We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive room for quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Sao Paulo WTC Hotel
Ranked #47 of 323 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Expensive room for quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

I stayed at the Sheraton in Sao Paulo for 1 night in November and the quality of the hotel and service was average. The bed was very comfortable, but the room itself was dated and needs to be remodeled. The concierge was very helpful as well as the front desk staff. Rooms are very expensive in Brazil but you don't always get great value. I stayed at the Hilton across the street which was much nicer, newer and with better food but it was more expensive.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgrrl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    323
    169
    55
    44
See reviews for
74
142
57
702
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
295 reviews
222 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 637 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Very nice Sheraton hotel located in downtown area about 1 mile walking distance to 2 really nice shopping malls. Other than that, there is nothing to do in the immediate area as it is a residential area near the embassies. Has a great gym and pretty well maintained hotel. But keep in mind, the taxi ride to and from this hotel to the downtown area from the airport takes more than 1 hour and costs $110 US or more. An expensive city for taxis considering it is a 3rd world country

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry8241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

This Sheraton is not a real five-star hotel. Moldy smelling rooms. The couch was full of dirt or mold spots. Internet was not always working. Very expensive.
And guess what: the hotel staff stole my colleague's dress pants and t-shirts from his room. I'm not kidding! Staff suddenly "found" the clotches from "loundry" after my friend had shown his hard-core persistence.
I'm SPG member and I usually prefer to use Sheraton hotels. This was my most terrible Sheraton experience ever.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Big_bot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polokwane, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

A hotel of this kind requires their employees to speak English, very few can speak English. If you have to phone then communication is really a big problem. On arrival 600 reals from your credit card will be required , but when you leave this is major problem , no cancellation might happen. When I was there (11.10.13 to 11.10.16) I was advised that the cancellation has been made when checking out I believe I have already spent 600 reals demanding reimbursement by calling , I have written different mails to managers and nothing yet
All I am left to due is to inform the company which invited me and think they need my money more than me . I think this was done intentionally as I never experience this situation in other places
Dr R A Tamayo

Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramon Alberto T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

I stayed here for two nights during the week on business. The first night, I heard incredibly loud and thumping music well after midnight. When I called down to the front desk to ask whether there was some sort of event going on, they told me it was the pool-side disco, and they'd call over to see if they could turn it down. (It was a Wednesday night.) Sure enough, fewer than 10 minutes later, the noise level dropped appreciably.

The room was very comfortable and large, and the hotel offers a "pillow menu" with varying types of pillows that you can order from the concierge service.

I'd happily stay here again. The hotel restaurant served very good food, and the hotel is connected to the D&D mall (Decoration and Design Center), which had a couple of other restaurants and fast food-type places.

Room Tip: Higher is better to avoid noise from the poolside disco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

Located in the new business district, great views and spacious rooms. The hotel like everything in Sao Paulo is very expensive in fact even compared to NYC where I live I found this to be a very expensive city. Easy to get to the Jardins area by cab, airport is far and it takes about 1 hour at least so plan early. They also have executive floors which are very very cool and start at about $600 a little steep if you ask me. I had access to the lounge and they have a great breakfast - would go back.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kriscruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falls church, va
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel in September 2011 and found it very enjoyable and well located. First of all, the staff is first rate. Our first connection was a front desk assistant named Laura who was incredibly helpful to us during our stay, and also Jaqueline. For touring purposes we wanted to use public transportation and both of them were very helpful in sorting out both the Metro sytem (which is very clean and efficient) and some related bus lines. We found that getting around Sao Paulo on our own was much better than using a costly tour, and we ended up seeing what we wanted. There is a metro station about a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel. While this is not the famous Paulista Ave district it is in a perfectly nice area and connected to a very nice Mall with lots of choices of restaurants. The hotel does not have its own restaurant...the restaurant in the hotel is a concession, but still ok for breakfast or lunch if you don't want to venture to the McDonalds in the Mall. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gourmet2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Hilton Sao Paulo Morumbi
#11 of 323 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,523 reviews
Gran Estanplaza Berrini
#9 of 323 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo
#5 of 323 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wyndham Sao Paulo Berrini
#82 of 323 in Sao Paulo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
The Time Othon Suites
#188 of 323 in Sao Paulo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Vila Mariana
Pullman Sao Paulo Ibirapuera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Sao Paulo WTC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sao Paulo WTC Hotel

Property: Sheraton Sao Paulo WTC Hotel
Address: Avenida das Nacoes Unidas 12559 | Brooklin Novo, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 04578-000, Brazil (Formerly "Gran Melia")
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
#17 Spa Hotel in Sao Paulo
#30 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
#38 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
#45 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Sao Paulo WTC Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Berrini region where you can find major corporations headquarters and wide range of entertainment,dining and shopping, the hotel offers 296 world-class accommodations. Out of these, 67 are decorated by renowned architects composing the concept of “Design Hotel”, where guests can have a different experience every stay.Special Services: pillow menu,personal closet, free internet,swimming pool, Sheraton Fitness, in room fitness, in room spa, restaurant partners bills paid at check out, Bike it!, meeting rooms for hire and Sheraton Love That Dog Program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Sao Paulo WTC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sao Paulo WTC Hotel Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing