We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, tiny shower”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Capital Sao Paulo Itaim
Ranked #66 of 326 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Very nice hotel. Big, classy entrance with lots of helpful staff.

The rooftop gym is very nice with a spa and a small pool with a view of the city.

The room was a very nice size. We booked a basic room, it was more like a suite. It had a seperate sitting/living area with a small fridge and sink with a balcony connecting to the bedroom. The bedroom was very nice as well.

I personally didnt enjoy the bed, it was very firm, but offered no support, it felt cheap. That, combined with loud neighbors on the balcony and numerous passing cars with extremely loud stereos.

The bathroom was very small, and the shower was TINY! I am not a large man, but it was extremely difficult to use that shower.

Overall, we got a fair price and I had no real complaints, we would def be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bos2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (906)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 907 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights and was very dissatisfied with the room. They called it a suite, but it reminded me of how I think the rooms were in former Soviet Union. Really not a place to relax at all. The "suite" was divided by a wall which made both the bedroom and the TV area very very tiny. A small balcony was nice, but rather noisy.
My personal opinion is that the rooms need a serious makeover.
The staff was okay and the pool on the rooftop seemed to be very delicate.
Breakfast was quite okay with lots of fresh fruits.

On one occation I called the reception, asking for more toilet paper. After 10 minutes with no reaction, I luckily spotted a roomkeeper in the hall and had her coming over with some paper. Very frustrating to be ignored on such a request.

Room Tip: I dont think they have any good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jostein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Nice hotel located in the neighborhood of Itaim, neat and with excellent service.
Quite near Sao Paulo'sfrom shopping district, located in a neat neighborhood, with several nearby good restaurants.
Comfortable and not too pricy it is a good choice for staying in SP particularly on business trips.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank Eduardo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I was sent to São Paulo for a business trip and decided to tack on a few days at my own expense. Sampa is very busy during the week; on weekends hotels can offer deep discounts. I got my room at The Capital at a GREAT rate. I would highly recommend it for a weekend stay. The rooms are nice, the hotel is safe and well looked after. The view from the roof is quite nice as well. I left some items in the room after checkout (too much partying) and the returned them to me three days later when I realized that they were missing. Good base from which to enjoy Ibirapuera and Itaim Bibi

Room Tip: A high floor number is great, of course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joxumare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Rooms are extremely noisy, whatever the side of the hotel you're chosing, the Room service is with with very limited choice and of very poor quality. The staff is relatively unhelpfull and the rooftop swimming pool is the size of a bath

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank courtai n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Very poor food. Very basic rooms. Very poor service and even worse customer care. Watch out for Internet charges - you'll be charged for every device you connect, even though you are only one person in one room.
Also the wonderful picture of the swimming pool is a con. The angle the picture is taken from gives the impression it will be used for the 2016 Olympics, when in fact it's about the size of a hot tub or very large bath.
I will be coming back to Brazil and Sao Paulo for work and pleasure but will certainly never come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Staff makes the difference. The pool is a nice extra.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Eunapio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Itaim Bibi
Tryp Sao Paulo Iguatemi Hotel
Tryp Sao Paulo Iguatemi Hotel
#29 of 326 in Sao Paulo
686 reviews
Itaim Bibi
TRYP Sao Paulo Jesuino Arruda
TRYP Sao Paulo Jesuino Arruda
#54 of 326 in Sao Paulo
573 reviews
Itaim Bibi
Clarion Faria Lima
Clarion Faria Lima
#15 of 326 in Sao Paulo
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Itaim Bibi
Tryp Sao Paulo Itaim Hotel
Tryp Sao Paulo Itaim Hotel
#116 of 326 in Sao Paulo
551 reviews
Itaim Bibi
Ramada Suites Sao Paulo Itaim Bibi Newciti
Itaim Bibi
Melia Jardim Europa
Melia Jardim Europa
#30 of 326 in Sao Paulo
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capital Sao Paulo Itaim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capital Sao Paulo Itaim

Address: Rua Tenente Negrao 200, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 04530-030, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Itaim Bibi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
#37 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
#106 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range: $82 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Capital Sao Paulo Itaim 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a 4-star hotel in Sao Paulo that is the essence of urban sophistication.Enjoy contemporary, newly redesigned accommodations , which have been thoughtfully appointed to delight business and leisure guests. Indulge in first-class guest amenities, including the fashionable Bonjardim Restaurant and Bar , a heated rooftop pool and an exquisite spa overlooking downtown Sao Paulo and the tranquil Ibirapuera Park.From its privileged location in the Sao Paulo financial centre, The Capital Hotel Sao Paulo stands ready to serve you in refined style - at every moment of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Capital Sao Paulo Itaim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capital Gc Hotel Sao Paulo
Capital Flat Sao Paulo
The Capital Sao Paulo Itaim Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing