We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel, dated room, disappointing service, affluent location” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Suites Oscar Freire

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quality Suites Oscar Freire
Ranked #96 of 322 Hotels in Sao Paulo
United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average hotel, dated room, disappointing service, affluent location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2010

Location:
The location is the selling point of the Quality Suites Imperial Inn. It is situated just half a block from Rua Oscar Freire (the 5th Avenue or Rodeo Drive of Brazil), so if that's your destination, this hotel is likely your best bet. Avenida Paulista (the Wall Street of Brazil, with several shopping malls) is slightly over seven blocks uphill (at a surprisingly steep incline) from the hotel.

Neighborhood:
The neighborhood is exceedingly affluent and felt safe in the day and night. This particular portion of the Jardins neighborhood is essentially the Beverly Hills of São Paulo. However, you only have to stray a few blocks before you encounter littered streets and heavily-graffitied buildings (which are commonplace in São Paulo). In other words, use good judgment and common sense when going out, particularly at night.

Room:
The room was large and included a small living room (with couch) and a small kitchen. The bedroom was connected but could be closed off with the sliding pocket door. The room included a flat screen TV and air conditioning, which is desirable to beat the summer heat and humidity. The minibar (treats and drinks) was standard and, as usual, overpriced. The internet was free, reliable, and wired, and the speed was roughly comparable to a low-tier broadband connection. The furniture was worn. The bathroom was clean but was obviously dated and would greatly benefit from a renovation.

Staff:
The front desk staff was nice and had no trouble with English. However, my check-in took almost an hour. Sadly, they had to scrounge around in a back room for 10-15 minutes just to find my reservation (I have no idea why it took them so long). I then waited about 45 minutes for them to get a room ready, which was disappointing considering it was around 4:00 in the afternoon. I was further disappointed that even though I was sitting in the lobby right near the front desk, they didn't even take the initiative to notify me when the room was clean, even though they weren't attending to other guests. I don't know if they always do this, but they sent a complimentary fruit basket up to my room shortly after I got settled in.

Amenities:
The hotel had a good breakfast that was self-serve and all-you-can-eat. It included a couple types of cereals, Brazilian pastries, fruit, sandwiches, sandwich meats, cheeses, juice, scrambled eggs, cakes, yogurt, and few other things. I believe they also serve lunch and dinner there, although it is not complimentary.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bird_Eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggeralqsih, Gerente geral at Quality Suites Oscar Freire, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thanks for the consideration. The hotel is undergoing renovation. The renovated suites are modern and welcoming. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    287
    130
    47
    24
See reviews for
146
92
43
280
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2010

The room's OK. You can see why it's part of the misnamed Quality chain. This isn't a stinker, but it's nothing special either. Carpets are stained and dirty, the walls could do with a lick of paint. The bathroom's a bit grotty, with tallow soap (ew), hard towels, no tissues or face towels.

Internet access is free, but it wired and not wi-fi, and painfully slow.

The bed is really comfortable, up to Westin or modern Marriott standards. Staff are friendly, and the fruit bowl in the evening is a nice touch.

It's in an amazing location, if you consider being next to outrageously priced boutique shops you could find in any big city worldwide amazing. Maybe that's being a little mean, but the whole area is fake and sterile and could be any big city on the planet, and the local restaurants are extortionate. It is very safe though, even at night. But all the electrified fences should tell you to keep on your guard anyway.

But grossest of all, and the dealbreaker for me: the room was full of wildlife. I wouldn't expect geckos to be running the walls on the 19th floor of a sealed air-conditioned upscale hotel room. Cobwebs in the corners, about a dozen mosquitoes and flies dotted around the room. I've never seen the like of it in any decent hotel anywhere in the world, certainly never in my two prior stays in Sao Paulo. The reason I pay high hotel prices is to avoid this stuff.

I booked this room on the strength of its top ten placement in TripAdvisor. I don't know why it is rated so highly. I checked out after a day and went elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenny353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggeralqsih, Gerente geral at Quality Suites Oscar Freire, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Sorry for the cleaning and maintenance of the apartment. Our staff is undergoing training so that such things do not come back to repeat itself. We are renovating our suites and common areas to get better. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2010

Stayed here early March 2010 for a 5 nights on recommendation from a Brazilan colleague. He told me the Hilton was in no-man's land (it is) and this place was in a great, safe neighbourhood (Jardins). All true. Rooms are nothing fancy but they are roomy and clean. Staff are very friendly and helpful. A breakfast buffet was included with fresh fruit, yoghurt, juices, coffee, scrambled eggs, sausage, cold cuts, rolls... more than enough. At night restaurant is hopping and has very good food (don't order wine - very $$$ in Brazil). Avenida Paulista is about an 8 block walk away and Oscar Freire (SP's Rodeo Drive) just around the corner. Taxis always waiting out front. Great to walk around there in evening. And it isn't $400 a night like rip-off American chains. Great deal (but don't make phione calls, even local - they nail you).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Downwithripoffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggeralqsih, Gerente geral at Quality Suites Oscar Freire, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Glad you enjoyed our location. Thank you for the comments. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2010

We are delighted to share our pleasant experience at this fine hotel. It is located in a beautiful and exclusive area of Sao Paulo, Jardins, with easy access to restaurants, shopping malls and branded small boutiques. The place is pristine and immaculate. We stayed in a standard suite with an extra bed for our 05 year old boy. Even with the extra bed, the room was spacious and well distributed. Excellent desk surface and internet access for business travellers. Linen and towels are of high quality. The toiletries are locally made and a good example of how local products can be developed with high quality standards. The service given from the porters to the most senior employees at the building is fantastic. For foreigners visitors, please be aware that you will be required to give your passport when checking in order for the hotel to keep a record of your identity. At first, we were reluctant to this request as it is not very common for hotels to make and keep photocopies of your passport , but we were explained that this is actually mandatory by local tourism authorities. Breakfast is basic but still satisfying. Although there is no menu or indication for a hot portion, breakfast also includes eggs a la carte. For those travellers who are not fluent in Portuguese, it is advisable to get a dictionary or a basic electronic translator as most of the hotel employees speak only Brazilian/Portuguese. For us, it was a delightful experience having spent New Year surrounded by good energy, smiles from the hotel staff and a welcoming atmosphere. You can expect to be treated as in a 5 star boutique hotel by the Country Suites/ Imperial Hall team.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveThePlanetFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggeralqsih, Gerente geral at Quality Suites Oscar Freire, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We were delighted by the comments about our hotel and staff. We hired more bilingual receptionists and we are renewing our suites to best fit. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2009

Excellent location for combining excellent dining and shopping with safety (streets of Jardims can be walked without problems at night and neighbourhood is pleasant) and easy access to central Sao Paulo and domestic airport. Excellent suite with good desk for working at hotel inbetween meetings. OK breakfast and friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manymangos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggeralqsih, Gerente geral at Quality Suites Oscar Freire, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for the comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2009

I was in in Sao Paulo for about a week on business. I stayed at both the Mercure Jardins and the Quality Suites Imperial (both highly recommended on this site). They are both clean modern accommodations, so either is perfectly acceptable. Each has its own strengths and weaknesses.

The Mercure Jardin felt a bit more like a business hotel. The front desk was operated by 3 people. It was very efficient. The rooms consisted of one large sleeping area with an attached business table and chairs, and a bathroom. The room was of adequate size, and was very clean and new feeling. The TV was an old CRT type (not flat screen). The room had free wired internet (no wireless). As far as location, it is about 2 blocks from Ave de Paulista, but I should say there not far from the hotel is a seedy section of town. Breakfast was not included, costing an additional 28 Reals. I'd recommend just going to the great coffee shop across the street, Cafe do Brownie. The coffee is good, prices are cheap, and the owner who speaks great English is a wonderful host.

The Quality Imperial Suites seemed more like a family hotel. The front desk was only operated by 1 person through most of the day, and checking in our out took a long time. The room actually consisted of four rooms, the sleeping area, a small kitchen with stove, a sitting area with loveseat and flatscreen TV, and a bathroom. It was definitely larger than the Mercure Jardins. But the room didn't feel quite as clean, and getting anything done at the front desk was very slow. The room had free wired internet (no wireless). The hotel is in a posh neighborhood, with many high end shops and restaurants nearby. Breakfast was included, and it consisted of the usual buffet of breads, sweets, juices, and eggs.

Hope this helps choose between the two. Like I said, either one is fine to stay at.

Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank bradleyart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggeralqsih, Gerente geral at Quality Suites Oscar Freire, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for the comments. Our staff grew, we invested in renovation of the apartments and common areas. We hope you choose our new suites when return to Sao Paulo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEL-AVIV ISRAEL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2009

best location in sao paulo,at jardins area,safe and trendy.
nice and clean rooms, a fruit basket every day and chocolates.
very good breakfast with good selection of fruits and pao de queijo.
the garage is free.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OBERMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggeralqsih, Gerente geral at Quality Suites Oscar Freire, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for the comments. Our caring, fruit basket and chocolates are eager to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Jardins
Transamerica Classic Opera
Transamerica Classic Opera
#181 of 322 in Sao Paulo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Jardins
Regent Park Hotel
Regent Park Hotel
#163 of 322 in Sao Paulo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Jardins
Mercure Sao Paulo Jardins Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pinheiros
Comfort Suites Oscar Freire
Comfort Suites Oscar Freire
#50 of 322 in Sao Paulo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Jardins
WZ Hotel Jardins
WZ Hotel Jardins
#123 of 322 in Sao Paulo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Jardins
Melia Paulista
Melia Paulista
#29 of 322 in Sao Paulo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites Oscar Freire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites Oscar Freire

Property: Quality Suites Oscar Freire
Address: Consolacao Street, 3555, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01416-001, Brazil (Formerly Quality Suites Imperial Hall)
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Jardins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#121 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Suites Oscar Freire 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located in the heart of Jardins, just a few meters from the famous Oscar Freire Street! Close of the best in design, gastronomy and fashion, Quality Suites Oscar Freire has the perfect structure for those who come to São Paulo for business or pleasure! The 142 rooms are carefully decorated with elements that guarantee comfort of our guests! At the convention center it is possible to arrange from small to large meetings for up to 150 people in auditorium! The Marcel Restaurant, traditional and french, guarantees the excellence of service through its delicious menu and with its unmissable gruyere cheese souffle! Our sufle was considered gastronomic patrimony of the city of São Paulo! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Quality Suites Oscar Freire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites Imperial Hall Hotel Sao Paulo
Quality Inn Sao Paulo
Quality Suites Oscar Freire Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing