We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Owner, Great Location, Good Hostel”
Review of Uvaia Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Uvaia Hostel
Ranked #55 of 568 Specialty Lodging in Sao Paulo
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Great Owner, Great Location, Good Hostel”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I would normally stay in a hotel, but wanted to save a few bucks for a one-night stay in São Paulo. I chose Uvaia because it offered a private room (with a shared bathroom) for me and my travelling partner. Gustavo (the owner) was super friendly, as were the rest of the staff. The hostel was very welcoming and the living room would be a great place to meet people (we didn't though because we were only there for half a day!). The shared bathroom is the common bathroom for the entire hostel - it was very clean, although it took me a while to figure out the shower (HINT: low water flow will lead to hot as it's electrically heated in the showerhead).

Definitely one of the better hostels I've stayed in. There's no doubt that I would stay here again next time I'm down south. By the way, an Uvaia is apparently a Brazilian fruit!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanderLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uvaia Hostel H, Owner at Uvaia Hostel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hey Lewis!! Thank you so much for the kind words!! Hope you can visit us again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    42
    13
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
13
61
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is an excellent hostel tucked away in a fun, safe neighborhood of Sao Paulo. The owners have thought of just about everything, from signature cocktails at their downstairs bar to the small reading lights at every dorm room bed. They even managed to add a personal touch to the grilled ham and cheese sandwiches.

It's clean, comfortable, fun and friendly. I'll look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emreed48109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uvaia Hostel H, Owner at Uvaia Hostel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hey man! Thank you!! We stay in touch by Facebook!! Dont forget to try to make the Jd&COCO drink and tell us how that went!! hahaha Big hug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vina del Mar, Chile
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The hostel is really good. Located in a safe residential area, only few blocks from the metro station (which brings you to most touristic places in SP - being next to a metro station in sao paulo is definitely a big plus), and a 10-15 min walk to the Ibirapuera park and several museums. There are also restaurants and shops in the area.
The hostel itself is beautiful and nicely de decorated. I loved the breakfast. It has the basics, but good ones. Fresh orange juice and homemade bread, cereals, milk, coffe and fruits.
They have a bar and do gatherings but they always worry about keeping it low after a specific time. The saturday i was there they even organized a samba party with live music!
The staff is very friendly and always wiling to help. I would definitaly stay here again.

Pros:
Clean, Safe, friendly staff, inhouse bar, clean linen (bit small for the mattress though) and towel, individual light and plug, large lockers in the room, good wifi connexion and free use of 2 computers with webcam.

Cons: didnt get hot water in the shower (is not cold though), basic bathroom next to the room (but the ones outside are beautiful and spacious)

I travelled alone and stayed in the 6 bed mix room - April 2013

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macadeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uvaia Hostel H, Owner at Uvaia Hostel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thanks for the review!! The samba was really amazing!! See you next time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My girlfriend and I called in at Uvaia on a one-night stop-over on our way to Rio. The hostel staff were excellent, welcoming us quite late in the evening and recommending a restaurant around the corner which was also very good. There were plenty of bars and other restaurants along the road that runs parallel to the hostel's.

The hostel itself was a very homely and comfortable place; the bunk beds in the 6 bed dorm were well-equipped with large luggage lockers, personal shelves, power sockets and reading lights. The bathroom down the hall was a little basic but perfectly adequate. Free use of computers with decent internet is always appreciated.

Breakfast consisted of tea, coffee, cereal, fruit and bread which set us on our way nicely.

Overall, Uvaia did a good job at providing a home-from-home feel and I would certainly go there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uvaia Hostel H, Owner at Uvaia Hostel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Hey, thank you for your review!! The home away from home feeling is one of our main goals here at Uvaia!! Hope you can stay with us again!! Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTTAWA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The hostel itsself is clean and nice, with a good mediocre breakfast. For people that arent very picky I would recommend this spot. We took the private room which was actually so so so small, the smallest ive ever seen. I didnt see the dorm rooms so I think maybe i would recommend a dorm instead. Plus the private room is kind of in a weird location so if its loud you would hear everything.... however when we were there there was so no body. The staff is kinda blah who dont really smile or talk or know how to recommend anything - which shocks me cause staff at hostels are usually very friendly and want to help you expereince their city to its fullest.
The location is good its a cute neighborhood with a short walk to the metro... Sao Paulo is massive so its hard to have the "best location".

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deesensfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I actually live in São Paulo and needed a place to stay for a couple of days and Uvaia Hostel is in the same neighborhood I live in so I decided to give it a try.

The staff is very friendly and helpful, as were the people staying there. There were a few people around the hostel having something to drink, talking, listening to music and amongst them were the owners and staff. This gives me a good idea on how these people like what they do since they hang around their work even when they are not working.

The bunk beds are very nice and clean (although the sheets could fit better on the bed) with 2 large drawers on the bottom where each person can store their things and put a lock on it. The bathrooms were a bit small but very clean and plentiful. The living space has a TV with some couches, there is a nice small porch which is good for quiet talk and a space in the back where most people gather to drink and talk. The kitchen is open for anyone to use and the breakfast is simple but good.

The neighborhood, like I said, is the same in which I´ve lived in for 3 years now. It may not be quite as agitated as some other neighborhoods in São Paulo, but very close to the hostel there is a street (Rua Joaquim Tavora) that has a lot of bars and restaurants which are great. Vila Mariana is a very balanced neighborhood with great bars but it is residential, it is close to several nice places like the Ibirapuera park and it also has great transportation options.

The only things I would improve, since it was very hot and usually nobody in São Paulo is ready for warm weather, is that they have some spare fans for rooms that don´t have any.

Room Tip: The private room I was shown did not have a fan and was very close to the area where the people hang...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gGzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
188 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This hostel is a very cozy and nice place in a very good location in Sao Paulo. The staff is very kind and helpfull, the environment is very cool, with a lounge, mini-bar, kitchen and garden. There are only few rooms, so everybody knows each other there and its all friendly. the rooms are very modern, good beds, ventilator and everything looks clean. The bathrooms, also, very clean and good shower.
plus, the location is very good: the neighbour is full of cool restaurants and bars and the metro station in less then 10 minutes walking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luizacerioli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uvaia Hostel H, Proprietário at Uvaia Hostel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Luiza! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here! Hope you can come back soon! Big hugs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Vila Mariana
Brazilodge All Suites Hostels
Aki Hostel
#12 of 568 in Sao Paulo
206 reviews
Vila Mariana
The Hostel Vila Mariana
The Hostel Vila Mariana
#8 of 568 in Sao Paulo
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pinheiros
Okupe Hostel Jardins
Okupe Hostel Jardins
#53 of 568 in Sao Paulo
278 reviews
Vila Mariana
We Hostel Design
We Hostel Design
#28 of 568 in Sao Paulo
160 reviews
Jardins
Did's Hostel
Did's Hostel
#22 of 568 in Sao Paulo
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uvaia Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uvaia Hostel

Property: Uvaia Hostel
Address: Rua Morgado de Mateus 273 | Vila Mariana, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 04015-050, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Vila Mariana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 568 Specialty Lodging in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Uvaia Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guests will find more than a really good hostel structure, they will also find that cozy home sweet home feeling, a super comfy bed, 24/7 reception and bar services in a space truly devoted to art with turnover exhibitions, movies, artistic and musical influences and performances! A space where the new and different really counts! We want you to live, dream and exchange. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Uvaia Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uvaia Hostel Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing