We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay but surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo
Ranked #5 of 328 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I just returned for a quick trip to Sao Paolo for a wedding and stayed at the Grand Hyatt. I have to say that the stay was pleasant. Our room was nice even though it had a queen bed only. In room amenities were nice, housekeeping service was efficient. We had the buffet breakfast everyday and it was very good for the $30 per person. Varied, bakery selections tasty, the fruit was always very flavorful and varied, i.e. both local tropical fruits and more common fruits. Quite good also the bar at night with very good caipirinhas.
The surprising factor was the general lack of english by the staff. While all very efficient, many servers at the restaurant did not speak english, same as the spa where my wife struggled to get an answer if they offered blow drying service ( the answer was they have blow dryers in the changing room ! ) In general the interactions i had with staff were efficient but lacked soul and genuine interest.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotelEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_SP_Management, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Grand Hyatt São Paulo and for taking the time to share your comments. Our team is very pleased to read that you have enjoyed our housekeeping services, amenities and our food and beverage areas. We are sorry to acknowledge that our staff was not able to assist you perfectly in spoken English and rest assured that in our continuous pursuit for service excellence, knowledge of English is one of our greatest concerns. Foreign languages courses (English and Spanish) have been part of the routine of our teams in order to ensure that our guests have only positive experiences at our hotel and we expect to continuosly improve in this area. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Grand Hyatt São Paulo soon!
Thierry Guillot – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

727 - 733 of 3,621 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

This world class property should be strongly considered by anyone coming to Sao Paulo for business....or pleasure.

Location is good - just minutes from the TransAmerica Expo Center in Santo Amaro and the major business/financial districts. Excellent shopping and restaurants are just a short walk away as well.

Service - Front Desk, Valet, Concierge, Housekeeping and Restaurant/Bar Servers were attentive, courteous and professionally trained.

Guest Rooms - The 466 Guest rooms are spacious with comfortable beds and ample bathroom space; Wi-Fi connection was good and in-room concessions as well.

Meeting Space - The hotel has 32,290 sq ft of flexible meeting space. The Grand Hall ballroom is 11,065 sq ft and can comfortably handle a meeting for 500 with classroom seating and a banquet for 780 people. There is also a 5,000sq ft ballroom and 8 additional smaller meeting rooms.

Sao Paulo is a monstrous city with several good hotel options for consideration. However, I highly recommend the world class service and cuisine that awaits you at the Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Griffsog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_SP_Management, Gerente geral at Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Grand Hyatt São Paulo and for taking the time to share with us and other TripAdvisor travellers such positive and detailed comments about your experience at our hotel. Your kind words are a great encouragement to us as we strive to make a difference in the lives of our guests. It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed the services provided - guest comfort is our priority. We hope to welcome you again when you return to São Paulo.
Thierry Guillot – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

All hotels in São Paulo are overpriced by most world standards, so this must be expected. The
Grand Hyatt São Paulo is no exception - even at my deeply discounted corporate rate the hotel was $400+US per night.
Positives: location is good - ask for a view of the bridge. A 10 min walk from one of the largest shopping malls in the city with a quite extensive food court. Good Japanese restraint (among others) on property. Room is nice, comfortable and well appointed with rain shower, bathtub and a unique selection of glycerine soaps inspired by the Amazon
Negatives- wifi is extremely poor. Only worked for a short time then must re-connect. This is very frustrating, especially if you are paying for it (it was free as a Platinum Hyatt guest). There is a cable to use if you are not using a wireless device. The breakfast buffet was particularly disappointing. Again it was free with my status but still minimal by world standards and well below expectations for a hotel of this class and price. There was no cook-to-order station for eggs or pancakes. The room is small and can get crowded and the selections of juices, fruits and options was basic.
Summary- staying at a less costly location Ie Marriott / Sheraton is a better option. On my last visit I was at the Mercur for less than half the cost and the experience was equivalent. If you are accustomed to global business travel you will be disappointed by the Grand Hyatt

Room Tip: Ask for view of bridge. If you are arriving AM as most flights from USA request early check in well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WalrusOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_SP_Management, Gerente geral at Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay at Grand Hyatt São Paulo. It is a pleasure to read that you felt welcome and comfortable at our hotel. In order to always provide an efficient service to our guests, I would like to share with you that we have improved our internet backbone recently and installed in every room a Wi-Fi antenna to ensure sufficient coverage, instead of one antenna for every 10-15 rooms. Most recently, and unfortunately during the period of your stay, the link to our server failed on several occasions, and we have taken action to secure more power and reliability to this service.. We regret to hear that your experience during the continental breakfast at the Grand Club Lounge did not meet your expectations. Your feedback plays an important role in better understanding the perception of our customers and it is important that our chefs always maintain the quality of all meals and provide a large variety of options. I also would like to let you know that the continental breakfast served in the private lounge is a unique benefit of the Club Rooms; pancakes and eggs in any style are available upon request. Club Room guests can also have breakfast in the Grand Caffè restaurant, which offers a larger range of options including American breakfast, with a hot buffet. As a regular guest to Hyatt Hotels & Resorts, I would like to thank you for your loyalty. We hope to have an opportunity to reverse the impression you left with after your last visit and win back your confidence.
Thierry Guillot – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Great hotel, at a Grand Hyatt price of course but everything you would expect of a luxury chain. Excellent service and advice, especially for first timers in a new place such as me. Rooms excellent, food top notch and whilst I didn't have time to use the gym or spa they looked excellent. Very well located for the central business district although if new to Sao Paulo be aware it is a huge city with a population of 20m+ so everything is a long ride away, especially the airport. While I really only used the hotel as a place to sleep, I would highly recommend it and will certainly go back if in that region again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_SP_Management, Gerente geral at Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Mr. Tony,
Your remarks were received with great satisfaction, thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that you had a wonderful experience at Grand Hyatt São Paulo and your kind words are our greatest reward. Our Amanary Spa features a menu of treatments aimed at the wellbeing of body and mind and offers relaxation after a long day at work; we invite you to experience it during your next stay. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again very soon.
Thierry Guillot – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Great location, facilities and fun for weekends even living in São Paulo.

My wife and me enjoy its breakfast, the lovely outdside pool and the SPA. Is amazing and looks like you are out of SP even sleeping there.

Room Tip: Ask for the Bridge View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas303631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_SP_Management, Gerente geral at Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Mr. Douglas,
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to read that you felt relaxed during your stay at Grand Hyatt São Paulo. We are always delighted to offer the residents of São Paulo a special alternative for relaxation and leisure in the city during the weekends, as we often create sophisticated packages with exclusive amenities and extras. We hope to continue being your preferred choice and look forward to warmly welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Thierry Guillot – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The Hyatt name already suggests something majestic. Whereas it was guest in other units of this network, expect the same quality previously referenced. Check in with staff polite and practical, without much bureaucracy in filling roles. Despite being in the convention with about 650 people expected very little at this stage. Apartment with clean style, with a spectacular view of one of the postcards of the city of São Paulo, and roomy bathroom with toiletries selected the Brazilian culture itself, making a simple difference to those foreigners who know Brazil for its biodiversity in plants. Breakfast superb, with variety of options, from eastern to western pleasing, Greeks and Trojans!! A luxury spa with a touch of sumptuousness. Minuses: bathroom towels old and rough, poorly maintained with threadbare carpets and ceramic bathroom with silt and patches ordinary. Anything else? Yes! Total lack of privacy, with the maid entering his apartment twice, ignoring the presence of the guest ...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mocreu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_SP_Management, Gerente geral at Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and for highlighting so many positive points experienced during your stay. We appreciate your loyalty to Hyatt Hotels & Resorts, as it is the greatest reward possible for us. The quality of our facilities is a key factor and is why we hold regular inspections and maintenance of all the hotel’s premises. Thank you for pointing out such issues; rest assured that our housekeeping and engineering management teams have received your comments and will take appropriate action immediately. In order to avoid an uncomfortable situation, I would like to suggest you that on your next stay you use the privacy card at your door to not be disturbed. We hope to have the privilege of hosting you again at Grand Hyatt São Paulo soon.
Thierry Guillot – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are large and attractive. The workout room, pool and spa are first rate. Staff is very friendly and attentive. Hotel is in an area dominated by international office buildings. This is good news if you have business with one of those companies. Maybe the area is a little sterile if you are looking for entertainment or shopping. The area does feel safe, which is not always a given for Brazil. Allow (at least!) 1-2 hours transfer time from GRU airport. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redboxster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_SP_Management, Gerente geral at Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Grand Hyatt São Paulo and for taking the time to share your comments. We are pleased to read that you felt welcome and comfortable at our hotel. I would like to take this opportunity to present some interesting options available for culture and leisure in the Grand Hyatt surroundings. For relaxation, the Burle Marx Park is only 10 minutes away by car and features beautiful gardens and an area of untouched forest. Two concert halls are located very close to the hotel, the Credicard Hall has a permanent schedule of major artists and the Alfa Theater features great Broadway musicals. Besides our three restaurants and the hotel bar, the Berrini region also offers renowned dining options. Our Concierge and guest relations team are always delighted to recommend nearby activities and city traffic tips to our guests. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.
Thierry Guillot – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Jardins
InterContinental Sao Paulo
InterContinental Sao Paulo
#3 of 328 in Sao Paulo
1,656 reviews
Jardins
Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel
Hilton Sao Paulo Morumbi
#11 of 328 in Sao Paulo
2,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardins
Tivoli Mofarrej - Sao Paulo
Vila Mariana
Pullman Sao Paulo Ibirapuera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo

Address: Avenida das Nacoes Unidas 13301 | Brooklin, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 04578-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
#2 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
#3 Spa Hotel in Sao Paulo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range: $148 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo 5*
Number of rooms: 467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Berrini area, this 5-star hotel offers a full-service SPA, 2 swimming pools, a gym and views of the Estaiada Bridge. Rooms are stylish, spacious and contemporary, featuring extensive work area and cutting-edge technology. Each room features a spacious bathroom with invigorating rain shower and deep soaking tubs. The Grand Hyatt features several restaurants which serve Japanese and Brazilian cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo Hotel Sao Paulo
Sao Paulo Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Sao Paulo
Sao Paulo Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing