We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 3.5 for me. Good hotel.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Estanplaza Berrini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gran Estanplaza Berrini
Ranked #9 of 322 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A 3.5 for me. Good hotel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Had a hard time rating this between Average and Very Good. I would call it "good." Good location - safe and accessible to the UN and WTC. The room was average/good but I do agree with other reviewers that the noise from the street was barely filtered - at times it was as noisy as having the window open.

The service was excellent and the staff were friendly and accomodating. Food service was good as well.

Room Tip: If possible, get a room not directly facing the front entrance/street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carryon101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    237
    54
    21
    1
See reviews for
73
120
27
425
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Louis
Level Contributor
244 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

This hotel definitely needs some help. It is located across from work which makes it very convenient. My room was located towards the road and heard vehicles all night long. I also got to hear my neighbors as I was trying to sleep. My room smelled like a combination of cigarette smoke and must. This visit to the Estanplaza was not great. I do enjoy the breakfast, afterwork snacks in the lobby and bar with a great place to people watch. Hope they remodel their rooms or I'll be staying elsewhere.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank farm2fork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

This hotel sells the idea that they are five stars but they are more like a 4. The hotel is very nice, decoration is great but the corporate rooms are small. The windows aren't soundproof and when I stayed there was a construction going on the street behind so couldn't sleep past 6:30am.

The location is great if you are going to stay around the south business area of São Paulo such as Berrini Avenue, but if you need to go to Paulista Avenue or other areas I don't recommend it. Not recommended for tourism since it isn’t near any touristic points of the city. This hotel is very far from downtown São Paulo, so you will probably get stuck in traffic while trying to get to downtown. The good deal about this hotel is that it's right in front of a shopping mall so you can easily find a restaurant but since this mall is only a furniture mall you won't be able to go shopping unless you wanna buy furniture.

Don't take the cab right in front of the hotel; they are more expensive than the common taxis in São Paulo. You will pay double the price for cab if you take the ones in front, just walk to Berrini avenue and get a cab there.

This hotel is close to many night clubs so you won't have trouble finding one while staying there but I advise not to walk out of the hotel at night, after 11pm because the streets are kinda deserted in that area. Berrini avenue is totally deserted after 11pm, especially during the weekend.

Room Tip: Don't take the cab right in front of the hotel; it's more expensive than the common cab in S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
93 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

You look for a 5 star hotel at least to garanty a nice bed and a soundproof room. This is not the case at Gran Estanplaza; All night long you hear every thing going on in Sao Pablo, even the taxi drivers on the hotel driveway.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SBV7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Clean, roomy, with extensive variety in cuisine. On the negative side, Internet is a bit erratic, and when you step away from the very helpfull front desk none speaks English- not even basic words. Overall an enjoyable experience.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Alxc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

I am still staying as a guest of this hotel and although this is not a terrible hotel it is certainly not a 5 star hotel by any standard and I would not recommend it for the price it charges. Having traveled almost 3 out of 4 weeks for the past year I acknowledge that I am becoming picky with my choice of hotels but I do try to make my evaluations in a fair way, considering the price point of the hotel.
Let's start with the positive: the breakfast is quite good and room service has an extended menu 24/7. Although when I woke up jet lagged at 5am there was no bread available. Also, rooms have a decent size which is becoming rare in big cities.
Now the negatives: rooms are cold due to thin walls, and terrible single glass windows (and winter in Sao Paulo is not smooth! - you need sweater and wool jackets). Beds have grandmother type of blankets, and no duvets which is a joke in a 5 star place. A/C only works for cold temperature (I've tried 3 different rooms and it doesn't work in none of them). Desks do not have ergonomic chairs and wifi is expensive and not included in room rate. My bathroom has a window that doesn't close properly. The hotel is undergoing renovation so I woke up this morning with hammers above my head. I asked to check out and they offered another room far way from renovation floor. Nobody mentions renovation when you book or check-in which is revealing of low ethics. In front of the hotel there is construction going on and rooms have zero caustic isolation due to poor construction so you cannot escape from noise. With the noble exception of room service, everything else you request to front desk (e.g. laundry pick-up, assistance, etc) takes always ages (more than 30min) and you usually need to repeat your request multiple times. I am staying for 1 month and they are charging me early check-in fee. They are obviously entitled to charge it, but I wonder how many 1month guests they have - maybe they could try to make me feel a bit more special...
As I said the breakfast is of high quality but I do not understand why they don't just put a jar of coffee on your table. You have to chase waiters for a refill which is annoying (they rarely come out of their own initiative so you really need to chase them). Also, on the breakfast room they have low quality pianists playing everyday. So what could be a good idea of breakfast with piano sound becomes a nightmare due to terrible playing of most of them (probably cheap musicians) - so just make sure you ask for a table away from the piano. To be fair they have a duet in the evenings that play and sing some nice brazilian music at the restaurant and those do stay in tune. Overall a 3 star experience in a 5 star hotel so I cannot recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PedroPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

This hotel is ideally located for the United Nations buildings. The service is really excellent. Their attention to detail is great: The housekeeping keep track of your habits and will provide you with extras to cater for you.
The breakfast buffet is extensive, there is so much choice and is of great quality.
The reception staff are very helpful, you can ask them anything and they will be able to help.
I asked to check out late as my flight was leaving later in the afternoon, and it was no problem.

The only downside, as with many 4 star hotels is that you are still expected to pay for Wifi. You can only log onto 1 device at a time so you cant have your phone and your laptop connected at the same time.
Also the room was very cold and the aircon system didnt seem to respond to my requests to up the temperature. But I made good use of the blankets in the closets.

Apart from that, lovely stay, lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room facing the UN building as if you face the other side it is noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarcelonaBcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Hilton Sao Paulo Morumbi
#10 of 322 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,465 reviews
Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo
#5 of 322 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,915 reviews
Vila Mariana
Pullman Sao Paulo Ibirapuera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardins
Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel
Jardins
Emiliano Hotel
Emiliano Hotel
#1 of 322 in Sao Paulo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Estanplaza Berrini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Estanplaza Berrini

Property: Gran Estanplaza Berrini
Address: Rua Arizona 1517, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 04567-003, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
#39 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Estanplaza Berrini 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining a classic architecture with rich and unique Brazilian decoration in the middle of Berrini and Nacoes Unidas Avenues, the Gran Estanplaza Berrini has become the newest benchmark in service refinement in Sao Paulo. Its touch of opulence and charm fascinate the most sophisticated guests. Ideal for business travelers, the hotel offers a full structure of services and facilities such as workstation with high speed internet in all rooms, DVD, central air- conditioning, 2 balconies in each room, sitting area, cable TV, marble bathroom, business center and 24 hour room service. Featuring the fitnmess centre the guests can enjoy all the facilities of an urban Spa, such as massage, sauna, yoga and relaxing sessions without leaving the hotel. Enjoy the library with fireplace or the happy hour at the European- style cafe after having a nice dinner at the Paillard Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gran Estanplaza Berrini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Estanplaza Sao Paulo Hotel Sao Paulo
Gran Estanplaza Hotel Sao Paulo
Gran Estanplaza Berrini Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing