We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with old fashion style”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Estanplaza Berrini
Ranked #10 of 326 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Since my Sao Paulo office is located at the WTC I always look for hotels within walking distance (getting a cab in the morning rush hour is insane). The Grand Estanplaza has great service, a superb breakfast service and very attentive staff.

That said, the whole feeling of the hotel is Old Fashion, not old, but old fashion. Wood panels everywhere, heavy/dark furniture in the rooms, brass, you get the idea. I like a lighter touch. Internet sucks, but this seems to be the norm with Brazilian hotels. Expect to be able to check emails, and nothing more.

Not a cheap option neither, but you can beat the location.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diego B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (774)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 774 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2012

Great room, good and safe location but NO ELECTRICAL OUTLETS in room. I was wondering why people were in the lobby with their laptops when I arrived. Then I tried to plug in my computer and phone. Ya gotta be kidding! I used the outlet in the bathroom to charge my phone and unplugged the only light that was connected to a wall socket for the computer. I had to make sure I didn't trip over the cord from the desk to the socket.
The breakfast buffet was great. There was something for everyone including vegans and vegetarians.
Lobby was adequate. There were restaurants in walking distance. Wifi could be used on your phone or on the computer. Free!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donnagTrenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here several times and is the best option for the Brooklyn area that is affordable. Good atmosphere and the staff is very nice. Even the desk lady recognised me after 6 months. Perhaps not good. :). Will stay there again. Rooms are ok and well decorated. Shower is good and breakfast great.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I have seen mixed reviews for this property, but I am not sure why. It is located in perhaps the best business district in Sao Paulo, and is a wonderful mid-sized hotel. It is literally across the street from the Sheraton and Hilton, both of which are less personal and significantly more expensive. An elaborate buffet breakfast is included, and the lunch buffet is also quite impressive. The rooms aren't huge, but my king room was certainly "big enough" and included a desk. I look forward to returning to the Gran Estanplaza on my next trip.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chi-twn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This hotel has a cozy, charming, European feel, which I liked better than the sleek, modern hotels - Sheraton and Hilton - across the street. The staff were uniformly attentive, friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and well laid out. I had no problems with the wifi or the noise others on this site complained of. The breakfast buffet is wonderful, and the one meal we ate in the hotel restaurant was good. I would defintely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Even though this is a business hotel, I was there in an weekend for a wedding -- which was in the hotel.

Room was spacious, with a business desk and a nice balcony. Bed was good. Bathroom with a bathtub and nice amenities.

Free internet is limited to a few hours. Breakfast was very good and the responsible for it was extremely kind.

Staff was always very helpful.

Location: it's in a quiet street but you'll hear the urban noise from the Marginal Pinheiros. There are taxis right in front and the Berrini train station is about 1km away.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mconstantino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Internet connection needs a deep study at this place. The signal and the performance are too weak for the wifi. If you ask you can get a cable but that is certainly not the standard anymore. The SPA and Gym needs refurnishing with newer equipment and the rooms and update in the interiors. The noise level is also a bit too high. the food is though good at this hotel. i can recommend the restaurant and the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Urenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo
#5 of 326 in Sao Paulo
3,428 reviews
Hilton Sao Paulo Morumbi
#11 of 326 in Sao Paulo
2,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vila Mariana
Pullman Sao Paulo Ibirapuera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Estanplaza Berrini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Estanplaza Berrini

Address: Rua Arizona 1517, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 04567-003, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
#39 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range: $74 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Estanplaza Berrini 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining a classic architecture with rich and unique Brazilian decoration in the middle of Berrini and Nacoes Unidas Avenues, the Gran Estanplaza Berrini has become the newest benchmark in service refinement in Sao Paulo. Its touch of opulence and charm fascinate the most sophisticated guests. Ideal for business travelers, the hotel offers a full structure of services and facilities such as workstation with high speed internet in all rooms, DVD, central air- conditioning, 2 balconies in each room, sitting area, cable TV, marble bathroom, business center and 24 hour room service. Featuring the fitnmess centre the guests can enjoy all the facilities of an urban Spa, such as massage, sauna, yoga and relaxing sessions without leaving the hotel. Enjoy the library with fireplace or the happy hour at the European- style cafe after having a nice dinner at the Paillard Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Estanplaza Berrini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Estanplaza Sao Paulo Hotel Sao Paulo
Gran Estanplaza Hotel Sao Paulo
Gran Estanplaza Berrini Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing