We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How do you say "anachronism" in Portuguese?”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Maksoud Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maksoud Plaza
Ranked #39 of 323 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Culpeper, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“How do you say "anachronism" in Portuguese?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is a very interesting property, and can be fascinatingly fun if you are wishing to overlook some glaring inadequacies.

Keeping it simple: The hotel was constructed in the '70s as state-of-the-art; since then, except for a few apparent additions (such as WiFi, big TVs, and a business center), nothing has changed. Not even the linens, curtains, soaps, tablecloths, fixtures, or plastic plants. Everything is neatly dusted, well preserved, and very, very 70's.

For the price, even with a guest discount (not sure who else would eat here besides guests), you can do better at the many restaurants in the area. The breakfast is good but not a selling point; there's no prepare-to-order eggs or speciality dishes.

The staff is a bright spot-- the staff, with a few exceptions, has indeed turned over a few times since the 70's. They are helpful, courteous, and very knowledgeable. The front desk all speak Portuguese and English at a minimum, with plenty also speaking Spanish.

The rooms are clean but fairly threadbare. Bare floors, 70s-era tile and toilet, even the good ol' bidet, fully functional, in every room. The beds are tired, the window dressings are tired, the furniture is tired.

Every room has heat and AC, but they only work when you are present in the room thanks to a motion (or maybe heat?) detector thingy on the wall.

The location is safe and easy, close to subways and shopping and restaurants. As anywhere in SP, stay in lighted areas at night and avoid late nights alone. Several bus companies use the location as a rally point for trips to the Guarulhos airport, so that might be handy to avoid cab fare to/from the airport.

Low points: The wifi is undependable and in/out. It seems to depend on time of day as well as location in the hotel (I have stayed in several different rooms over a few months). You are granted a single log-in passcode with your paid room and you can only use it on one wireless device at a time. Logging in again from another device knocks the first one offline. The food in their garish and highly touted "gastronomic center" (of the 70's...) is too expensive and the service is slow.

Weird point: The display cases in the lobby feature books, some by Claudio Maksoud or other family members, which are devoted to how 9/11 was an inside job or how 9/11 (and other attacks) were God's condemnation/punishment against the USA. They have been there for at least a year, maybe more....surprising, as the hotel caters to a lot of Americans in the form of airline crews from Miami, Dallas, Atlanta, and New York. Another book, "Lost in the Lobby," recounts hotel-staff adventures dealing with the rude, obnoxious, and stupid guests. Strange choice of literature!

Creepy point: You can not move anywhere in the lobby level without being under constant supervision. Or at least that's what it feels like. Not only must you make a fly-by of the front desk to get to the elevators, you must also pass muster of the "hall monitor" stationed at the elevator plaza. I don't have anything to hide, or even be discreet about...but I still FELT like I did! They watch every move you make.

Funny point: A display case in the lobby of a scale-model Maksoud Plaza, complete with garish paint, plastic plants, and heliport on the roof. The entire model is sealed in a see-through plastic case, preserving it for posterity...that says it all!

Bottom line: Safe, clean, affordable, friendly. All that! And sterile, creepy, and threadbare.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet. Farther from the elevators makes it a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peprefs2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maksoudplaza, General Manager at Maksoud Plaza, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Your opinion is very important to improve the quality of our services.
We would add the following information.
Our furniture is made from hardwood, obtained especially for the Maksoud Plaza. These mobile have rich functionality and comfort, and respecting the current concepts of sustainability, conserve and keep them constantly, after all its wood came from forests that no longer exist.
Were recently removed all the carpets in the rooms and suites for our guests really are in an environment totally hypoallergenic. Our mattresses are top quality, and constantly renewed, to provide the best comfort to our guests. The linen is 100% cotton. Natural plants hanging from internal suspended gardens, in all floors, in contrast with the impressive architecture of the majestic Atrium, with natural sunlight through a translucent ceiling, supported by an artistic lattice structure of rare beauty.
The Gastronomic Center of the Maksoud Plaza features delicacies from the four continents, as well as a refined and secure. For hygienic food only certain dishes are freshly made on request. We are increasingly improving our services, to offer the best treatment for our clients.
All rooms and suites have electronic installations of advanced technology for customized temperature regulation and lighting scenarios.
The Maksoud Plaza pioneered the installation of internet access via broadband. With the new devices smartphones and tablets, we know that the issue of connectivity is increasingly dynamic, so we are changing our system to accommodate more than one device connected per guest.
Our concern for safety, so necessary in large cities, can perhaps be seen as ostentatious, though intended to ensure the best tranquility for our guests.
The expression of the artist's book, it is a piece of fiction, and as such should be seen, without any intention of causing embarrassment.
We remain at your disposal for any further information. Please call me if you are here.
Sincerely,
Henry Maksoud Neto
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    766
    266
    74
    47
See reviews for
368
453
113
736
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Right off the bat, I like this hotel!

It evokes a feeling of stepping back in time. It's almost as if the hotel has been preserved from it's birth decades ago!

Tripadvisor reviewers have done an excellent job rating this property, but I'll emphasize a few key points:

I liked:
-Stellar location, In the heart of of SP's Paulista Avenue area, you really couldn't ask for a better spot. Central to everything.
-Lobby. They don't build them like this any more. Beautiful modern-era atrium lobby that evokes such a feeling of glamor and spaciousness.
-Service. I think many of these employees have been there for decades. They are helpful and chock-full of information. A problem with my in-room wifi was deal with swiftly and with ease.
-Clean. The maids do a really good job. The rooms are spotless and the daily service was thorough.

The dislike:
The rooms, oh the rooms!. You can call it a masterpiece, or you can call it retro....but it's just plain outdated!! But in all honestly, it's not a criticism.....just a fact! The beds and furniture have seen it's younger days pass by. And although the rooms may lack modernism, I still found it comfortable and certainly clean. Just keep your expectations in check: Think of a W Hotel room and sort of done a 180!!!!!!

I look forward to staying here again sometime!

BONUS: I love the lime scented shampoo and conditioner!!

Room Tip: The higher up, the quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GEOFFS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maksoudplaza, General Manager at Maksoud Plaza, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
We thank you very much for your kind comments regarding our hotel in your recent stay with us.

Comments like yours are very important to us, as we are always trying to reach the excellence in our services.

Our furniture is traditional in classic style and all done in hardwood of the best quality, always in accordance with modern concepts of sustainability.

We sincerely thank you and look forward to host you again at the Maksoud Plaza.

Henry Maksoud Neto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howey in the Hills, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

The purpose of this trip was to attend a meeting taking place at the hotel, which made it very convenient to stay at this hotel. The hotel staff was all very nice and courteous. The breakfast was very good. The rooms were nice and the internet was good. The only thing I would say is that the hotel is beginning to look a little outdated. Other than that, I would stay here again if I needed to.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripJamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maksoudplaza, Manager at Maksoud Plaza, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Your opinion is very important to improve the quality of our services.

The Maksoud Plaza is well known important landmark of tradition and elegance in the city of São Paulo. In 32 years of operation it has been innovating all the time, without losing its classic features.

It will be a pleasure to host you again at the Maksoud Plaza Hotel. Please call me up if you are here.

Henry Maksoud Neto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

This hotel has one of the most beautiful receptions that I've ever seen.
However, it's easy to see that this a quite old hotel, that had it's best times back in the 80's. Nowadays, it's an old hotel, with less conditions than other hotels in Sao Paulo.
On the bright side, we have to say that it has an excellent location, 2 minutes walking form the famous Paulista Avenue and the fact that it has his own theater in the basement of the hotel.
Bottom line, you can find better options in Sao Paulo for this kind of money.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a suite. It makes all the difference!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ravenx8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maksoudplaza, Manager at Maksoud Plaza, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Thank you for your comments.

The Maksoud Plaza is an important landmark of tradition and elegance in the city of São Paulo. Between three decades of operation it has been innovating constantly, without losing its classic features, joining all-time tradition and modernity.

Few hotels in the city can stay 32 years in full operation and under the same management. As independent Hotel, conceived and designed by its owner, with unusual attention to details, providing for a rare combination of comfort, security and convenience for one´s perfect stay. As every masterpiece, it raises different feelings and opinions, which are welcome.

We remain at your disposal for any further information. Please call me if you are here.

Henry Maksoud Neto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

The location of Macksoud Plaza Hotel in São Paulo couldn't be better. A few blocks away from the city's most famous Avenue this 80's fashioned hotel stands in the charming neighbourhood of Jardins. However I must say that the general services at this place is getting each time worse. New staff definitely don't have the sofistication or the politeness required for a five star hotel. I was even more disappointed while having lunch at the restaurant, that used to be one of the best around and now the food and service are both awful. The place most certainly requires a new administration, or else it'll have to be sold (as it almost was last year).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FelipeMin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maksoudplaza, Manager at Maksoud Plaza, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
We appreciate the comments posted.

The Maksoud Plaza Hotel, from the past 32 years, has been a Brazilian icon of service and hospitality.

Just to clarify, 41% of our employees work at the hotel for more than 10 years and all of our staff constantly receive training for better services, politeness and manners.

Our four restaurants and five bars, operating 24 hours every day, are known for selecting the freshest and high quality ingredients, making one of the best international and local cuisine of São Paulo.

Under the same management and owner since its opening, the hotel is constantly upgrading and updating all the rooms, common areas, events pavilion and services. Recently we constructed a new 5-ton capacity Helipad and soon will open a new city view bar with a 360° landscape view of the city.

For any more comments or information don´t hesitate to contact me personally.

Henry Maksoud Neto
Maksoud Plaza - São Paulo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2011

As a crew member for a mayor airline, we stay at different hotels around the world, I would say my stay at the Maksoud was just wonderful. All the personal try to make your stay an enjoyable one with out any effort. Had a corner room it was spacious and clean, furniture hasn't been changed for some time but have to stay they are very well kept, internet worked just fine in my room and common areas.
Overall this was a relaxing stay in Sao Paulo, looking forward to my next stay at the Maksoud Plaza Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arubaguy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maksoudplaza, Manager at Maksoud Plaza, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thanks for your gentle comments.
We will continue our incessant search for excellence in providing services to continue deserving your preference.
It will be a pleasure to host it again at the Maksoud Plaza.
Maksoud Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami,FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

As a airline crew member I experience many hotels around the world. Some better than others, Although I agree the Maksoud Plaza could use a few upgrades like having coffee makers in room. I was delighted with this place, from the moment I walked in the entire staff was very prompt and attentive, smiles at every corner. The location is excelent! and though some reviews call it "dated" I found it charming and extremley clean! Im looking foward to mt next stay here...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ricanpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maksoudplaza, General Manager at Maksoud Plaza, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for your kind comments.

Comments like yours are very important to us, as we are always trying to reach the excellence in our services.

All of our staff are proud to have satisfied your expectations and look forward to receive you back soon!
In regard of your observations, we would like to inform that as of December 01st we will provide, to our Air companies crewmembers, electric water kettles, coffee and tea pods in the rooms.

Sincerely
Henry Maksoud Neto
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Jardins
Melia Paulista
Melia Paulista
#28 of 323 in Sao Paulo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
Hilton Sao Paulo Morumbi
#11 of 323 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,523 reviews
Jardins
Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bela Vista
L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo
L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo
#8 of 323 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo
#5 of 323 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,003 reviews
Jardins
Royal Jardins Hotel
Royal Jardins Hotel
#18 of 323 in Sao Paulo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maksoud Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maksoud Plaza

Property: Maksoud Plaza
Address: Rua Sao Carlos do Pinhal, 424, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01333-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Bela Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
#16 Spa Hotel in Sao Paulo
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
#31 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
#37 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Maksoud Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the most iconic hotels in São Paulo, Maksoud Plaza Hotel is quite simply the place to stay when visiting the city for business or leisure. Perfectly located just one block off of fashionable Avenida Paulista, steps from top businesses and the finest shopping and restaurants in the Bela Vista district, our hotel is a beacon of five-star luxury. Whether you are relaxing in our 416 exquisitely designed rooms or suites, unwinding in the heated indoor pool or savoring gourmet cuisine in our renowned restaurant, you will experience the epitome of elegance and sophistication. Guests arriving at Maksoud Plaza find themselves immersed in a rare union of art and architecture. The majestic Atrium Lobby is adorned with the works of world-famous artists yet the ambiance is warm, cozy and inviting. At every moment of your stay, you will enjoy the bespoke service and gracious hospitality that have set Maksoud Plaza as São Paulo's premier business and social hub for over 37 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maksoud Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maksoud Plaza Sao Paulo, Brazil
Maksoud Plaza Hotel Sao Paulo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing