We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business hotel without personality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TRYP Sao Paulo Jesuino Arruda
Ranked #53 of 321 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Business hotel without personality”
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Nice rooms, but a bit small for the value. Location is just average as the hotel services and staff.

Breakfast is expensive for what it offers and is not worthy.

There are better options in the area.

Not good value for its price.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GabrielRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinicius_TrypJA, Gerente geral at TRYP Sao Paulo Jesuino Arruda, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Mr. Gabriel,
Thank you for your choice during your last visit in São Paulo.
We have shown your commentaries to the responsibles of each area to solve the problems such as the offerings to our breakfast.
We are very unfortunate to know that our region and the size of the hotel did not pleased you. About our staff we will be doing trainings and talk to them to be able to give better services.
Hoping to have another opportunity to see you back hotel.
Best Regards
Vinicius Correa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    277
    86
    14
    12
See reviews for
88
103
29
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2013

In March 2013, during my stay and in mid-week, my room rate increased by just over 27%. There was no special event occurring, but management told me the following: "we are working with the concept of best available rates that changes according to the periods of low or high occupation. The best rates are available to guests that make reservations with more anticipation and in general you can find smaller rates available on the weekends and higher during the week.". Two thoughts on this: (1) in 33 years of global travel, I have never had this experience before unless a major, well known event is taking place in which case I am forewarned about the rate increase, and (2) like the airlines, this clearly discriminates against the business traveler. Lower weekend rates are not a new policy for this hotel, or most others in São Paulo. I was also told the floating rates are a policy of Melia hotels globally. Be forewarned.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sliding door and balcony are nice for longer stays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinicius_TrypJA, Gerente geral at TRYP Sao Paulo Jesuino Arruda, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Mr. Michael,
Thanks for your comments.
We understand all your concerns about our room rates.
We have checked, and actually in the period of your stay, we were with a couple of rooms available, as you know, we work with dynamic prices, and under periods of high occupancy, the room rate gets higher.
This concept is very used in the major hotel chains all over the world, and in the airlines.
We understand that there are some periods with higher rates, although there are periods, even on week days that you can find special rates, it depends on of the advance you make the reservation.
Please, let us know the dates of your next stays, so we will be able to offer you a price where will fit you better.
As you are a very special client to us, also, please let us know your company contacts, this way, we can make a contact and check a loyalty program where you can get benefits such as discounts in room rates or a special agreement.
Best Regards
Vinicius Correa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed for five nights at this hotel, well located, good rooms, and nice staff. Very good restaurant around.
I found very stupid as a company policy to charge R$40 per day ( 20 U$D) for internet connection when they have a free one, both are equally slow. Please be wise and upgrade your internet connection and include it on the room rate.

As a non smoker I was given a smoking room upon arrival, but as I complain, the recepcionist inmediately change my room.

TV channels are all in portugese, but one in japanese, and CNN. Also de quality of image and sound is poor, I belive that this two points are important for international travellers.
Good breakfast, rates are ok for Sao Pulo

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robyferrari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinicius_TrypJA, Gerente geral at TRYP Sao Paulo Jesuino Arruda, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Mr. Robby Ferrari,
We thank you for your choice during your last stay in São Paulo and your comments.
Regarding the misunderstanding about the non-smoking room given to you upon your arrival, we would like to apologize and the responsible for this area have been notified and will take the necessary actions so it will not happen again.
Concerning the TV and the internet access we are in a open study to get them better always looking forward to suit all your needs.
Hopping to see you back soon in our hotels.
Best Regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Location : located near a busy commercial street with lots of local clothes and drug stores. there are some Japanese and Italian restaurants near the hotel, but ask the hotel staff for directions. the shops close around 8 pm and streets are quiet after that. I have been told they are not too safe after that but did not venture out late to find out :) There are some offices within walking distance so its convenient.
Rooms are well appointed and quiet. The electric kettle in my room had a lid that would not shut. I forgot to tell reception for 2 days and it was not replaced when it was obvious the lid would not shut. Staff should look out for things like that.
There are only 2 TV channels in English - CNN and Fox. bring a book.
The gym is small and has a weight machine, plus a couple of bikes and treadmills.
Restaurant has a very limited choice of items. Staff does not speak English in the restaurant. I asked for Tabasco/hot sauce on 2 separate occasions and the restaurant did not have it.
Reception staff are great and can speak English. I was having problems getting stamps to mail a couple of postcards. the receptionist took my postcard and mailed it for me.

Room Tip: high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naeemsiddiqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinicius_TrypJA, Gerente geral at TRYP Sao Paulo Jesuino Arruda, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Mr. Naemsiddiqi,.
We would like to thank you for choosing TRYP Jesuino Arruda during your last stay in São Paulo and your comments posted on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the Reception service, the room and the surrounding area of the hotel, which really is one of the best points of São Paulo. And we would like to kindly ask you to accept our sincerely apologies for all the inconveniences caused not exceeding your expectations with our Housekeeping and Restaurant service. We will take all the necessary measures to avoid this kind of situation in the future. It is very important for us these comments so we can improve in all the areas to get the best customer care for all our clients. Hoping to see you back at our hotel soon. Best Regards, Vinicius Correa - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The hotel is very functional, normal and expected services (room service, bath amenities) but free internet is extremely slow (paid version is faster), doesn´t have wifi on the lobby or restaurant and the TV doesn´t work properly.
Thye food is very good and served on average time (25 mins) to the room.

The repection crew speaks Portuguese and a good English, which is always a good thing (no Spanish though).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibastias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinicius_TrypJA, Gerente geral at TRYP Sao Paulo Jesuino Arruda, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank your comments about your stay with us in Tryp jesuino Arruda. We also like to inform that our internet access is already in studies to provide our customers a better reception and speed.
Hoping to see you in a close future.
Best Regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lohja, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The rooms in this hotel are good, clean and spacious enough for my needs- there was also a small balcony. The bed is very good with a selection of pillows. Service is mostly friendly, but only receptionists seem to speak english.There's a sauna with jacuzzi, but there was no water in jacuzzi.

The restaurant is not a good one at least for dinner, only one star for that. Fortunately there are excellent restaurants around the corner as well as a grocery.

Room Tip: Good view to Sao Paolo from the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kari F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinicius_TrypJA, General Manager at TRYP Sao Paulo Jesuino Arruda, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Mr. Kari F.,
We are very thankful for your comments, with them we are able to improve our everyday services. Our Jacuzzi is normally empty as a standard, but they are available to every guest as soon as we receive the requesting. Hope to see you soon so you might enjoy our jacuzzi.
Best Regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama, Panama
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I'm in Sao Paulo to work, when starting working from the hotel room I was surprised by the lack of a 3-point plug for the computer cable. It's been now 4 hours I've been asking the hotel for an adaptor and they don't seem to undesrtand the importance of my request, Without having the plug, my computer will die within 20 minutes and my plans to work from the hotel will be ruined.
I was informed guests usually bring their on plug adaptor, since people that travel, know they should. I've been traveling in average once every 2 months in the past 2 years and this is the first time I see a hotel that is not prepared for the plug differences of their guests.
should I warn them that for the world cup they may need to buy adaptors?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinicius_TrypJA, Gerente at TRYP Sao Paulo Jesuino Arruda, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

We apologize for the inconvenience you may had during your stay in our hotel, unfortunetely we had a break down in our stock of 3 points adaptors that period, we would like to make sure that, you know, that we are already reparing this matter so next time you will be able to do your work with no further problems in our hotel.
We also take the oportunity to thank you for your comentary that will be taken by our Quality System to be solved as soon as possible.
Hope to see you soon in our hotel.
Best Regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Itaim Bibi
Tryp Sao Paulo Itaim Hotel
Tryp Sao Paulo Itaim Hotel
#126 of 321 in Sao Paulo
518 reviews
Itaim Bibi
Tryp Sao Paulo Iguatemi Hotel
Tryp Sao Paulo Iguatemi Hotel
#24 of 321 in Sao Paulo
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Itaim Bibi
Clarion Faria Lima
Clarion Faria Lima
#14 of 321 in Sao Paulo
910 reviews
Staybridge Suites Sao Paulo
#87 of 321 in Sao Paulo
509 reviews
Itaim Bibi
Ramada Suites Sao Paulo Itaim Bibi Newciti
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP Sao Paulo Jesuino Arruda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP Sao Paulo Jesuino Arruda

Property: TRYP Sao Paulo Jesuino Arruda
Address: Rua Jesuino Arruda, 806, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 04532-082, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Itaim Bibi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
#49 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — TRYP Sao Paulo Jesuino Arruda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the TRYP Jesuino Arruda Built in Parisian style, the TRYP Jesuino Arruda blends into the neighbourhood in which it is located, Itaim Bibi, one of the most elegant in Sao Paulo. It is the perfect location to understand the essence of the local inhabitants: culture and pleasure without being too serious. In short, it is an important business centre in the city. The hotel has 21 floors and 145 spacious, well decorated and well equipped rooms to receive guests whether travelling for business or for pleasure. All the rooms offer a wide range of facilities, including free WiFi internet, telephone, air conditioning, cable TV and minibar. The hotel welcomes guests with pets. Dogs and cats of any size can stay with their owners in the rooms (see hotel policies). As well as the comfortable rooms, the TRYP Jesuino Arruda has a fully equipped Fitness Centre for your health and wellbeing and the Novedad Restaurant, serving delicious and contemporary cuisine. The hotel also provides spaces for social and business events that are equipped with the latest technology and that offer superb personalised service with the Melia Hotels International guarantee of quality. TRYP Jesuino Arruda accepts lodging with dogs and cats in the apartment. There are specific rooms with wood laminate flooring and balcony, to facilitate the presence of your pet on site. We even offer a walk of medium size, two pots for water and food, toilet mat, toy / teether and, as a courtesy, a package with some sort of cookie / bifinho according to the animal. However, animal owners should be responsible entirely for the furniture of the apartment, in case of damage caused by the pet. There is an additional cost per day of $ 50.00 for the animal stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your TRYP Sao Paulo Jesuino Arruda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Jesuino Arruda Hotel Sao Paulo
TRYP Sao Paulo Jesuino Arruda Brazil
Tryp Hotel Sao Paulo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing