique
#3 of 321 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Sao Paulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sao Paulo

Property: InterContinental Sao Paulo
Address: Alameda Santos 1123, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01419-001, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Jardins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
#3 Green Hotel in Sao Paulo
#3 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
#7 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sao Paulo 5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Sao Paulo is a luxury hotel that offers contemporary elegance at its best. Located right in the heart of the city and one block away from the financial and commercial area, Paulista Avenue, this hotel will entice you to experience the best side of the city during your holidays with free high speed internet, well equipped Fitness Center area and an outdoor pool. Surrounding attractions include the Shopping Cidade São Paulo and the Trianon Park among other venues for entertainment. Guests will be delighted with the flavors from our authentic cuisine at the cozy and friendly Tarsila restaurant atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your InterContinental Sao Paulo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sao Paulo Hotel Sao Paulo
Sao Paulo Intercontinental
InterContinental Sao Paulo Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing