We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gran Estanplaza Berrini
Ranked #8 of 327 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2014

The breakfast is delicious and the "show kitchen" is perfect. There is an cumplimentary "afternoon cafe" in front of the elevators. A delicious snack at a perfect time.

Unfortunately, the Internet is very expensive and drops constantly.

The hotel is very near the Airport Bus Service stop, so it's much cheaper to take the bus to/from the airport than taking a taxi.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LSergioMoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estanplaza, Gerente geral at Gran Estanplaza Berrini, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with other travellers!
At the Gran Estanplaza Berrini our staff is dedicated to providing attentive customer service, so the fact that you had a great stay shows that we really did our job! It is truly our pleasure to have made your stay more enjoyable and we appreciate you taking the time to point out our location and our breakfast.
We hope to welcome you back very soon, in the meantime, please let us know if we can be of any further assistance, and if we can help you plan your next visit to São Paulo.

Best regards,

Gustavo Granatta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (827)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 113 of 827 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2014

This hotel is right next to the World Trade Center, and nearby U.S. branded properties are about twice as much. If you or your company aren't willing to pay that much the Gran Estanplaza is a good alternative with a few caveats.

First getting the few caveats out of the way:

1) As many others mentioned, it's *loud* here. So loud that I broke down and paid $2 for a high-quality white noise app for my smartphone.

2) Also as others have noted, if you have limited mobility the shower/tub is completely unusable because the step over the tub wall is very high.

3) The internet connection is fast but drops *constantly*. For the price they're charging for internet access, it should be more stable.

Now with the good things about this hotel, which I think more than make up for the other items:

1) They've taken note of complaints here on Tripadvisor and have responded to them. For example, my room has an iron and an ironing board, one of the common complaints here. My room (the bedroom part) also has blackout linings on the curtains, another complaint here that the management seems to have taken note of and addressed.

2) The bed is very comfortable and the linens are high quality, combed cotton with high thread count. The bathroom setup is nice (other than for people with limited mobility) and the rooms have nice tropical hardwood floors.

3) The staff is very friendly and helpful. Some of them speak English very well, others speak it enough for basic front-desk conversational needs.

4) The morning breakfast buffet is excellent. They have omelets, fresh fruit, meats, cheeses, and more.

5) Dinner is awesome at either the restaurant or the cafe, though I recommend the cafe. The restaurant's food is not much better and the cafe has live music that's nice in the evenings.

6) The room is very clean, spotless really.

There's not much the management can do about the noise short of replacing all the windows, but as responsive as they've been to other issues hopefully they can address the internet instability. If you don't mind a bit of road noise and have full mobility, this is a good alternative to the ridiculously overpriced U.S. chain hotels near the United Nations building.

Room Tip: Higher is better... Lots of road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank ctpncaveman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estanplaza, Gerente geral at Gran Estanplaza Berrini, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

We’d like to thank you for the preference given to the Gran Estanplaza Berrini! We appreciate your relevant comments and that will be very helpful for our future to improve and to adjust our product, thus offering the best in services and facilities.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our facilities and services and we are sorry about your internet issue, we have 24h internet support and they will be notified of your dissatisfaction.

Once again, we would like to thank you very much for taking your time in providing your comments about our structure and service, sharing your experience with other travelers!

Cordially,

Gustavo Granatta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is a great hotel, working very hard to be competitive with its 5 star neighbours (Hilton and Sheraton). The service is attentive, and responsive. The rooms are large, modern and well maintained. The restaurant and bar are great. The breakfast is delicious, and as noted in other reviews, the piano is a very nice touch. For travellers used to international standards of 5 star service this falls slightly short - for example, we requested an iron, and after waiting a long time this came, but the hotel could not locate an ironing board. I know it sounds silly, but its always better to attend meetings without luggage creases in your clothes. There are no spa/massage services available. The hotel is located a 10 mins walk from the local train station, across the road from a reasonable shopping centre, and next to a reliable and safe taxi stand.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomDon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estanplaza, Gerente geral at Gran Estanplaza Berrini, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear Mr. Tom,

Thank you for your review of your stay at the Gran Estanplaza Berrini!
It´s a pleasure to have made your stay enjoyable and we appreciate you taking the time to point out about our location, rooms and restaurant. It is very nice to hear that you enjoyed our piano live music during your breakfast!
Based on your comment, it is important to inform you that we recently improved our ironing equipements, putting iron and ironing board in our rooms, service that will be finish in august. We would like to have you back on your next visit to São Paulo, so that you can positively use this service. We appreciate you staying with us and we look forward to welcome you back with us soon.

Best regards,

Gustavo Granatta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

the old fashioned and a little tired decoration, the small and noisy rooms and the tolerable breakfast are the most negative points. The helpful and attentive staff is the only good thing in this hotel. Definitely there are much better options in the region.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lontramil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estanplaza, Gerente geral at Gran Estanplaza Berrini, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your stay and accommodation. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our room. Please allow us to express our apologies.
Our staff is dedicated to providing attentive customer and verify that guests are satisfied with their accommodation while in-house, so if they are dissatisfied with some details, we can do our very best to resolve the situation.
We really appreciate your highlight about our staff and we will pass on your comments to all our team.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future at Gran Estanplaza Hotel, and we will be glad to make all the arrangements for you to ensure a memorable stay with us.

Best Regards,

Gustavo Granatta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Stayed 2 nights during the World Cup in June 2014. Hotel is in a good and safe area, but still close enough to the metro and nice parts of Sao Paulo to not feel out of the way. Room was spacious and comfortable, shower was decent, with a great view over the city. Very nice breakfast, and a decent enough bar area for the evening. I haven't travelled much in Brazil and was a bit concerned about staying in Sao Paulo, but this hotel was very good and won't let you down. Special mention for the front desk staff who were extremely helpful and friedly

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulandJane10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estanplaza, Gerente geral at Gran Estanplaza Berrini, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Segue,

Dear Paul and Jane,

Thank you for taking your time to write about your experience at the Gran Estanplaza Hotel!
We are glad to hear nice comments about our accomodations and location, and also about our Farm Breakfast.
Thank you for mentioning the attentive service from our Front Desk team!
We look forward to welcome you back with us again.

Best Regards,

Gustavo Granatta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

The Gran Estanplaza was a wonderful base during the World Cup.

Three key areas for any hotel all hit the mark:

Breakfast - brilliant selection of fresh food and attentive staff who were friendly and able to supply high quality double espresso.

The classic pianist every morning is an added bonus and I thoroughly enjoyed his rendition of Phantom of the Opera.

Wifi - very reliable and quick - although did have to keep signing in on a daily basis and only allowed two devices - which moving forward I would urge them to reconsider.

Rooms - very comfortable and well equipped - black out curtains a definite bonus.

Located in the business district it is easy to get out and explore the city although quiet at night.

Berrini station is win walking distance and the tube system is very easy to navigate but most guests will probably uses taxis to navigate their way around.

Most city taxi drivers don't actually know where it is but if you mention the Sheraton they manage to find their way.

Top hotel for business travellers!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estanplaza, Gerente geral at Gran Estanplaza Berrini, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014
Google Translation

Prezado Sr. Ben

Muito obrigado pelos seus comentários!

Adoramos saber que apreciou nossas instalações e serviços.

É sempre um enorme prazer saber que pudemos proporcionar o melhor conforto enquanto esteve hospedado conosco.

Será uma enorme alegria revê-lo em breve para mais uma experiência em nossa casa brasileira.

Atenciosamente,

Gustavo Granatta
Gerente Geral

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Elegant hotel next to the Hilton Morumbi and the Sheraton.
Older than the other two but charming.

The service is good and the rooms are comfortable. They could be little bigger but are still reasonable.

Central location for business.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olaf R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo
#5 of 327 in Sao Paulo
3,627 reviews
Hilton Sao Paulo Morumbi
#11 of 327 in Sao Paulo
2,964 reviews
Vila Mariana
Pullman Sao Paulo Ibirapuera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Sao Paulo
#15 of 327 in Sao Paulo
1,752 reviews
Jardins
InterContinental Sao Paulo
InterContinental Sao Paulo
#3 of 327 in Sao Paulo
1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Estanplaza Berrini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Estanplaza Berrini

Address: Rua Arizona 1517, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 04567-003, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range: $88 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Estanplaza Berrini 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining a classic architecture with rich and unique Brazilian decoration in the middle of Berrini and Nacoes Unidas Avenues, the Gran Estanplaza Berrini has become the newest benchmark in service refinement in Sao Paulo. Its touch of opulence and charm fascinate the most sophisticated guests. Ideal for business travelers, the hotel offers a full structure of services and facilities such as workstation with high speed internet in all rooms, DVD, central air- conditioning, 2 balconies in each room, sitting area, cable TV, marble bathroom, business center and 24 hour room service. Featuring the fitnmess centre the guests can enjoy all the facilities of an urban Spa, such as massage, sauna, yoga and relaxing sessions without leaving the hotel. Enjoy the library with fireplace or the happy hour at the European- style cafe after having a nice dinner at the Paillard Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Gran Estanplaza Berrini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Estanplaza Sao Paulo Hotel Sao Paulo
Gran Estanplaza Hotel Sao Paulo
Gran Estanplaza Berrini Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing