We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel....service not up to Intercontinental Ambassador standards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Sao Paulo
Ranked #4 of 328 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I stayed at this hotel from 12/25/12 - 12/29/12. The hotel is beautiful inside and out. It is in a beautiful location, only a block away from Av. Paulista. Turndown service is great. The rooms are a nice size and very clean. The balcony on the room is a nice touch and gives a view of other downtown buildings. The staff is friendly and most speak English. However, they are not the most accommodating. One of the benefits of being an InterContinental Ambassador is an airport chaffeur service with better rates. When we asked about this, we were told that we would receive the same rate as other guests which was 180 reals. I do have to say, I was recognized as a Platinum InterContinental Ambassador and given the complimentary fruit and water in the room upon arrival, and daily complimentary water. And we were also upgraded, which was nice.

My friend was given two drink coupons for signing up with Intercontinental Ambassador on this trip. But she didn't want the caiparinha as she doesn't drink hard liquor, and she was told that was the only drink she could get. They would not give her a glass of wine. So she told a front desk person, who immediately said she could get a glass of wine instead of the caiparinha.

It just doesn't seem like the staff was willing to be accommodating, and said more 'No's then 'Yes's.

Would I stay here again? On points, yes. But I wouldn't pay for it myself, because I would expect more for spending my hard earned money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frequentflyerUAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalSP, Manager at InterContinental Sao Paulo, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear Mrs. frequentflyerUAL,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at InterContinental São Paulo.

We appreciate that you enjoyed our location, our hotel and the special touches of our turndown service.

Regarding the chauffeur service our Ambassadors members do not have a specific discount on this service. It is important to strength that it is not a program standard benefit. Moreover, as defined on the Ambassador terms and conditions we are able to provide an airport chauffeur service for advance reservations at prevailing rates.

Our hotel is recognized by the warm and friendly service. With reference to the drink offer during your arrival, we hope this punctual situation do not compromise the image of our whole team. Usually when a guest does not appreciate our local welcome drink, our staff immediately changes it for another drink according to their preference. Your comments were already forwarded to our staff members so that we can prevent any future situation like the one you reported from happening assuring a real InterContinental experience.

Mrs. frequentflyerUAL, thank you again for sharing your comments. All feedbacks are very important so that we can improve our quality and services. Once again we apologize for all the inconvenience caused and hopefully we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to São Paulo.

Kindest regards,

InterContinental São Paulo team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,644)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

508 - 514 of 1,644 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2012

Stayed overnight and wish it was longer! Huge room and the service was fast and friendly. Enjoyed the breakfast as well, overall a very positive experience and would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Any room on level 10 is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalSP, Manager at InterContinental Sao Paulo, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear Mr. Glenn K,

Thank you for sharing your comments about InterContinental São Paulo.

We feel very happy that you enjoyed our services, the hotel facilities and that we could enable this positive and enjoyable experience.

It is a great honor to be recommended by you.

We do look forward to welcoming you back again.

Happy holidays!

InterContinental São Paulo team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Very nice rooms and centrally located. By far the best hotel of our trip to Brazil (Sao Paulo, Rio, Salvador). Centrally located near the shopping district and the Museum of modern art. I left some money in the safe, the hotel found it and arrange to have it sent to me by taxi at the airport. Good and honest!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ApiciusApicius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalSP, Manager at InterContinental Sao Paulo, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Mrs. ApiciusApicius,

Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel.

It is great to know that you enjoyed our location, our rooms and that we were the best hotel during your trip to Brazil.

We felt very proud that we could have provided a great expetrience and that everything worked flawlessly.

Our concierge team will be very delighted to recommend special places on your next stay so that you can enjoy our location at its most.

Yours sincerely,

InterContinental São Paulo team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I just returned from a business trip to Sao Paulo and I will never stay at this hotel again. It was 85 degrees and humid (December), and my room had no air. Also there were no fans in the bathrooms, so it smelled of mildew. This is a very expensive hotel, and I had a more comfortable sleep at the Mercure.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalSP, Manager at InterContinental Sao Paulo, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear Mrs. Mandy,

Thank you for posting about your recent stay at InterContinental São Paulo.

At first, let me extend my sincerest apologies that your stay was not up to the level of the vast majority of our guests experience satisfaction that is undoubtedly our team biggest concern. We really appreciate your comments which enable us to improve our service level.

Your comments were already addressed by our team and it is important to highlight that our maintenance team is already working on the air conditioning issue reported on your review in order to prevent this from happening in the future.

It disappoints us that your stay was far from perfect, as it is our goal to have our guests leave happy with their experience and eager to return.

We do apologize for this particular inconvenience during your stay. Should you prefer to get in touch with us directly for any further questions, please contact us through: hotelquality@ihgbrasil.com.

Furthermore it will be a pleasure to show you a real InterContinental experience and guarantee all InterContinental standards.

Our best regards,

Juliana Porto
Member of InterContinental São Paulo Quality Committee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Great service at this hotel. We were only there for 1 night, staying on points otherwise we could probably not afford it! Everything was great, friendly and efficient staff, wonderful ambience, nice and clean rooms. We had lunch at the restaurant, a bit pricey if you aren't very hungry, but the food was delicious.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalSP, Manager at InterContinental Sao Paulo, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Mr. Renee D,

Thank you for sharing your experiences as a guest of our hotel.

We feel very happy to know that you enjoyed the services provided by our staff for the friendliness and eficiency noticed.

Due to the hotel renovation, our guests can feel the wonderful ambience that it enables inside our plush rooms.

The food served at Tarsila Restaurant is very tasty. We do recommend our guests to try it and if you happen to spend a weekend at our hotel, you should definitely try our Sunday Brunch!

We feel sorry that you considered it pricey. However, it is the average price charged in the restaurants in São Paulo city.

Mr. Renee D, thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you soon.

Kindest regards,

InterContinental São Paulo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I got married at the Intercontinental two weeks ago. Both the stay and the grand event went flawless. The food served by the hotel was complimented by all of my guests. The event space was fabulous and just the right size for a comfortable wedding.
Many of my family and friends stayed at the hotel for the weekend, and everyone praised the hospitality felt at Intercontinental. The rooms were spacious, modern and charming. Breakfast was an enormous layout of fresh fruit, waffles, omelets, and much more.
The staff was extremely helpful in all of my guest's needs. They had a great ability of making my family from the U.S. feel right at home in Sao Paulo. Gabriel Nogueira really went out of his way to treat the guests with the utmost respect. Anything from changes on reservations, to the best recommendations on happenings in the city, he was there at your service. The rest of the staff followed suit with this gentleman. The hotel is also situated in an excellent location on a side street one block away from Paulista Avenue, the biggest street in Sao Paulo. An experience my wife and I will never forget. Absolutely incredible.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dtroyer86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalSP, Manager at InterContinental Sao Paulo, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Mr. dtroyer86,

Thank you for sharing your comments about this great moment of your life on TripAdvisor.

We felt quite happy to host your wedding at our hotel. It is just amazing to be the scenario of this fantastic moment. Thank you for having chosen us!

It is wonderful to know that the food served during your wedding received great compliments from your special guests and that they enjoyed the hospitality from our staff. Gabriel is a great member of our team. He cares about our guests’ feelings and needs. Your comments were forwarded to our human department.

We are glad that you enjoyed our accommodations, our location and that your family could felt as if they were at home. This is so important to all of us!

Thank you again, Mr. dtroyer86, for your comments and we hope to celebrate more special moments with you and your wife.

Our best wishes to this lovely couple.

InterContinental São Paulo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

If all hotels could deliver this level of service I would be a happy traveller indeed. From email confirmation prior to arrival to ask if there was anything they could assist with to the smiles and friendliness of the porters and drivers there was nothing to fault during my 5 night stay.

The location is really central - just of Avenida Paulista where a bunch of the main business offices are located. There are some great lanchonettes (buffet style lunch places), sushi, italian and grills just around the corner and the upmarket leafy streets of Jardims are about a 15 minute walk away. Obviously, safety is a concern at the moment in SP, but I found this area to be fine. All staff were happy to give us recommendations of good places to eat, show us on the map and also book reservations.

Rooms are simply comfortable. Nothing to fault. Little things like diffusers on the hairdryers, nail files and cotton pads make a difference to us women travellers and the partnership with L'Occitane bathroom products is great. There are plenty of plush towels and pillows and laundry service, whilst not cheap was excellent.

Service and queries were dealt with promptly and always with a smile. I speak Portuguese but the English of staff was pefect.

I have to especially mention Victor who oversees the Ambassadors and Club lounge. Although it was my birthday the day before I checked into the hotel, he organised a bottle of champagne and a chocolate cake to be delivered to me room with a card signed by staff. Truly speechless at this amazingly kind gesture - something I would never have expected from a hotel. AMAZING.

We stayed during the F1 race and although the hotel was busy it did not feel like it. I still felt special and welcomed. We were advised on the easiest way to get to the race on public transport.

Breakfast has ample choice with a special Japanese section. There are made to order omlettes and eggs, great selection of fruit and standard breakfast fare. A minor gripe would be that the cereals on offer tend to be very sugary and there are none of the standard low sugar museli/Allbran/Special K brands - however I think this is more due to local taste.

I did not use the gym on this occasion but in the past have found it to be perfectly adequate and the 24hr access is a plus.

I would definitely recommend for business and also for pleasure if you happen to find yourself in Sao Paolo. To sum up a truly international class hotel and compliements to all the staff who strive to make it such a personable experience.

Room Tip: All seem to be good - some are more recently refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NiaNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalSP, Manager at InterContinental Sao Paulo, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Mrs. NiaNat,

It is a great pleasure to have your comments shared on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for taking your time to share your flawless experience at InterContinental São Paulo hotel. We feel truly honored to have had you as a guest of our hotel and we would like to express our gratitude through this response.

Our biggest concern is to make our guests feel the most comfortable and welcomed by our staff as possible and that is exactly what your posting shows. Certainly it is fascinating to provide the best service to our guests and please them with our concierge recommendations.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed the surprise Victor has prepared for you with flying colors. It really made your stay even more unforgettable. Your comments about Victor were already forwarded to our human resources department.

What a great happiness to know that you appreciated our in-room amenities, our spacious and comfortable rooms. Most of our rooms were refurbished to enable a pleasant and accommodating stay.

Your remark about the cereals offered during our breakfast was really worthy for us. It is important to know that our restaurant manager has already included more two different low sugar/ low fat cereals types. Thank you for this great insight!

Mrs. NiaNat, thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo
#5 of 328 in Sao Paulo
3,593 reviews
Jardins
Tivoli Mofarrej - Sao Paulo
Jardins
Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bela Vista
L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo
L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo
#10 of 328 in Sao Paulo
1,055 reviews
Jardins
Emiliano Hotel
Emiliano Hotel
#1 of 328 in Sao Paulo
510 reviews
Vila Mariana
Pullman Sao Paulo Ibirapuera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Sao Paulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sao Paulo

Address: Alameda Santos 1123, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01419-002, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Jardins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
#3 Green Hotel in Sao Paulo
#3 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
#4 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range: $146 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sao Paulo 5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Sao Paulo is a luxury hotel that offers contemporary elegance at its best. Located right in the heart of the city and one block away from the financial and commercial area, Paulista Avenue, this hotel will entice you to experience the best side of the city during your holidays with free high speed internet, well equipped Fitness Center area and an outdoor pool. Surrounding attractions include the Shopping Cidade São Paulo and the Trianon Park among other venues for entertainment. Guests will be delighted with the flavors from our authentic cuisine at the cozy and friendly Tarsila restaurant atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Sao Paulo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sao Paulo Hotel Sao Paulo
Sao Paulo Intercontinental
InterContinental Sao Paulo Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing