We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best”
Review of Uvaia Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Uvaia Hostel
Ranked #67 of 575 Specialty Lodging in Sao Paulo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the best”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I"ve been to other hostels in Sao Paulo, but Uvaia is simple THE BEST.
Amazing staff, great location, very comfortable rooms, fun bar and events.
the hostel is really clean, has safe lockers, and a 24 hours open bar with really good snacks and sandwiches.
the atmosphere is young, and the artsy vibe is definitely a plus.
highly recommended.

Room Tip: private room is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jgrafj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    43
    14
    2
    4
See reviews for
5
13
64
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hostel is very well located, in a quiet zone close to Ana Rosa station. You can find everything around: loundry, bakery, restaurants and bars, taxis.
The beds are good and there are lockers above them. The crew was nice and very helpful.
Another good thing: the Ibirapuera park is just a walk away and it`s worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinicius K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I would normally stay in a hotel, but wanted to save a few bucks for a one-night stay in São Paulo. I chose Uvaia because it offered a private room (with a shared bathroom) for me and my travelling partner. Gustavo (the owner) was super friendly, as were the rest of the staff. The hostel was very welcoming and the living room would be a great place to meet people (we didn't though because we were only there for half a day!). The shared bathroom is the common bathroom for the entire hostel - it was very clean, although it took me a while to figure out the shower (HINT: low water flow will lead to hot as it's electrically heated in the showerhead).

Definitely one of the better hostels I've stayed in. There's no doubt that I would stay here again next time I'm down south. By the way, an Uvaia is apparently a Brazilian fruit!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanderLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uvaia Hostel H, Owner at Uvaia Hostel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hey Lewis!! Thank you so much for the kind words!! Hope you can visit us again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is an excellent hostel tucked away in a fun, safe neighborhood of Sao Paulo. The owners have thought of just about everything, from signature cocktails at their downstairs bar to the small reading lights at every dorm room bed. They even managed to add a personal touch to the grilled ham and cheese sandwiches.

It's clean, comfortable, fun and friendly. I'll look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emreed48109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uvaia Hostel H, Owner at Uvaia Hostel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hey man! Thank you!! We stay in touch by Facebook!! Dont forget to try to make the Jd&COCO drink and tell us how that went!! hahaha Big hug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vina del Mar, Chile
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The hostel is really good. Located in a safe residential area, only few blocks from the metro station (which brings you to most touristic places in SP - being next to a metro station in sao paulo is definitely a big plus), and a 10-15 min walk to the Ibirapuera park and several museums. There are also restaurants and shops in the area.
The hostel itself is beautiful and nicely de decorated. I loved the breakfast. It has the basics, but good ones. Fresh orange juice and homemade bread, cereals, milk, coffe and fruits.
They have a bar and do gatherings but they always worry about keeping it low after a specific time. The saturday i was there they even organized a samba party with live music!
The staff is very friendly and always wiling to help. I would definitaly stay here again.

Pros:
Clean, Safe, friendly staff, inhouse bar, clean linen (bit small for the mattress though) and towel, individual light and plug, large lockers in the room, good wifi connexion and free use of 2 computers with webcam.

Cons: didnt get hot water in the shower (is not cold though), basic bathroom next to the room (but the ones outside are beautiful and spacious)

I travelled alone and stayed in the 6 bed mix room - April 2013

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macadeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uvaia Hostel H, Owner at Uvaia Hostel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thanks for the review!! The samba was really amazing!! See you next time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My girlfriend and I called in at Uvaia on a one-night stop-over on our way to Rio. The hostel staff were excellent, welcoming us quite late in the evening and recommending a restaurant around the corner which was also very good. There were plenty of bars and other restaurants along the road that runs parallel to the hostel's.

The hostel itself was a very homely and comfortable place; the bunk beds in the 6 bed dorm were well-equipped with large luggage lockers, personal shelves, power sockets and reading lights. The bathroom down the hall was a little basic but perfectly adequate. Free use of computers with decent internet is always appreciated.

Breakfast consisted of tea, coffee, cereal, fruit and bread which set us on our way nicely.

Overall, Uvaia did a good job at providing a home-from-home feel and I would certainly go there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uvaia Hostel H, Owner at Uvaia Hostel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Hey, thank you for your review!! The home away from home feeling is one of our main goals here at Uvaia!! Hope you can stay with us again!! Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTTAWA
Level 6 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The hostel itsself is clean and nice, with a good mediocre breakfast. For people that arent very picky I would recommend this spot. We took the private room which was actually so so so small, the smallest ive ever seen. I didnt see the dorm rooms so I think maybe i would recommend a dorm instead. Plus the private room is kind of in a weird location so if its loud you would hear everything.... however when we were there there was so no body. The staff is kinda blah who dont really smile or talk or know how to recommend anything - which shocks me cause staff at hostels are usually very friendly and want to help you expereince their city to its fullest.
The location is good its a cute neighborhood with a short walk to the metro... Sao Paulo is massive so its hard to have the "best location".

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deesensfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Vila Mariana
We Hostel Design
We Hostel Design
#25 of 575 in Sao Paulo
161 reviews
Vila Mariana
Brazilodge All Suites Hostels
Vila Mariana
The Hostel Vila Mariana
The Hostel Vila Mariana
#5 of 575 in Sao Paulo
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vila Mariana
Sao Paulo Lodge
Sao Paulo Lodge
#3 of 575 in Sao Paulo
172 reviews
Vila Mariana
Nomade In Art & Hostel
Nomade In Art & Hostel
#46 of 575 in Sao Paulo
45 reviews
Jardins
The Hostel Paulista
The Hostel Paulista
#8 of 575 in Sao Paulo
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uvaia Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uvaia Hostel

Property: Uvaia Hostel
Address: Rua Morgado de Mateus 273 | Vila Mariana, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 04015-050, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Vila Mariana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 575 Specialty Lodging in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Uvaia Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guests will find more than a really good hostel structure, they will also find that cozy home sweet home feeling, a super comfy bed, 24/7 reception and bar services in a space truly devoted to art with turnover exhibitions, movies, artistic and musical influences and performances! A space where the new and different really counts! We want you to live, dream and exchange. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Hotwire so you can book your Uvaia Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uvaia Hostel Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing