We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good alternative” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Sao Paulo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
InterContinental Sao Paulo
Ranked #4 of 322 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
274 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Good alternative”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Good location and relatively new hotel with modern amenities and facilities. Unfortunately some issues during check in and assignment of the room including lack of Room upgrade( Platinum card), but this was later improved. Good hotel and a decent alternative if staying in this part of São Paulo.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EKnive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalSP, Manager at InterContinental Sao Paulo, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Mr. EKnive,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experiences at InterContinental São Paulo.

It is only through your comments that we can understand our guests' feelings and needs to look for better ways to assist our guests with excellence. We are very sorry that we fell little short of your expectations.

Our location is just fantastic with so many things to see and visit. We are surrounded by great restaurants and just one block away from Paulista Avenue.

Mr. EKnive, once again, we thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you in a future opportunity so that we can guarantee all InterContinental standards during your stay.

Kindest regards,

InterContinental São Paulo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,075
    312
    53
    20
    13
See reviews for
137
242
106
801
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Recently stayed here on a short business trip to Sao Paulo. The hotel is well situated just off the Avenue Paulista and there are several coffee shops close by (either Starbucks or more local offerings). The hotel itself is all you would expect of an Intercontinental and is very clean, with great facilities and attention to detail. The rooms are excellent and very well equipped. The pool area was on the small side but there were enough beds and chairs available. I had access to the club room where the food and drink was excellent quality and the concierge was very helpful in terms of guiding me around the city during my short stay - she was clearly very proud of her city.
I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyW1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalSP, Gerente at InterContinental Sao Paulo, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Mr. TonyW1961,

Thank you for choosing InterContinental São Paulo during your recent visit to our city.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having taken the time to share with us your experiences as a guest of our hotel. It is only through your valuable comments that we can remain informed about our guest’s needs and feelings.

We are very glad to know that you enjoyed our facilities and comfort, and that you liked the service and assistance provided by our staff.

Once again thank you very much for your feedback, and if your travels should bring you back to the city we do look forward to welcoming you back at InterContinental São Paulo.

Cordially,

Fernanda Veloso
InterContinental São Paulo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is in the heart of the business district of Sao Paulo. It has been completely revamped and now meets the Intercontinental Hotel standard, in my opinion. I hosted a business dinner at the only restaurant in the hotel and experienced extremely slow service. Apart from that the staff are very courteous and professional. This will become my new hangout when I travel to Sao Paulo. Good value for money

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the south end of any floor to avoid the high noise from the constant traffic conge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yusuf O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalSP, Manager at InterContinental Sao Paulo, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Mr. Yusuf O,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

We are very glad to know that you enjoyed our facilities after the renovation and the services provided by our staff.

We apologize for the disappointment you had during your meal at our restaurant. Your comments were already forwarded to our entire team to prevent any inconvenience like this from happening.

It is a great joy to be chosen by you to be your hangout!

Certainly it will be an amazing pleasure to welcoming you during your next trip to our big city.

Best regards from our InterContinental São Paulo team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Arriving at 07.00am, no rooms available. Took the shower in the gym and enjoyed a good breakfast including the right coffees. Excellent place with superiore service. Good buffet restaurant and top-restaurant on top floor.
Rooms are generous equipped with all you need, got a free upgrade to suite.

Room Tip: Price but excellent choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deKnoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalSP, Manager at InterContinental Sao Paulo, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Mr. deKnoll,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experiences at InterContinental São Paulo.

It is a great pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed our facilities, services and our amazing Club Floor.

We feel very happy to know that you were comfortably accomodated in our rooms and that you appreciated your stay with us.

We thank you again, Mr. deKnoll, for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards,

InterContinental São Paulo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed in several hotels in Sao Paulo in the past.. but since some years ago I stay always in the Intercontinental usually for business.
Exceptional welcoming and customer Service. Staff always smiling and able (and well trained) to support you.
Free and EASY Internet access for all your devices. Really added value for business.
Rooms: clean & renovated, bathroom fully furnished by L'Occitane and housekeeping support you on additional needs.
Restaurants: Great and complete breakfast, fresh juice, fruits, and pastry. Sophisticated dishes for lunch.
FANTASTIC FITNESS CENTER !!! and terrace with swimming pool.
Exceptional location in Sao Paulo, lot of great Restaurants (Brazilian churrasco, Japanese, Argentinian, Italian) at walking distance.
Close to Oscar Freire Street for promenade & shopping.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pablo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalSP, Manager at InterContinental Sao Paulo, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Mr. Pablo C,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your experience at InterContinental São Paulo.

It is always a great pleasure for our entire team to welcome you at our hotel. We thank you so much for being our frequent guest and for your loyalty.

We also feel very happy to know that you enjoyed our services, our new refurbished rooms and the free Wi-Fi internet we proudly provide to our guests. We have received some great feedbacks regarding this service.

Tarsila restaurant pastries are made fresh every morning by our amazing pastry chefs. It is amazing to know that you enjoyed the meals served at our restaurant.

Our location is very handy indeed for restaurants, cultural attractions and to the most famous São Paulo city postcard: Paulista Avenue. We suggest that you keep exploring all the delights that this area offers.

Once again, Mr. Pablo C, thank you for your compliments. We are looking forward to seeing you soon at our property.

Best regards,

Juliana Porto
E-commerce Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The service and the cleanliness are up to standard. Most of the staff could speak good english.However, as to the brand, Intercontinental, we had expected more than ordinary hotels. The lobby is more like 3star hotel than intercontinental. We are the fans of Intercon, however, the one in Sao Paolo lowered the value of all intercontinentals in the world.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stella b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalSP, Manager at InterContinental Sao Paulo, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Mrs. stella b,

Thank you for reviewing InterContinental São Paulo hotel.

It is a great joy for us to know that you enjoyed the services provided by our staff and that you got impressed about our staff English level. We feel honored to assist our guests in their own language. It is interesting to know that we can assist our guests in five different languages.

On the other hand, we feel very disappointed for not living up to your expectations and we do apologize for it. Most of our guests love our lobby due to its size that enables a more personal assistance.

Thank you once again, Mrs. stella b, for your comments and we hope that you get to know different InterContinental Hotels world wide and get enchanted by them and their staff as well. It is our passion to help our guests make the most of their stay.

Kindest regards,

InterContinental São Paulo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Despite staying on Priority Points we were treated in a very curteous way at all times. We were very impressed with all of the staff, check in, bell boy, breakfast and room service. Not just professional but genuinely freindly and nothing a problem.
We found breakfast extensive with good egg chef and excellent fruit and pastries.
Rooms are recently refurbished and a decent size.
Only area that looks like an afterthought is the pool - needs some shade/umbrellas.
As mentioned before the location is great for getting around - would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PDW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalSP, Manager at InterContinental Sao Paulo, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Mr. PDW1,

We thank you so much for reviewing our hotel and for your loyalty as a Priority Club member.

It was a great pleasure for our team to have had you as our guest. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our facilities and the services provided by our friendly staff.

We regret we fell short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. We do value the comments we receive from our guests as these help us improve the quality, services and facilities that we offer.

Thank you again, Mr. PDW1, for your comments.

It will be a great joy to welcome you back at InterContinental São Paulo soon.

Kindest regards,

InterContinental São Paulo team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Jardins
Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel
Jardins
Emiliano Hotel
Emiliano Hotel
#1 of 322 in Sao Paulo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Bela Vista
L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo
L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo
#8 of 322 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo
#5 of 322 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,926 reviews
Jardins
Tivoli Sao Paulo - Mofarrej
Tivoli Sao Paulo - Mofarrej
#11 of 322 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
Jardins
Hotel Fasano Sao Paulo
Hotel Fasano Sao Paulo
#2 of 322 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Sao Paulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sao Paulo

Property: InterContinental Sao Paulo
Address: Alameda Santos 1123, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01419-002, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Jardins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sao Paulo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
#3 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
#7 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sao Paulo 5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Sao Paulo is a sophisticated business hotel, located just one block away from Paulista Avenue, where you will be surrounded by beauty and charm during your entire stay. We provide Free Wi-Fi internet to our guests. The subway station is just two blocks away from the hotel. Easy access to attractions such as the Oscar Freire Street, the Art Museum of Sao Paulo (MASP) and Trianon Park - all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Sao Paulo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sao Paulo Hotel Sao Paulo
Sao Paulo Intercontinental
InterContinental Sao Paulo Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing