We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, rather small and simple apartments” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Capital Sao Paulo Itaim

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Capital Sao Paulo Itaim
Ranked #62 of 322 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good location, rather small and simple apartments”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

We chose this apart hotel for location and the possibility to stay 2 adults and 2 children in a "triple room" (with additional payment for extra bed). The requested extra bed was not ready at check in and I had to insist on installing at 01:00 am. Friendly staff though. Pool and gym on the roof is a clear plus.

Room Tip: The apartments are rather small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anders_brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    356
    144
    29
    21
See reviews for
145
162
36
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed here for three nights mid december.It was room number 2212,which means it is on the 22nd floor.Fantastic views.We arrived too early to checkin,so just dumped luggage and went off for breakfast around the corner.The room was ready to be moved into at 11am for no additional charge.The kitchen is really just a sink and a fridge/the minibar,so dont get too excited.But it was really fun to have two areas/ rooms,both accessing the terrace.The hotel is renovated as i write this,but its more the painting work now.We did find a person who was painting the ceiling of the balcony on the terrace and he didnt use the room to get there.So we were quite fascinated when he just used a rope to get himself and a bucket of paint to next work,the balcony below.It is a very cool place to arrive to in Sao Paulo,ok neighbourhood.Conghonas airport flight path above hotel and dozens of helicopters landing in the morning and in the evening on neighbouring towers are things you should be aware of,but also kind of unavoidable in this city.You dont go to Sao Paulo to calm yourself down,do you.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank windowseat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernanda M, Gerente at The Capital Sao Paulo Itaim, responded to this review, October 25, 2016
Google Translation
Caro Windowseat,

Estamos revendo todos os comentários para que possamos dar continuidade no processo de aperfeiçoamento de nossos serviços. Agradecemos por sua avaliação e esperamos revê-lo em sua próxima visita à São Paulo.

Seguimos à disposição para qualquer necessidade.

Cordialmente,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

I chose to try this hotel ahead of a relocation to Sao Paulo as possible temporary accommodation. My experience when attempting a 9am check-in on a Sunday soon eliminated that idea. They demanded an early check-in fee of roughly 3x the weekend nightly Expedia rate! When I pointed out what the weekend rate was, they reduced it to about 1.3x the Expedia rate. I had little option as they said I would otherwise need to wait until 3pm, even though the hotel was obviously quiet at the weekend.

So that's the gripe, the room itself was OK, small bedroom and small separate sitting room, but tiny bathroom. Flat screen TV pretty small too. Room was clean and functional and mini-bar prices sensible. No coffee machine which seemed a cheap economy given there was a large counter/sink. Good size balcony provided, some balconies had a table and chairs though mine didn't.

Best feature of the hotel for me was the top floor gym, which has views and new, good quality equipment. Operates from 0600-2300 and free to guests. There is also a nice outside pool and sun area,

I would say the hotel is overpriced during the week but a decent option for the weekend, given the lower rates and proximity to Parque Ibiripuera. But if you are arriving early, book the night before too, to avoid being gouged.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chacann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernanda M, Gerente at The Capital Sao Paulo Itaim, responded to this review, October 25, 2016
Google Translation
Caro Chacann,

Estamos revendo todos os comentários para que possamos dar continuidade no processo de aperfeiçoamento de nossos serviços. Agradecemos por sua avaliação e esperamos revê-lo em sua próxima visita à São Paulo.

Seguimos à disposição para qualquer necessidade.

Cordialmente,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

I traveled to SP for the week from NY and stayed here for 4 nights. I found this hotel on TA and if I would definitely return. I stayed in a "Suite Plus" room, which meant that there was a separate sitting area with refrigerator and sink. The room, though not big, was nicely proportioned, except for the bathroom. With the door closed, there was just enough room to turn around (and I am a small person). Having said that, the room was very clean, and the shower had good water pressure. The room is essentially furnished with Ikea-like furniture, so obviously not luxurious but functional. My room was on the 8th floor and faced the back of the hotel. Surprisingly it wasn't as noisy as I would have thought at night, so I didn't have any sound issues. There is free wi-fi throughout the room and hotel.

I encountered a couple of room issues when I first arrived, and they were addressed promptly (in Brazilian time, not NY time). The staff was very courteous, friendly and helpful, though English skills varied (all spoke better English than I speak Portuguese!). The fitness area, while small, was better equipped than most I've seen in my travels outside the US to business hotels.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zswaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernanda M, Gerente at The Capital Sao Paulo Itaim, responded to this review, October 25, 2016
Google Translation
Caro Zswaps,

Estamos revendo todos os comentários para que possamos dar continuidade no processo de aperfeiçoamento de nossos serviços. Agradecemos por sua avaliação e esperamos revê-lo em sua próxima visita à São Paulo.

Seguimos à disposição para qualquer necessidade.

Cordialmente,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Level Contributor
102 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

This hotel is very expensive. But I got a promo from booking.com and only paid around U$300 total for 3 nights. Average daily there is US$300 a night. Good deal indeed. Breakfast is good but no rice (haha Asian here). Room is so cozy. Stayed at the topmost floor, 22nd floor. Security is very good. Receptionists are helpful and some speak good English. Bellboys are cute and helpful. One even helped me with my groceries all the way to my room. Forgot his name to commend him. The only thing I really hated is the internet. you can only avail of a 6 hour free connection. And it starts from the time you log in. so even if you logout of the internet, it still is counted to your 6 hours. :( Peaceful and wealthy neighborhood. Overall, everything is fantastic. Except for the internet. :(

Room Tip: topmost floor to get a good view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank khrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernanda M, Gerente at The Capital Sao Paulo Itaim, responded to this review, October 25, 2016
Google Translation
Prezado Khrise,

Estamos revendo todos os comentários para que possamos dar continuidade no processo de aperfeiçoamento de nossos serviços. Agradecemos por sua avaliação e esperamos revê-lo em sua próxima visita à São Paulo.

Seguimos à disposição para qualquer necessidade.

Cordialmente,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

I went to Sao Paulo for the weekend and stayed at The Capital. The moment my husband and I stepped in we were greeted by a friendly staff. The check-in was done quite quickly and a few minutes later we were in our room. It was a good size room and everything was very clean and neat.

During our stay, the front desk staff was very attentive and helpful whenever we contacted them with questions and inquiries.

Unfortunately we didn’t get to try the room service, however, the breakfast was excellent. The amenities were also very nice, my husband really enjoyed the sauna and we spent hours in the roof deck, which had an amazing view of the city.

I highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for good quality service, comfort, reasonable prices and especially a good and safe location in the heart of Sao Paulo.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tatiane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernanda M, Gerente at The Capital Sao Paulo Itaim, responded to this review, October 25, 2016
Google Translation
Prezada Tatiane,

Estamos revendo todos os comentários para que possamos dar continuidade no processo de aperfeiçoamento de nossos serviços. Agradecemos por sua avaliação e esperamos revê-lo em sua próxima visita à São Paulo.

Seguimos à disposição para qualquer necessidade.

Cordialmente,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

Stayed for one night in this hotel on a business trip. Room was spacious, had a balcony, minibar, and was very clean.
Bathroom was also pristine and shower had plenty of hot water - all I could ask for after a busy day of work!
Breakfast was good - I was however expecting a bit more variety of cold cuts from a business hotel.
There's also a gym and a swimming pool on the top floor. Even if you don't want to work out, do make sure you go to the swimming pool area as it has a very nice view of the city.
Bear in mind that hotels in São Paulo are expensive, especially those in the Itaim Bibi region, so don't expect to find a good deal for this property - my company paid almost R$ 400,00 for the night.
All in all, I'd recommend this hotel for both short and long business stays. For a leisure trip, I'd look for something in the Jardins area instead.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GOC_RJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Itaim Bibi
Tryp Sao Paulo Iguatemi Hotel
Tryp Sao Paulo Iguatemi Hotel
#25 of 322 in Sao Paulo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Staybridge Suites Sao Paulo
#76 of 322 in Sao Paulo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Itaim Bibi
TRYP Sao Paulo Jesuino Arruda
TRYP Sao Paulo Jesuino Arruda
#55 of 322 in Sao Paulo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melia Jardim Europa
#36 of 322 in Sao Paulo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Itaim Bibi
Tryp Sao Paulo Itaim Hotel
Tryp Sao Paulo Itaim Hotel
#141 of 322 in Sao Paulo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Itaim Bibi
Clarion Faria Lima
Clarion Faria Lima
#14 of 322 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capital Sao Paulo Itaim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capital Sao Paulo Itaim

Property: The Capital Sao Paulo Itaim
Address: Rua Tenente Negrao 200, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 04530-030, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Itaim Bibi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
#36 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
#106 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Capital Sao Paulo Itaim 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a 4-star hotel in Sao Paulo that is the essence of urban sophistication.Enjoy contemporary, newly redesigned accommodations , which have been thoughtfully appointed to delight business and leisure guests. Indulge in first-class guest amenities, including the fashionable Bonjardim Restaurant and Bar , a heated rooftop pool and an exquisite spa overlooking downtown Sao Paulo and the tranquil Ibirapuera Park.From its privileged location in the Sao Paulo financial centre, The Capital Hotel Sao Paulo stands ready to serve you in refined style - at every moment of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Prestigia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Capital Sao Paulo Itaim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capital Gc Hotel Sao Paulo
Capital Flat Sao Paulo
The Capital Sao Paulo Itaim Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing