We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice in Expensive Brooklin SP”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Estanplaza Berrini
Ranked #9 of 321 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice in Expensive Brooklin SP”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I travel to Brazil 4 or 5 times a year on business. I love Sao Paulo. I have, however, become increasingly frustrated by the insanely high hotel rates in Brooklin. Enter Gran Estanplaza. The GE is a solid choice with excellent service, a great restaurant on site with included breakfast, and clean, spacious rooms. While the rooms are older and show signs of wear, they are well-kept and on par with the Sheraton WTC next door. The location cannot be beaten and the hotel, imo, is the clear winner in the neighbourhood. Unless, of course, you'd prefer to spend $600-$700/night for an okay Hilton next door!

Room Tip: Rooms with Even Numbers are quieter ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    245
    56
    21
    1
See reviews for
77
131
28
440
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
141 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My stay at the Gran Estanplaza just off of Avenue Bernini was a treat. Because of a last-minute trip, I was fortunate to be booked into a suite - both the bedroom and the living room were large and elegant. The suite included a separate hallway with closets leading into the bathroom.

The views from the hotel were stunning.

The staff was so very courteous. Every time I left the building, a bellman rushed to hold open a door for me. I departed the hotel early one morning for the the airport - even at 4:00 am, there was a bellman to hold open the door and load my luggage into a taxi.

The suite level included a private dining room with breakfast and drinks in the evening.

The exterior of the hotel exudes old-world architecture.

My only complaint was that the television could not be switched to accept the HDMI signal from my laptop, although there was a port to receive a HDMI cable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texas_forrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyer, in
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

As others have said the location is very good for the WTC office complex. Near several shopping centers. The hotel is nicely decorated and always spotless. The rooms are being redecorated and those are in excellent condition. The sound proofing is not great (balcony doors) and it could be quiet loud outside due to a club nearby. Breakfast and lunch buffets are top notch. Dinner is not that good. The rates here are so much better than the Sheraton across the street. I recommend.

Room Tip: Try to get a room not facing Rua Arizona
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkpapuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Since my Sao Paulo office is located at the WTC I always look for hotels within walking distance (getting a cab in the morning rush hour is insane). The Grand Estanplaza has great service, a superb breakfast service and very attentive staff.

That said, the whole feeling of the hotel is Old Fashion, not old, but old fashion. Wood panels everywhere, heavy/dark furniture in the rooms, brass, you get the idea. I like a lighter touch. Internet sucks, but this seems to be the norm with Brazilian hotels. Expect to be able to check emails, and nothing more.

Not a cheap option neither, but you can beat the location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diego B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trenton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Great room, good and safe location but NO ELECTRICAL OUTLETS in room. I was wondering why people were in the lobby with their laptops when I arrived. Then I tried to plug in my computer and phone. Ya gotta be kidding! I used the outlet in the bathroom to charge my phone and unplugged the only light that was connected to a wall socket for the computer. I had to make sure I didn't trip over the cord from the desk to the socket.
The breakfast buffet was great. There was something for everyone including vegans and vegetarians.
Lobby was adequate. There were restaurants in walking distance. Wifi could be used on your phone or on the computer. Free!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donnagTrenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
170 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here several times and is the best option for the Brooklyn area that is affordable. Good atmosphere and the staff is very nice. Even the desk lady recognised me after 6 months. Perhaps not good. :). Will stay there again. Rooms are ok and well decorated. Shower is good and breakfast great.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
136 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I have seen mixed reviews for this property, but I am not sure why. It is located in perhaps the best business district in Sao Paulo, and is a wonderful mid-sized hotel. It is literally across the street from the Sheraton and Hilton, both of which are less personal and significantly more expensive. An elaborate buffet breakfast is included, and the lunch buffet is also quite impressive. The rooms aren't huge, but my king room was certainly "big enough" and included a desk. I look forward to returning to the Gran Estanplaza on my next trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chi-twn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Hilton Sao Paulo Morumbi
#11 of 321 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,598 reviews
Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo
#5 of 321 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,109 reviews
Vila Mariana
Pullman Sao Paulo Ibirapuera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardins
Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel
Jardins
InterContinental Sao Paulo
InterContinental Sao Paulo
#4 of 321 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Estanplaza Berrini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Estanplaza Berrini

Property: Gran Estanplaza Berrini
Address: Rua Arizona 1517, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 04567-003, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
#39 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Estanplaza Berrini 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining a classic architecture with rich and unique Brazilian decoration in the middle of Berrini and Nacoes Unidas Avenues, the Gran Estanplaza Berrini has become the newest benchmark in service refinement in Sao Paulo. Its touch of opulence and charm fascinate the most sophisticated guests. Ideal for business travelers, the hotel offers a full structure of services and facilities such as workstation with high speed internet in all rooms, DVD, central air- conditioning, 2 balconies in each room, sitting area, cable TV, marble bathroom, business center and 24 hour room service. Featuring the fitnmess centre the guests can enjoy all the facilities of an urban Spa, such as massage, sauna, yoga and relaxing sessions without leaving the hotel. Enjoy the library with fireplace or the happy hour at the European- style cafe after having a nice dinner at the Paillard Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Gran Estanplaza Berrini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Estanplaza Sao Paulo Hotel Sao Paulo
Gran Estanplaza Hotel Sao Paulo
Gran Estanplaza Berrini Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing