We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (592)
Filter reviews
592 results
Traveler rating
134
233
178
24
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
134
233
178
24
23
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 592 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2017 via mobile

I went to this hotel earlier in August with my friends for one week, only to discover that this hotel is completely overrated.

Firstly, the reception staff don't even speak decent English, my friend called down 3 times for an extra roll of toilet paper, they in response send up an extra towel -.-?

Also we paid extra for a half board option. Ignoring the fact that this had to be eaten from 5-7pm. There would only be 2 options at the buffet, which is laughable.

In addition to the buffet, we had 3 vegetarians in our group of 8, who also paid for the half board. A veg option was not present, when asked about this the reception staff asked "you can have salad?" Which wasn't a salad, it was a side salad consisting of lettuce, tomatoes and sweet corn!

The staff obviously had no clue about the local area either. When asked about the nearest laundromat, they were left clueless. To add to that, when google translate is required to help communicate with the concierge, something is definitely a miss.

Overall, a hotel with modern facilities, but with staff that still live in the stone age. Definitely doesn't live up to the 4 stars that it claims to have.

DO NOT VISIT THIS HOTEL!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Sunny k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2016 via mobile

When we booked we rolls that it was our 20 year honeymoon. They told us that they gave us a nice room. It was, for a dog. My husband went downstairs to complain and then we got a nice room! A double room with a giant bed and a nice living room. Some of the staff were real nice. The breakfast was standard.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Mellie1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2015

Nice hotel, good atmosphere, cleaning, cheap, and very good location.
Parking expensive, wifi no soo good on room.
Good breakfast but simple.
Nice pub's around and good market's place.
Very close to Central Market.

:)

Date of stay: June 2015
Thank mpaloso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2015 via mobile

Due to misconnection off flights had to cancel my earlier plan and so decided to spend a day in Sao Paulo. Had shortlisted Hotel Nobilio however rooms were not available so the staff helped me to reach adjacent Normandie Designer Hotel.
It was Sunday evening and the area outside was scary. Hardly I could watch anyone on the streets at 6.30 pm.
But felt safe and refreshing when inside the hotel.
The person at reception was cooperative. Guided me to the rooms and provided ask the info.
Rooms were clean and was on the other side of the road so less noisy. There were no toiletries in bathroom but were arranged immediately when asked for.
Initially felt the retro type bathroom funny in the designer hotel but the note there mentioning specially designed times helped me understand the importance.
Breakfast buffet had variety of items.
Check out was immediate and they also arranged for the cab immediately for the airport.
Good for stay but evenings around hotel appears scary..

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Santosh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normandie H, Gerente at Normandie Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2015

Hello Santosh S.

First of all I´d like to thank you for all the complements related to our service, food and accomodations, and also to spend your time writing it.

Regarding your security concerns outside the hotel, even though the streets are usually empty on sunday evenings, we have a dedicated security service at the hotel and we´re also constantly in touch with the local police in order to report any suspect activities around our block. Anyway, considering that São Paulo is one of the biggest cities in the world like New York, Tokio and others, we do not encourage our guests to leave the Hotel for a walk when the streets are empty, but rather order you a cab through our free concierge service located at the lobby of the hotel.

Related to the retro type bathroom comment, we´re glad that you took your time to read and understand its importance. Even though we´re a member of the Design Hotels International since 2001 when we completely refurbished the Hotel, we´ve decided to preserve some aspects of our history by keeping some historical pieces of art, especially in our bathrooms.

Thank you and we hope to see you soon again!

Abraços,
Valdemar Capela
Gerente Operacional
Normandie Design Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed here last night with my family because our connection flight was delay and the airline sent us here. TERRIBLE hotel. Avoid it under any cost!!!!!! Really!!!!!!!

The first thing we saw when we entered the room was a half eaten cookie in the floor. Dirty. Everything is really old.... But dirty old, not nice vintage old.

Bathroom full of hair from
Someone else. The shower was actually still wet from another guest.

At night the noise from the street is really unbelievable. The windows don't close completely, so you feel you are actually sleeping in the street. We were in the 4th floor and every time a car or truck or bus passed we felt like if it was passing over our beds. (We had two rooms and the experience was the same)

The neighborhood is really not safe. You can't go out the street, specially after 6pm. Many homeless people outside. We felt really unsecure.

Date of stay: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Camgysl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews