We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wants to be a 4-star, but has a lot to learn.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Estanplaza Berrini
Ranked #10 of 326 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2012

I was impressed upon entering. They treat you like 5 star, invite you to sit for your check-in. The check-in is pleasant and everything clear with english-speaking receptionists.

After that is where the difficulties begin. For one, I was situated on the 16th floor, directly beneath the gym, so at 7:15am each day my room started vibrating with energetic music and instructor yelling from above, which is fine since I was jetlagged and up early anyways, but a bit stressful for working in my "business suite". On the one evening I was home at 8pm, I experienced the same bass-pumping.

Beyond that, service to the room is very untimely and of poor quality. Laundry promised to be delivered at 9am was delivered mid-day, and any food items ordered to the room needed to be called twice to ensure the order was put in and followed up.

On top of that I received random calls in the room, where I heard two people speaking (hotel staff speaking to one another). I alerted reception to this on Day 2 of my stay, but this continued on Days 3 and 4. Also, the reception never seemed to recognize my room by calling directly from my room; they kept saying "you are room 1601?" when I was 1602; this was used as an excuse one time for not delivering food I ordered.

The bed is OK, felt a little like my grandmother's mattress at first (springey and hard at touch), but in the end I slept fairly well on it.

The rooms are not well sound-proofed so I could hear my neighbors air-conditioner one night, and certainly the SP traffic in morning though that is to be expected in a city hotel.

Overall, the effort is good, the breakfast very good (good fruit, especially papaya!!), but there are some serious problems to be addressed by hotel management.

If you book a room here, avoid upper floors so you can avoid the gym noise, and don't count on any room service.

Room Tip: Avoid floors close to gym on 17th floor.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannah187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (760)
There are newer reviews for Gran Estanplaza Berrini
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 760 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2012

The Estanplaza is located right across our corporate offices which is a plus given the unpredictable Sao Paulo traffic. It is next door the the Sheraton which is attached to an underground mall and food court. The rooms are nice but you need to pay for Internet. Complimentary breakfast and hahhpy hour snacks are a plus

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farm2fork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

The room was really good with a very good bed. Not very big but with two different connected spaces was not so bad. Bathroom, with all necessary items, also not very big. The bathtub, which was short nevertheless was deep, so it was good to use. One thing that I have complained in many hotes, problems with water temperature was not here, very good shower and no water out of the tub. Even having a corporate rate was quite expensive, but all Brasil now is very expensive, my internet was included which was nice. I hate hotel charging for what should be free these days. Buffet breakfast was very nice, with a lot of different things to eat.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manuglim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

The hotel is good located in the Berrini area. Service is very good. The building itself is very nice, although the furniture is a little outdated.
Once thing that really standed out from the hotel was the breakfast: very complete with lots of different things. Also the breakfast area is very nice and with plenty of sunshine.
In the down side, the internet is a little expensive and the room service is average.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hernan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

This is a great business hotel, but unless you get a promotional rate it can be quite a rip-off. The rooms have a decent size and nice, but old furniture, but it lacks some storage space for clothes. My main complaint is the lack of iron and ironing boards (which is common for many Brazilian hotels), forcing you to use their expensive service. On the other hand, the hotel offers a charming and varied breakfast buffet with live piano music, a very helpfull and service-minded staff and an overall pleasant and a bit old-fashioned experience.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

The hotel is good located. The hotel personnel is helpful and attentive. The room was cold the first night. The next days I had a good blanket. The room is rather old fashioned. The internet is expensive if used more than the first free minutes. The breakfast is very good and complete. The restaurant though is slow service in the evening. The gym is well maintained; it has a lot of machines. There is also a small pool located in the gym (!?). Oposite to the hotel there is a shopping mall with plenty of restaurants to choose.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

The hotel works perfectly well considering the need for a good location for those who need to transit in the City of Brooklyn. It has a concierge service impeccable, with all staff taking turns full-time. The idea of ​​personalized service, so that the guests feel at home (the company's promise), works well too, from the breakfast show and served in a home, as well as snacks offered free to guests at the end of the day in the lobby of the building. On the other hand, the apartments offer only the basics of comfort, it is not suitable for those wishing to relax in the tub with bath salts, in a robe and go to sleep between six pillows: There is none! Bathroom small it takes to heat water, only two pillows, no robe, much less bath. Did not get other amenities offered by the hotel pool, gym, bar ... well, it's worth the excellent treatment

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mocreu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo
#5 of 326 in Sao Paulo
3,374 reviews
Hilton Sao Paulo Morumbi
#11 of 326 in Sao Paulo
2,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vila Mariana
Pullman Sao Paulo Ibirapuera
Novotel Sao Paulo Morumbi
#46 of 326 in Sao Paulo
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Estanplaza Berrini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Estanplaza Berrini

Address: Rua Arizona 1517, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 04567-003, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
#39 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range: $95 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Estanplaza Berrini 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining a classic architecture with rich and unique Brazilian decoration in the middle of Berrini and Nacoes Unidas Avenues, the Gran Estanplaza Berrini has become the newest benchmark in service refinement in Sao Paulo. Its touch of opulence and charm fascinate the most sophisticated guests. Ideal for business travelers, the hotel offers a full structure of services and facilities such as workstation with high speed internet in all rooms, DVD, central air- conditioning, 2 balconies in each room, sitting area, cable TV, marble bathroom, business center and 24 hour room service. Featuring the fitnmess centre the guests can enjoy all the facilities of an urban Spa, such as massage, sauna, yoga and relaxing sessions without leaving the hotel. Enjoy the library with fireplace or the happy hour at the European- style cafe after having a nice dinner at the Paillard Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Estanplaza Berrini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Estanplaza Sao Paulo Hotel Sao Paulo
Gran Estanplaza Hotel Sao Paulo
Gran Estanplaza Berrini Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing